To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2009 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 424 Ratings for the 2006 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 85 | Next

Un-explodable

By on Thursday, May 12, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my 2nd Explorer, I bought it with 26,000 miles, It now has 226,000 miles. I just replaced the original alternator at 220,000 and the original front brake pads at 195,000, and front wheel bearings at 200,000. EVERYTHING ELSE on the car is completely original and working flawlessly. I average 19-20 mpg. I tow heavy trailers all the time and even take her off road."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very Nice SUV

By on Monday, January 24, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Very good vehicle after 35,000 miles. Comfortable for long trips, and excellent in poor weather conditions. Am considering ordering the new 2011 Explorer. This will be my 4th Explorer in 9 years!!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Perfect For Me

By on Wednesday, September 30, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent SUV, unstoppable in deep snow (high road clearance was a factor). Very comfortable seating and good visibility make it a good road car. Only problem in 4+ years was a chronic/mysterious problem with fuel quantity system that gave false "sensor failure" indications. Dealerships worked with me, eventually finding damaged factory wire harness above fuel tank. Trouble free since. Great usable cargo space does not require high lift to clear tail gate."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great SUV!!

By on Thursday, July 2, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my 2007 Explorer for 2 years, it's my 2nd Explorer and I wouldn't own any other SUV. It's reliable, has great styling and rides like a car. I drove from NY to TX and the ride was comfortable. It did pretty well on gas considering I only spent $340 for gas when it was $3.69/gal and I drove 1800 miles. I have friends that are on their 3rd or 4th. We love this SUV. Great job Ford!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

One of best vehicles owned

By on Saturday, May 16, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is the 2nd Explorer I have owned is thye best yet. I owned this one for 2 1/2 years. I have had no major problems. It is a pleasure to drive. The V6 has all the power and performance I need and is very good on gas mileage."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 85 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.