ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1994 Ford Explorer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 257 Ratings for the 1992 - 1994 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.1/10
    Performance
    7.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next

iits a good truck

By on Wednesday, August 22, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned mine for a little over two years. It has almost 150 grand on the clock and leaks nothing. I did have a little spat with the tranny trying to tow a heavy trailer up a steep mountain. But some Lucas tranny treatment and it was good to go. It will handle 31" tires with no mods. As long as I keep the speed at about 65 I see 20+ mpg on the highway. Much faster and it drops like a rock. As it is shaped like a brick. It is a great city driver as it turns on a dime. The twin I-beam front syspention is a bit on the rough side of the coin compared to newer explorers. And uneven tire wear is a bit of an issue mandating tire rotation ever 10 or 15 thousand miles. All in all I love my truck. Change the oil and don't expect it to tow anything heavier than 5000 lbs and it will last a long time."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

worst transmistion in 11 years stright

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"very poor transmission, Top transmission macanics stated that they were the worst transmissions in the last 11 years, I know I have to rebuild mine. and was told that it will happen again and again. alumium $ $ 2200.00 for rebuild. still paying on it . more than its value. I will be trading it in shortley. Bummer I really liked it other wise."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

13 yrs and still going

By on Monday, July 23, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had my explorer since the day I bought it new in 11/1994. This has been the most reliable vehicle that I've own. My spouse swears I'll be buried in it. It's still running strong and well. I love my truck. 250,000 miles +, and well maintained"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

this is the best vehicle only the driver door bad

By on Tuesday, May 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 701,230

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"its good on gas"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best 4x4 ever

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good looking, tough"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ive owned this car for awhile, normal wear in tear as far as replacing parts. i put lots of miles everyday i do traffic control, never lets me down very dependable in all weather. great clreance off roading. i would deff say its a great car to recomend to anyone."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.