ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2012 Dodge Durango

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 137 Ratings for the 2011 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

Won me over from the imports

By on Saturday, September 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great cruiser, very practical for an active family"

Cons: "Transmission tuned for fuel economy, not speed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I looked at Honda Pilot, Ford Explorer and GMC Acadia as alternatives. We ruled out Honda as our 08 Odyssey developed some problems that dealer did not handle well. The Durango's handling and incredible stereo won me over from the other two good options. From day one, I was very impressed by the ride and handling. The power of the V6 was weak at first but as it has broken in it seems to have come to life and is more eager to rev. However, the transmission is sometimes slower to downshift than I would like. Interior quality is great. Features on my loaded crew model are a techies dream. GPS and subwoofer perform well. Paint quality on the exterior shows more "orange peel" texture than I think it should, but not enough to expect anyone to do anything about it. MPG is typically around 20mpg in mixed city/freeway driving, and I have a lead foot. I have seen around 24mpg on extended trips on 60mph backroads."

36 people out of 41 found this review helpful

Man, This Durango is a Rock Star on steroids.

By on Monday, August 15, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A real sports SUV. Not a wagon on a car chassie."

Cons: "seat cushions could use thicker pad"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Southwest Heat edition

"The X frame is balanced ,durable and the long wheel base gives a smooth ride. 3.6 Pentastar V6 is quick and smooth. 20 MPG on average for this aggressive driver. The tech package w/ 8.2 Uconnect is well though out and intuitive. Dial 8 speed ZF tranny is much more convenient to operate the console shifter I had before in my Ford Expy. Durango is comfortable to haul a lotta cargo and family. Styling is modern and timeless to me."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Southwest Heat edition

Great suv

By on Saturday, November 5, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Style and comfort."

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded a Buick Enclave for my Citadel what a wonderful choice I made. The Buick was a great car but I love my Durango. The Durango is a head turner for sure. Handles great and the features are perfect. I feel like a Queen in this car and will own it for a long time. Gas mileage has been great. My grown children actually like riding in it they love the style."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Love my car!

By on Saturday, December 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive. Great MPG for an SUV. Rides smooth."

Cons: "Touchy gas cap."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I rarely would rate a vehicle this high. I had a 2010 Ford Expedition before my 2011 Durango and thought I loved that car. The drive in this vehicle is comfortable, reliable and fun. I purchase this Durango new and feel that I received a great value for the Express model. I have the back up sensors, parking camera, moon roof and towing package. Towing is great, it's got wonderful power. Driving on the highway for a long trip is comfortable. The third row seat is roomy. My only gripe was that my check engine light would come on when I didn't close my gas cap as directed. You have to stop just at the click, not beyond, or the light will come on. I average 18.8 mpg and have recently gotten 23.8 on a 5 1/2 hour trip. Hope my satisfaction continues. This is a sharp and fun vehicle. Highly recommend. I was not a fan of Dodge. I am now!"

18 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Best engineered full size suv

By on Sunday, August 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Engineering and Design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought a loaded 2012 crew with the Hemi for a cross country camping trip, and we definitely made the right choice. All of the features were useful, well designed, comfortable, and worked perfectly. The kids actually wanted to drive longer and never once asked are we there yet. It was a pleasure to drive for many miles with six passengers on board and trailer in tow. I have owned many vehicles both foreign and domestic and can honestly say that this is one full size SUV worth keeping!"

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Value

By on Monday, January 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This SUV continues to impress me with both the major issues like driving dynamics, comfort and quiet as well as minor conveniences like automatic seat and sterring wheel warmer when remote-starting the car in cold weather. It has good power, acceptable gas mileage, and great comfort. I had an incident on the freeway where I had to make an emergency lane change at 65 MPH. I was amazed at the quick lane change and immediate return to stright line progress in the next lane with no oversteer, most likely attributable to a very good stability control system. Good on the big picture, good on the details."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Really nice!

By on Thursday, February 18, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fully Loaded"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reading the reviews, I found I was not the only one that came out of a Tahoe into a Citadel Durango. I traded in my 2011 Tahoe for the Durango, which was a very good trade. Like others I have not looked back either. This vehicle to me has all the bells and whistles...so much my "Geek Granddaughter" programed it. I have received several compliments on how nice my vehicle looks! The only thing I added were running boards due to several friends having trouble entering in and out of vehicle. This feature really looks nice as well! I highly recommend this vehicle"

35 people out of 41 found this review helpful

Most SUV for the money. By far.

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good MPG, Looks, Room, Handling"

Cons: "Finish of the cloth interior could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This SUV is way less expensive than most others out there. It looks awesome, has plenty of power in the V6, and is actually fun to drive. It corners well for an SUV. The next closest SUV I was looking at was about $10,000 more, and after comparing this to the others, there is no way they are $10,000 better. This is a great vehicle and for the size of the interior you can expect to spend a lot more for something else."

16 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Great SUV, good mpg for a large suv, fun to drive

By on Wednesday, November 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "MPG, handling, interior/exterior design, great V6"

Cons: "Bit heavy, no 3rd row on the Heat model"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased a I4 GMC Terrain FWD as I still wanted an SUV, but wanted decent MPG. What a disappointment. Seven months later I decided I couldn't handle the disappointing real world MPG and weak engine that I compromised in hopes of getting somewhere near the MPG claim. So I traded in the Terrain for a '11 Durango Heat AWD and I couldn't be happier. I get near full size SUV capacity, a very strong V6 and I'm only off by 2 MPG vs the Terrain in city driving and it only has 500 miles on it. I have had a couple of 50 mile HWY trips so far and based on the EVIC I'm averaging 23 MPG HWY now, I was getting about 25 MPG max on the Terrain. This was with a FWD vs the AWD in the Durango. Plus I didn't have to deal with the gear hunting of the 6 speed tranny in the Terrain. Disregard the negative comments about the 5 speed tranny in the Durango. It does just fine. I'd rather give up 1 or 2 MPG than deal with the potential of the gears always hunting. Fit and finish is great and the Heat trim handles very good for such a large SUV. This one is a keeper."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

BEST SUV I HAVE EVER OWNED.

By on Monday, April 10, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "VERY GOOD GAS MILEAGE FOR SIZE OF SUV"

Cons: "NO SUNROOF OR BUTTON FOR TRUNK IN LIMITED"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I PURCHASED THE V6 LIMITED. I HAVE WANTED ONE FOR A FEW YEARS NOW AND FINALLY BROKE DOWN AND BOUGHT ONE. BEST PURCHASE I HAVE EVER MADE. I AM A DODGE GIRL FROM NOW ON. SORRY CHEVY!!!"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Durango near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.