To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1997 Dodge Ram 1500 Club Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 1228 Ratings for the 1994 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 246 | Next

Real. Great. Truck.

By on Tuesday, January 8, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 290,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of room and real fun to drive through the mud"

Cons: "Bad gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best parts are its paid for, it has four wheel drive, and its mine. One guy said in a post before mine that if u buy one, plan on putting about two grand in it when u get it from the previous owner because of neglect. The guy I got mine from told me that his engine and transmission have been replaced about 100,000 miles ago. I think the transmission is starting to slip, and also, its using alot of oil. So, it seems as if I may have to make plans on replacing the both of them. Its a real good truck, though. I would definitely recommend it to someone else. But you won't be getting mine."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

own 2 dodges

By on Saturday, March 6, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"After owning a few fords 3/4 ton 4x4 in the 80s we stuck our neck out on a 2005 2500 HD 4x4 dodge.We had never owned a Dodge,actually my family still has the last dodge they bought,a 1936 1 1/2 ton truck,owned since the 40s.We were hoping that the V-10 would last 100,000 miles.Well,It did,and I will tell you the truth.I drove it today,out in the pasture,and then to town to get some cattle feed.It has over 330,000 miles on it.I havnt touched the engine.Went through the tranny at 150,000,because it wouldnt shift into Overdrive,so we went though it.other than that just here and there fixes.Brakes,tires,one water pump,3 thermostats,3 sets of plugs/wires,and 6sets of tires.I live in an area that I can see for at least 10 miles everywhere I look,and I will tell you that at least 100,000 miles has been bouncing in a pasture,25000 miles of 4x4 use,80,000 of just me and the truck,and the rest,almost 130,000 pulling a 5th wheel trailer,to sales 1/2 the time,loaded. I think that one of the keys to a long,healthy relationship with your truck is to have it serviced well,and by the same people.We have done that since we bought it.Co-op has always performed all the lube jobs on it,and we use Texaco Havoline in everything with pistons.10/30 in the V-10."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

tough

By on Wednesday, January 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 247,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "extremely strong performance"

Cons: "very thirsty engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"always been extremely reliable. super strong, tough truck. very thirsty engine and goes through brakes fast, but are cheap and easy to replace."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best Diesel pickup on to road-gd. fuel milage

By on Tuesday, December 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great heavy duty truck real hauler"

Cons: "starting cost of diesel much more than gas engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this the second one of these I have had a'96 &'01 no problems on either-gd. fuel milage great highway-easy to maintain -a real workhorse -real beefy truck-great over the road hauler & towing '01 has much better brakes- body waxed & kept clean so no rust problems yet living in In. salty winters"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Liked it so much I just bought a 2009

By on Friday, September 7, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Even without 4 wheel drive, the view is great"

Cons: "low mileage especially when towing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this 1996 Ram in 1999 with 68,000 miles on it. The only unexpected repair was a new fuel pump. We used it to primarily pull my boats, an 18' Bayliner and a 26' macgregor sailboat weighing almost 3700 pounds."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 246 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Ram 1500 Club Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.