Go

2009 Chrysler PT Cruiser

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.5
Out of 10

Based on 1422 Ratings for the 2001 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    7.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 285 | Next

Bought used 3 years ago, still love it!

By on Monday, December 31, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliable, stylish, spacious, sturdy, value"

Cons: "wide turns, could be more comfy, vibrations"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I paid 4,500$ cash at a used dealer 3 years ago, it's depreciated about 1000$ since then (dealership value anyway, not trade-in or private sale value) Not bad for a 10 year old car that i have done a lot of driving on. Overall I am very happy with the way the car preforms. I've put 35,000ish miles on the car since owning it (bought it with 180K on it). I was aware it was a high mileage, but the quality of the interior and the carfax showed that it had been owned by one person who took very good care of it. My largest repair expenses have been replacing the timing belt (900$, which was scheduled maintenance for the mileage of the car, not something that broke), new tires (450$) and a new power window panel for the center console (200$). The car has never broken down and left me on the side of the road, is a relatively quiet ride considering the small size and low-riding frame, and tends to get pretty good gas mileage for a car that is almost 11 years old, and heavy for it's size. I know there are new cars that get 30+ MPG but those weren't in my price range, so i've been happy with the average 22 MPG I get. (I've tracked the mileage i get out of a full tank several times, and it is a combination of city and highway driving, as I do both on a regular basis). The cargo space you get out of such a tiny car is awesome, I just wish the seats were a little more comfortable. The car does have an annoyingly wide turning radius, which took awhile to get used to when I got the car. The steering wheel vibrates when the car gets up to 50 mph+, which also took some adjusting to. After reading reviews that said the same thing and having a 'clean bill of health' from my mechanic, i've come to accept thats just something the car does. One of my favorite things about the car is the dark gray/tan/silver interior that still looks stylish a decade after the car was made. The colors hide dirt well, and can be easily cleaned. I've seen some other PTs that have a different interior, might be because I have a touring edition? not sure. Overall this car has been a good value, and costs have been manageable and predictable maintenance, not unexpected failures on the car's part."

29 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Love my Cruiser

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my Cruiser for over 4 years now - bought it used with 35K miles. It now has 99K miles and I just had the plugs, wires, and air filter replaced. I hope to drive it forever. No major repairs in four years aside from a water pump/timing belt and AC repair."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

BEST CAR I EVER HAD

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT STORAGE, GOOD PRICE,FUN,EXCEPTIONAL LOOKS"

Cons: "NOTHING BAD ABOUT THIS CAR!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS CAR - HATE TO GIVE IT UP!! SORRY THEY DISCONTINUED THE PT CRUISER, I LOVE IT AND I WOULD HAVE BOUGHT ANOTHER ONE NO QUESTION ABOUT IT! AFTER 10 1/2 YEARS THINGS MIGHT START GOING WRONG - SO I'M LOOKING FOR A REPLACEMENT BEFORE SOMETHING HAPPENS. (DON'T KNOW IF I WILL EVER FIND ANOTHER CAR TO FALL IN LOVE WITH.)"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Fits my needs nicely!

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great price; excellent capacity"

Cons: "no power door locks; original brakes squeaked"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have been very pleased with my 2002 PT Cruiser. Bought new and now with over 100K miles, it has required minimal servicing (outside of normal wear, oil changes, etc) and has proven extremely reliable over the years. My original purchase criteria consisted primarily of a smallish vehicle with excellent capacity and access for the size, decent fuel efficiency and reasonable price. The PT best fit my needs overall of all vehicles I looked at, including Honda CRV, Subaru Forester, Toyota RAV, and comparable GM, Ford, Hyundai, Suzuki,"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Monday, April 6, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 106,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this GT version seven years ago. It has been virtually a great running vehicle. I absolutely love it. It rides very smooth. It corners great. Plenty of power with the turbo. If I have any complaint, it is the gas mileage. 20 mpg city and hwy. The most major thing that I've had to replace is the radiator at maybe 85,000 miles. Plus of course break discs & brake pads. Have had it tuned up once since I took ownership. As with every vehicle on the road, the older it gets the more it begins to need repairs or replacements."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 285 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chrysler PT Cruiser near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.