ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1999 Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.6
Out of 10

Based on 373 Ratings for the 1996 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.4/10
    Styling
    8.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 | Next

Good vehicle for larger families

By on Monday, February 4, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"This review is from a 19 year old male who primarily drove this as a first car. First owned by parents had around 40,000 miles -- now has 174,000. No running problems whatsoever with minimal rust forming inside the sliding doors. Very comfortable ride after riding/driving from PA to SC and back 4 times and trusted with 120,000 on first trip. Overall a good quality van."

By on Monday, February 4, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great mini-van

By on Thursday, January 31, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Third Grand Caravan. Put over 200,000 miles on each with no major problems. Granted most of the miles were highway miles but still, could you ask for more?"

By on Sunday, January 27, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Thinking about staying away from Dodge

By on Thursday, January 24, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

"It's a great ride, but has small irritating issues like rattles. It is in the shop more then I anticipated. However, it was a great price and I anticipated dishing out more in repairs. Still am not decided if I would do a Dodge again. I am starting to lean towards no bu the new 08 may change my mind."

The original is still the best!

By on Tuesday, January 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best minivan ever... period.. Ours has over 103000 miles now, and we've put about 60,000 of them on it. Absolutely trouble free. Comfortable, quiet, easy to drive, and reasonable fuel economy! When the time comes to replace this one, it will be with another caravan. The value is unmatched."

Great if you like replacing the tranny

By on Monday, January 21, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This was my first brand new vehicle - 2000 Grand Caravan Sport. The 1st transmission was replaced 300 miles before the warranty expired. The 3 after that have been on my dollar. This has been a money pit and I will never buy a Dodge again. It has been a comfortable car and has lots of room to haul kids and whatever else you need with the seats out, but that doesn't do you much good if you can't depend on it to be running!"

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

poor performer

By on Tuesday, January 15, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"Purchased new in 2000, many problems from the start, wiring harness burned up talking to the salesman at the dealership at 700 miles. Brakes, 7 sets in 7 years and only 96k on the van, electricals, water leaks. Was not interested in the "new" Caravan. A true shame we cannot compete!"

no good past 100k

By on Tuesday, January 15, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"We replaced the transmission at 140k $2800.00 Replaced engine at 146k @ $1800.00. Hey $4600.00 later, got a van that might go 80 to 100k more????"

By on Sunday, January 13, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

maintance hog

By on Wednesday, January 9, 2008

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have own my van for 7 yrs. It has cost an average of $1,000 a year to maintain it. Front ac has gone out twice,rear air once,battery dies every two years,replace alternator,very expensive engine coolant system leak.roof liner,rear window motors. fuel pump,plus regular maintance. I am dollared out-will not buy another dodge product again. Glad I am getting rid of it this year."

Family Vehicle

By on Wednesday, December 26, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought a '98 Dodge Gran Caravan SE. It is more comfortable and rides smoother than a Cadillac CRX SUV, not to mention, way cheaper."

Best car, would buy another.

By on Friday, October 19, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have been buying Dodge and Chrysler minivans for years. This is my 5th van. All were second hand and all did over 250,000 miles. Good gas mileage too. Comfort good. Ride is very smoothe. Very quiet van. I would buy another one again."

eh-ok

By on Monday, September 24, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had mine for 7 yrs now, 1 yr of no car payments which has been nice. I've replaced the starter, a few batteries, many many break jobs. Husband does the typical oil changes. My right power window hasn't worked in years. My driver side slider door (power lock) hasn't worked for longer than that. Lost my AC this past April and sucked it up and drove all summer in VA w/out it ($750 to fix, apparently it has a hole in condensor). if it lasts til next spring I might consider fixing AC. Kids hated not having it this summer. Has 132K miles so far. Bought it "used" in 2001 w/ 20K miles on it from a dealer. This is my 3rd Dodge/Chrysler and I won't buy another. 2nd one, transmission went. Got rid of first one to have the 2nd slider door for kids."

Not so awesome

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"This car is ok problems: Transmission is TERRIBLE!!!! rear air conditioning is hot overheats A/C is warm even after fixes."

falling short

By on Monday, September 17, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Like the size, versitility, and comfort, however, the transmissions all fail miserably. The windows, or lack of opening windows is a bad flaw as when the power windows fail--and always do--there is no access to outside air, particularly bad when the AC also failed. The sliding doors should have manual opening windows as a back up."

Okay viehicle

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"Good price good on reliability needs better gas milage"

By on Wednesday, August 29, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

disappointed

By on Monday, August 27, 2007

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"Had this car since new. Babied it, serviced religiously at dealer, but still many failures after warranty period. Should not have had so many problems."

By on Monday, August 27, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 13 14 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Grand Caravan Passenger near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.