To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1996 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 413 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next

Best suv ever!

By on Saturday, January 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 360,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfort and power"

Cons: "Low gas milage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's got 360000 miles on the original engine and transmission and works great. With 4 weel drive I can get to work even when the roads are flooded out."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

really is rock solid

By on Tuesday, November 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"bought a 97 2wd Tahoe. Typical "issues" with a used car at first. Needed tierod ends, 4 tires, and an alignment. 1 week later, needed a water pump (cheap part and easy to install). Gets about 13-15mpg around town, but an impressive 22.3mpg on the highway (not a 4wd). Vehicle is heavy as lead and feels very safe. Very comfy, too. I have a bad back, and I can drive this truck for HOURS without getting tired. Keep the trans serviced and the oil changed, and this truck with last longer than those beloved lil Hondas."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Outstanding

By on Monday, September 21, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I wish they still made trucks like this. Bought it used with about 128,000 miles on it; its primary use was to tow lawn equipment on a daily basis. It is now at 298,000+ miles, and the engine is still outstanding. Haven't had any major issues until recently: the transmission is giving out (not suprising since it's been towing equipment a majority of the miles), some electrical components are failing (again, not surprising...it's almost at 300,000 anyway), and a few suspension components need to be replaced. Other than that, this has been an extremely reliable car. I've only had one breakdown, and that was caused by old deteriorating battery cables..."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

96 Tahoe LT

By on Friday, November 21, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Around 100,000 miles this vehicle needed a lot of repairs: fuel, pump, water pump, PS pump, intake gasket, electrical issue and a water leak. Its a great truck, but it has cost me a small furtune to keep running."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

97 tahoe

By on Saturday, March 22, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"great truck, what ever you want to do you can do it, and you will be amazed at what a truck of this size can do. on the highway, from 50 to 70 or going off road. i have had my tahoe for now 7 years i am pressing 160000 miles and its still a trooper. i have had only one problem with it and that is the fuel pump. i have changed it 2ce i the last 7 years. but the one main point intodays world is that it gets not so much good mpg but to me it is worth it."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 83 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.