Go

2005 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 485 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 97 | Next

Shame on Ford!!!!

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome truck."

Cons: "Wished it was stick, engine mounts"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this used in 08, with about 100000. I needed a pilot vehicle. Not too big, not to small. I needed a pickup that could jump from a dead stop, have take off. I hated a Dodge Dakota, the Toyota Tacoma was not big enough, the Tundra didn't have the jump.... This is an awesome truck. It has never let me down. The only con, is the engine mounts. Total disintegration. That is their only downfall. Every other trac I have seen has bad mounts. Shame on Ford for not making them anymore. I met a guy that HAS and still drives, a 2003, with over 440,000. He said he has only done tune ups. I wish they would make them again. I would buy it. I am sure others would too."

45 people out of 45 found this review helpful

Almost 300,000 miles and not slowing down

By on Friday, August 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 291,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I am the orginal owner and have loved the ten years I have driven this vehicle. Regular maintenance is all it has needed. Still drives great and gets 17.5 mpg on a regular basis. The only complaint I have is the cup holders. Somebody didnt think those through. Wish they would bring it back."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Quite possibly the perfect light truck

By on Friday, July 5, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great size/functionality, runs no matter what"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 01 used in mid 05 and it's been a joy ever since. With over 160,000 miles you might expect some problems but the only things I've done have been routine- bulbs, shocks, etc... This truck has driven me and my family from NC to TX to FL and back(repeatedly). It's made it through Bavarian winters, and crossed the Atlantic twice(currently on it's way to CO). The only things I don't like are relatively minor and have been corrected on the newer models. I plan on driving it until the wheels fall off- I'm certain it will last that long."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Great, dependable truck - bad gas mileage

By on Thursday, September 22, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable, very cheap to maintain"

Cons: "bad mpg, kind of ugly from behind"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased this truck after my 2003 Ranger was totaled in an accident. The Sport Trac is a great truck. It drives very nearly identical to a Ranger, but feels significantly heavier (if memory serves correct, the Sport Trac is approximately 1,000lbs heavier than a base model Ranger.) This truck is a solid upgrade from a smaller light duty truck. It has more than enough leg and foot room in both the front and back seats. The front and rear seats are both very, very comfortable as well. If you purchase a model that has leather interior though, be warned that the leather is quite brittle compared to similar vehicles. You'll want to keep it oiled and conditioned regularly. I did not do this with my truck, and I now have a small tear in both the drivers seat (to be expected) and back-right seat (cracked from not being conditioned regularly.) The truck is very responsive, and quite reliable, when maintained properly. I've only had one mechanical issue with the truck, which was when the thermostat housing cracked and a small coolant leak occurred. A very cheap fix. I also noticed the transmission started to shift a bit uncomfortably around 100,000 miles, but a fluid change and addition of a bit of transmission conditioner solved this issue. The only other thing to mention is that the gas mileage is quite poor. I used to get, on average, about 15mpg. However, after changing the oil from 5w30 to 0w20 (as recommended by Ford for this engine back in 2010), I received an MPG boost of about 1MPG. I also lowered the truck about an inch, which helped a small amount too. I am currently getting about 17MPG on average, and in order to keep this kind of mileage, I use a fuel system cleaner every 1,000 miles or so. All in all, this is a great, reliable vehicle, as is typical with most Ford trucks. I would recommend this truck to anyone who is looking for the convenience of a truck, with the comfort and practicality of an SUV."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

A beautiful and reliable car

By on Sunday, July 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Beautiful car, nice to drive"

Cons: "No cons, due to health reasons we must sell."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the original owner and have maintained this car even better than the book calls for, it is near flawless in side and out"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 97 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Explorer Sport Trac near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.