Go

1998 Ford Contour

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.1
Out of 10

Based on 415 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.6/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    7.8/10
    Performance
    7.7/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next

Best car i have ever owned!!

By on Sunday, December 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"HAS ONLY NEEDED THE USUAL THINGS YOU WOULD DO ON ANY CAR YOU OWNED LIKE TIRES OIL CHANGES PLUGS & WIRES AND SO FORTH NEVER ANY TROUBLE WITH IT."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

I miss it!

By on Tuesday, October 27, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned this car for 7 years and the only thing I needed was a new battery. Sporty and fun to drive. I wish I had kept it. You couldn't beat the price and value. Looked great too."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

good value for the money

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought mine used for $1200. It is a '98 4 cylinder with a 5 speed. I have replaced only items which wear out: brakes once, alternator, water pump, wipers, timing, and accessories belts. The water pump was still good at 125,000, but since my shop was replacing the belts, I had the pump replaced. I do this with all my vehicles at about this mileage This is a superb vehicle. 30-33 mpg, pleasant to drive, and mine has been very reliable. I love it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Inexpensive and reliable family sedan

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Inexpensive, economical, parts availability"

Cons: "Interior parts wear; broke window handles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Owned the '98 Contour since '01 and other than the series of recalls, have only replaced the automatic transmission at 180k miles at cost of around $1500.00 in September, 2013. Also replaced the alternator with a rebuilt unit at cost of $85.00 several years ago - and I perform all repair work myself. The car still has the original exhaust system including the catalytic onverters. As the work / commuter car and driven mostly highway it still averages just over 30 MPG consistently."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Daughters first vehicle

By on Monday, January 6, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Needed something bigger

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Cheap & Cheerful"

Cons: "Dull looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought the car with about 100k on it for my daughters first car, she put 65k on it in just over three years, never gave me any issues, except for the normal brakes, tires, battery and oil changes etc. Was very cheap and reliable to own."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Contour near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement