To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2004 Dodge Dakota Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 1411 Ratings for the 1997 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.6/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 283 | Next

Stout little truck

By on Wednesday, January 16, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"I loved the look of the Dakota, always felt it was a very dressy truck. Lots of aftermarket possibilities both in looks as well as performance. Mine has 130000, the only major complaint I have was a transmission going out at 60k miles, but the new one has been in since and hasn't had a problem since, I bought my truck used with 25k miles on it, now the odometer reads 130+k. The list of repairs is fairly short. 2 brake replacements, at 50k and again at 128k, 1 transmission at 60k, 1 clutch at 108k, and two tune-ups, 1 timing belt issue but an aftermarket tensioner fixes that problem. other than the usual tires and gas and other various fluids, thats all my truck has needed repair wise since I purchased it 6 years ago. Pros and Cons: V6 doesn't get the mileage Dodge claimed, best seen on interstate once was 23 mpg worst is 13 mpg in city, with fuel friendly modifications to truck. Engines a little on the weak side stock, but with aftermarket equipment, it can be just as fast as the bigger V8's and sometimes faster. Great starter truck!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

No Problem

By on Monday, December 3, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Ive owned this truck for 6 years with no major problems. Tuneup, tires ,brakes,thermostat, shocks, u joints, ball joints normal wear out stuff."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

overall the truck is the best buy i have ever made

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 212,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "lots of room,fun and smooth ride,large load rang"

Cons: "not many up grades avalible, MPG tough on walet"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"after looking for almost 6 month, i found this truck online. after getting the dealer talked down i bought the truck for 2500 dollers, for the money i really dont think there is a better value out there. with dakota's being a mid-size class truck and the only one i its class with an avalible V8 its hard to go wrong. The 5.2 magnum is the standerd V8 that comes in the truck is based on the old 5.2 L.A. motors, with a larger bore intake and fuel injuction in the magnum helps to up the torq, power and gas milage. every part of the vehical is seprizingly easy to work on; from the motor to the drive tran. It is hard to find a truck that can hall the same amount and still be small for some off roading fun as well. being good with vehicals makes it easy to make modifications that can significantly improve your gas milage, from a performance exhost and high flow intake,performance chip and headers. interior is comfterble with lots of room in the front and back."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

All-Around Best Truck Ever

By on Tuesday, March 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 111,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great styling, Size, Easy to drive, Reliable"

Cons: "Poor paint quality, guzzles gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love this truck. I've owned it from 20,000 miles to just over 110,000. It never lets me down and can fit a load of people comfortably, or a load of lumber. You can find other trucks with features and aminities that are better, but dollar for dollar this is the best out there. Only problems I've had is the paint fading on the hood/roof and gas mileage in the city."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

GREAT TRUCK

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned many vehicles in my lifetime... this truck exceeds all expectations. I bought brand new and have not had any serious problems. Minor issues like a new battery at 4yrs, new tires at 38k... It now has 43k and still runs excellent. Only suggestion is more powerful A/C blower and quieter brakes! Dodge really did a great job on this one.,"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 283 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Dodge Dakota Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.