To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2004 Ford Excursion

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 517 Ratings for the 2000 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.7/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 104 | Next

Amazing vehicle

By on Friday, May 16, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"184,717 miles. 7.3 Liter Diesel. Ending 3rd set of tires. 1 set of brakes front at 112000 and rear at 137000. Transmission went out at 78,000 under extended warranty. 3rd set of batteries, 3rd cam position sensor (recalled recently). Just under 21 MPG highway (at speed limit) and 15+ combined driving. Tow a 10,000 boat on a triple axle trailer like it isn't back there (at 10.5 mpg). I truly cannot say I have ever enjoyed a vehicle as much as this one. It has been dependable, easy to handle, and simply a good friend. I owned it since day 1 (14 miles when I picked it up). I have never felt safer in a vehicle nor worried less about a vehicle."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Saved our Lives

By on Wednesday, May 5, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We are currently looking for another Excursion. We were in a roll-over accident. In which we went down an embankment and rolled 3 times. I believe this vehicle saved our lives. We were all wearing seatbelts including our two boys and we walked away from this accident with minor injuries."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

The Best SUV with no peers

By on Sunday, July 31, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 336,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Goes Anywhere, Very Safe, Easy to Drive, Strong"

Cons: "Bad Press, Cheap liars telling tall tales about it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Since labeled the Ford Valdez with a picture of the SUV pulling an over the road gasoline tanker behind it, the true nature of this truck was never known. With the 7.3 Liter Diesel Engine, the MPG was very good at around 20 MPG in town and 30+ MPG on the highway. The Excursion was said to be so big that no one should be allowed to buy it,(Sierra Club)but if you look at a family that is traveling to an event for the children that requires equipment and overnight lodging, well a Yugo or Civic just won't meet the needs. I think the Excursion has a place in the vehicle ownership of today, but I believe that Ford did make a mistake by offering the gasoline engines for the vehicle. While they produced more horsepower, they just didn't have the guts for very robust truck like the Excursion. This is a well made vehicle that has served very well and very dependably."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

one in a million

By on Tuesday, June 3, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I wanted a rather large trailer, 10,000 pounds, and tried to convince the wife on a truck. She would not go for it, so i found an excursion and she was happy. My plan was to sell it in a few years and get a truck, telling her it is the only thing that can now tow our trailer, since excursions are no longer made. I have no plan on ever selling this vehicle now that i have owned it. It is a 6.0 diesel and is the best car i have ever owned in my life. I am a traffic officer and investigate crashes. I have seen first hand this vehicle stand up in collisions and let me tell you, if you are the one getting hit, you will win the lug nut contest. Tows great, rides great, kids love it, i will drive into into the car graveyard, hopfully, a very very long time away"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

This may be the best vehicle Ford will ever make.

By on Wednesday, April 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun and so dependable"

Cons: "Gas Guzzlers!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has been through snow, ice, rain, heat, whatever is there and has never failed me. It is getting close to 200,000 miles and drives like new. Could leave today and drive across the country with confidence.Wish Ford could have make it more gas-friendly, so I could keep it. Maybe that is why they quit making them. The Excursion owners I know all love them. There is just nothing like the incredible space and comfort on long trips. If you take care of this SUV, it will definitely take care of you."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 104 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Excursion near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.