Go

1996 Chevrolet Tahoe

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 412 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next

97 Tahoe

By on Friday, September 14, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is a great vehicle. It is extreamely comfortable and has plenty of room. It has been very reliable. It has 167000 miles on it and hasn't needed any major work. The one thing I do not like about it is the rear windows do not go down more than 6 to 8 inches. It is not a mechanical problem it is just the way it was built."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Still looks & runs great

By on Tuesday, September 4, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have a 1999 Tahoe. It has never left us sitting, can run with the big boys and even the hot rods of our area, and still has an incredible paint job that makes folks take a second look. I would love a new one, but 'Big Red' is paid for, and I don't desire more payments until I have to."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Tahoe 2 door

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Love mine, it rides like a caddy. It is grat for long car trips. It is relatively good on gas to."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not a bad ride

By on Thursday, September 4, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Nice ride and roomy"

Cons: "trany worry's me and 4WD is not reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Like this vehicle BUT the transmission went out, got a rebuilt one and the shifting linkage INSIDE broke and will not go into park and only have R and overdrive. Also the 4Wd will not engage the front wheels"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle Ive Ever Owned Thus Far

By on Tuesday, August 5, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "Great Vehicle"

Cons: "Cup Holders In Front of A/C Vents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No complaints whatsoever"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Work Horse

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Versatile all around"

Cons: "250HP stock...needs more torque"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this Tahoe for 8 years and added on 120k from the original mileage. A lot of those miles were towing, approx 6500lbs everywhere from Alaska to North Carolina, to California. I have had minor mechanical issues over the years, fuel filter, radiator, alternator etc. but so far no transmission or gasket issues. The interior has taken a beating but the quality is good on these later models. I do frequently change the outside door handles, for some reason they come loose and eventually inoperable. Overall I love this truck and it has performed in every climate possible."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my Tahoe

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Bought it for 12k 9 years ago. Still valued @ 3K"

Cons: "Front and rear differential went in same year"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love the size, it sits up higher than a car, can go in the snow. In overdrive, gets excellent gas mileage. Around town it is expected to be about 15 MPG."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

i love this truck

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 165,586

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very roomy she keep on going on the highway"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

im an oversize load escort/pilot car/flag car driver and i love my tahoe its so confortable to drive.

"i drive all over and don't have any complaints about the Tahoe at all it has all the room i need for work and it handles the road like no other truck i have driven i have all ways drive a chevy from my s10 to my k5 now my Tahoe Lt i will always drive a Chevy Truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

im an oversize load escort/pilot car/flag car driver and i love my tahoe its so confortable to drive.

good truck just tranny trouble

By on Thursday, January 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"its been a good suv. the only real trouble has been the transmision. it went out at about 11800, I had it replaced with a factory rebuild. It lasted about 10 months and then went. it was covered under warrenty, but only lasted 24 hours then blew again.Then went two more times. it went to two different shops for repairs."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

NICE VEHICLE

By on Monday, January 2, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "SPACE"

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"IF YOU LOVE CHEVYS,THEN YOU WILL LOVE A TAHOE."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best car Ive owned

By on Saturday, December 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "nice and roomy great comfortable ride"

Cons: "15 miles per gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used 10 years ago and it is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. And I am 65 years old. smooth ride greatt in the snow and mud. hauls a boat or trailer. Im currently looking at gettng a newer Tahoe."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Lover this truck

By on Saturday, November 5, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 310,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought used and put on 270000miles and still like it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent car, have loved owning it for 12 years

By on Thursday, November 3, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great car for the outdoor enthusiast who bikes, sk"

Cons: "Not such good MPG."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car for the outdoor enthusiast who hikes, bikes, skiis, etc. Also good for hauling limber and towing a trailer/RV."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

well it is a chevy

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great truck"

Cons: "notorious for the broken door handles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great truck very reliable if somethin were to go wrong it always somethin minor i love this truck the 4x4 is specracular in this truck stafs right up day after day an let me just say if i was a car i wouldnt put Up with the way i drive"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

beast

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "never gets stuck,looks great,"

Cons: "v8 is not that good on gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"rare truck hard to find"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Cons: "Gas Mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this 99 chevy tahoe this is the 2nd one I have owned, and it has been very reliable, maintance is low, an it runs forever, but the mileage is the only down fall."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice suv

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very easy to drive"

Cons: "it has everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The vehicle is a very nice and some wat economic vehicle but overall i think it is very comfortable and convienent."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Wednesday, February 9, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Very comfortable car to drive. Good offroad capability. Loved optional tailgate feature that was available on this model. Great reliablity."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Wow

By on Thursday, January 20, 2011

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've always wanted a 2dr tahoe since I could remeber. Finally got the chance to own one and jumped on it. At first it was very nice and comfy. After a month the radiator went out. A couple months later the tranny went. About 3 or four weeks later after I got it out of the tranny shop, the head and intake gaskets failed. After the top end rebuild, guess what..... theres a knock in the bottom end. wow. now a new motor. When I finally sold it I paid twice what I did originally and finaly gave up on it. The tranny started acting up again right before it was sold. What a pc. I'll never own another again. Thanks chevy!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Tuesday, October 5, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned this SUV for 10 years. We took it for a long trip 3 months ago. Four adults, luggage, food, & a trailer with 2 motorcycles up the Blue Ridge Mountains. My Tahoe ran like new. It was so nice to ride in comfort. We've had to fix very fews things on it. We calculated with what we paid for it & what we have fixed that it cost us less than $2,500 a year to own it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

LOVE my Tahoe!

By on Monday, August 16, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my tahoe 4 years now and I love it! It has been reliable and functional with my 2 year old daughter! I would recommend to anyone!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

SUV of the decade

By on Wednesday, July 14, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought ours used 11 years ago and never had any real problems. Just keeps on running. For the time we bought, it was Truck Of The Year and still runs as strong & quiet as it did then. I was trying to find something negative but every vehicle has maintenance, and it has been brakes & tires, changed the belt and water pump at 120000 miles. One recall for wiper motor, and a misdiagnosis for a rear end pinion. Best SUV ever owned."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

incredible

By on Monday, June 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 96 tahoe 2dr 4wd in 97 with 36,000 I now have 408,167 with reman Jasper engine at 260,000 only thing that I have found to be reccurring is fuel pump and was told don;t run it out/low. Other than tires this truck is a beasst and love her. can be truck or passenger or go any where you want and snow awsome and even pulled my brothers Ford Excursion out mud hole hub deep 4 wheels. pulls boats trailer no prob. just GREAT vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, March 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Fits my family perfect. Great for around town and Camping, Pulls my boat great. Three thumbs up"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great vehicile

By on Thursday, March 18, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my 97' Tahoe for 4 yrs. Great truck even with 193,000 miles. People are shocked that many miles and looks great. Is wonderful in the snow too."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 17 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Tahoe near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.