ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1997 Ford Contour

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.1
Out of 10

Based on 415 Ratings for the 1995 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.6/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    7.8/10
    Performance
    7.7/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next

Inexpensive and reliable family sedan

By on Friday, April 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Inexpensive, economical, parts availability"

Cons: "Interior parts wear; broke window handles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Owned the '98 Contour since '01 and other than the series of recalls, have only replaced the automatic transmission at 180k miles at cost of around $1500.00 in September, 2013. Also replaced the alternator with a rebuilt unit at cost of $85.00 several years ago - and I perform all repair work myself. The car still has the original exhaust system including the catalytic onverters. As the work / commuter car and driven mostly highway it still averages just over 30 MPG consistently."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Daughters first vehicle

By on Monday, January 6, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Needed something bigger

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Cheap & Cheerful"

Cons: "Dull looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Bought the car with about 100k on it for my daughters first car, she put 65k on it in just over three years, never gave me any issues, except for the normal brakes, tires, battery and oil changes etc. Was very cheap and reliable to own."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good Car Mostly

By on Friday, August 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Driveability,comfort, reasonable reliability"

Cons: "Underbody, rocker panel rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"1999 LS Standard trans., bought new. I love this car and it doesn't owe me a thing at this point. If they still made them I would buy another. Perfect size for single or couple, not cramped. Starts first time, every time. I've had repairs over the years, some a bit expensive,but not unexpected at the mileage. Warning: get the timing belt changed when recommended. Front seats are very comfortable, good steering wheel, drives and corners well for a cheap car, pleasing to drive. 30-33 mpg highway. Controls are simple and accessible. The interior fit and finish always left a bit to be desired, but have worn well. The exterior and body are in bad shape, rusting away, door and window seals deteriorating; but it has had a hard life with little care in a relatively harsh climate. I hate to send it to the junkyard, especially with such a good engine and trans in it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

good car

By on Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great in the winter"

Cons: "lights are too dim"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our family has owned this car for over 3 years, and I must say it is pretty reliable. There are a few things with the car I do not like such as the lights, they are too dim for driving in the night. But the car has been great through the snow, it grips on to the road and we rarely fishtail. Overall the Ford Contour in my experiece has been a reliable car and I love it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

good vehicle

By on Thursday, January 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"simply good"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Ford Contour near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.