Go

2004 Ford Escape

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 1256 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 252 | Next

Love my car... but

By on Wednesday, January 23, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love my ford escape but at 70,000 it's starting to have problems (muffler fell off, emergency brake had to be replaced, spring came out of motor valve, moon roof motor has been replaced twice). I love my car, how it feels, how it looks, how it drives, but I question the quality, to be having these kinds of problems at 70,000."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Second one!

By on Sunday, May 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I loved my 2003 Escape so much but was gettting up close to 100,000 without the extended warranty. What did I trade it in for? ANOTHER Escape! Very pleased w/ my new 2007 Escape."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Saturday, January 7, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive with lots of possibilities"

Cons: "Gas mileage that can be corrected"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"If your looking for a really comfy, nimble & fun to drive vehicle, look no further. I bought the 3.0 L automatic version with cloth seats. This small but plenty of room SUV does exactly as I expected for getting around in all types of weather (rainy & snow). The only negative I found with this SUV is the gas mileage. I expected this based on the previous owner didn't do all the general maintainces such as regular oil changes, transmission services & tune-ups. This I expected too, based on the service records left in the glove box & original loan papers. Mind you, I wasn't expecting to find such paper work like this in a used car from a new/used car dealer. That's another issue involved with the car dealer where I purchased. Anyhow, I plan on getting all needed updates done shortly. As a retired mechanic of over 25 years I still do all my own repairs & updates. The trade in my wife & I we owned was kept in great shape for 14 years. And mind you, my wife cried to see that car go. She gets attached to all our cars we have owned over the many years. And I think we both will do same with this great find as well too !!!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very good vehicle!

By on Wednesday, May 25, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 81,495

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great in snow, pretty safe"

Cons: "no traction control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I bought my Escape brand new in 2003. I've had it for 13 yrs now and have been pretty happy with it. I love the "on- demand" 4x4... It's been excellent in the snow. We've had a few things go wrong with it in the last 3-4 yrs. It eats alternators every 2 yrs it seems. I've had to put 2 new sets of brakes on it, new tires, and the regular maintenance. I plan to keep it for a bit longer as long as it stays running."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

One of the best vehicles I have ever owned

By on Monday, May 9, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"6 years of nearly zero problems with my Escape hybrid. Killer driver in the winter here in MN, no problems at all. I can get 31mpg if I watch my driving. Tough vehicle with plenty of room. Yes, it has that standard SVU look, but for a light SVU it's great. Nearly as good as my Taurus, love it"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 252 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Escape near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.