To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2009 Chevrolet Suburban 2500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 280 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Not Multiple Car Seat Friendly

By on Wednesday, March 31, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love the way our 2008 Suburban drives. It is a very smooth ride, and I feel safe driving my 5 kids around. My biggest problem with it right now is that it was built in a way that prevents most car seats from being safely installed in the 3rd row. The seats fold down, and the tracks the hinges run on have a hard plastic case which inhibits the car seat from fitting snugly against the seat. I was able to find one car seat that works, but really, spending this much on a vehicle that is supposed to be considered a family vehicle, I would think they would have checked to be sure car seats fit. In addition to this, the back seat is 57" wide. This doesn't allow for three seats (car seats or booster seats) to be placed side-by-side back there. The placement of the latch anchors is also odd, in my opinon."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

gas guzzler!!!

By on Friday, August 24, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I TRADED A 2004 YUCON THAT GOT 16.7 MILES A GALLON. MY NEW 2007 SUBURBAN DOES GOOD TO GET 14.4 IN TOWN AND 19-20 ON THE HWY. THIS IS NOT A SUV TO PLAY TAXI WITH KIDS SPORTS ACTIVITIES YOU CANT PASS A GAS PUMP AFTER 1/2 TANK IS USED!! NOT HAPPY WITH CHEVY BUT THE GMC YUCON WAS GREAT. (AND 0% INTEREST!!!)"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Worth every penny

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I just went plain jane. Three cloth benches, not a lot of options by choice. I was payment shopping. Best deal I got on a DVD system in the headrests was back at the dealership. The vote is still out on the Xylon treatment on the seats, carpets, and paint. So far so good with three kids. The horsepower on demand is getting me approx 18mpg at 70mph, and 16mpg at 75mph - with the air on. Smooth, responsive, breaks don't fade for a vehicle this heavy, maybe could use stiffer anitsway bars, but never tasked the vehicle to have stabilitrac kick in, cabin is quietest we've ever experienced, yet the V8 has a nice throaty rumble to it. Still, big, cushy seats seem to make interior seem a little crowded. Perhaps if I had middle row buckets that moved back and forth I wouldn't have this problem. Again, payment shopping..."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Loved the car for the first year

By on Monday, May 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "size and comfort, power, style, looked good"

Cons: "Poor electrical systems and motors"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Great out of the box, but all door locks, rear hatch, side window defrost, tow gear, electric windshield heater, CD player broke between 9 months and 3 yrs. Engine quit at 126,000 miles."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great ride!!

By on Tuesday, March 5, 2013

I don't own this car

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "absolutely wonderful ride the last of a dyingbreed"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"why on gods green earth wold ANYONE buy an 80k dollar toyota land cruiser whe they could have the suburban and all of the reliability comfort room style wonderful driving dynamics and overall quality along aith the best resale in the business. for 57k!!! nuff said!!!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Nice ride for a SUV, I have driven Subs 39 yrs

By on Tuesday, February 7, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 122,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Lots of room, great ride"

Cons: "Front airdam too low, ground clearance low"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Major Transmission Failure at 112,000 miles. 5.3 Liter. 2007 has fuel injector #7 problems past 85,000 miles If you notice engine miss and get unusual computer dialog information on dash board most likely #7 fuel injector is sticking. It burns out #7 spark plug and needs #7 injector replaced. This was documented on the internet numerous times by the repair shop I use."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Safest car around

By on Saturday, February 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Strong, rides great, Very reliable."

Cons: "NONE"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My two sons just got in a accident and they were driving this truck. If it wasn't for this truck, Lord only knows what the outcome would have been. After seening the accident myself, I could never go back to another Vehicle. Very strong truck. It saved my boys lives."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

very good vehicle

By on Monday, August 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,142

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Really a joy to drive"

Cons: "uses some oil which always concerned me. Chevy says nnot to worry!??!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"While the overall MPG is not great at 16.5, it's super on the highway. On an Interstate or highway that's fairly level, the engine switchs to 4 cylinders and the instant mileage goes up to 33 MPG. It's city driving that drags the mileage down, but that's true with most cars. The 4 wheel drive"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I am in love with my new Suburban!

By on Monday, May 9, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We recently bought a used 2007 Suburban and I couldn't be happier with it! We traded in our 2004 Cadillac Escalade on it, and at first I was sceptical that anything could be as comfortable and stylish as my Escalade was. Boy was I wrong!!! The suburban rides and handles like a dream, and my son loves the rear seat entertainment system. All the extras on it make it a really convenient vehicle. The remote start is great for cooling down an extremely hot car in the summer! I would definately recommend the Suburban to anyone that has a family or just needs the extra room! You won't be disappointed!!"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love my LTZ

By on Wednesday, September 1, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is my 3rd surb. bought new 4 years ago, now has 62k. A few minor trips to the dealer. Great in the snow, long trips, tailgating. My only complaint would be the coffin sized center console that I have to tuck my right arm into my side and open with my left."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, March 4, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is a great famiy car, I have two kids and two English Mastiffs and they all fit. the plastic interior parts wear out quick. The turning is great feels like a sedan. There are two blindspots at the driver and passenger sides of the windshield. I seem to average 11.5 mpg. Needs to be six speed transmission. Its also not cheap. But overall a good family car."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

should have got this one first

By on Saturday, July 12, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"great truck seats 8 and all our luggage.i had a 2000 expedition first seated 8 not much luggage room.only issue i've had so far was a sunroof leak took 3 tries.i get a lot of compliments.HWY mileage is good wish city was a little better.luckily i don't need to drive it daily."

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best of the Best

By on Sunday, July 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had a 99 Tahoe, 01 and 05 Suburban. I loved all of them, but this 07 is the best one yet. Power, handling style its got it. Always getting compliments on it.(one was a Ford dealer!)"

4 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Looking SUV ever

By on Wednesday, September 9, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great power, smooth ride, very comfortable, cheaper than an escalade, very reliable, easy to fix and cheap repairs. Yes it does like to drink the gas but great as a second or touring vehicle to stretch out and carry the stuff. Nav is a little tricky. The switching V8 and V4 is kinda cool but a small breeze or bump will keep that loading down on V8 the whole time. This is one of my favorite cars to drive it is no wonder they are everywhere. Z71 package makes it a stiffer ride but more like a sports car than a Lincoln floating on air suspension."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

love love love

By on Monday, July 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"my family of 6 bought this car in november of 2007. we absolutely love it! we upgraded from an 05 dodge durango and would never go back after we experienced all this room and quality. we get an average of 18 mpg which is way better than what our durango with a hemi ever got. we always get compliments on it and it is a great car overall. it goes very well in the snow. although one complant is that the cloth black seat collect lint very badly. but other than that i would reccomend this car to anyone."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Excellent Family Vehicle!

By on Monday, May 2, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "space, comfort, smooth ride, reliable"

Cons: "hard to see out of, slow to speed up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love, love, love this truck! We bought when we were expecting our 6th child and were outgrowing our minivan. We were shopping for a vehicle that could accommodate 8 passengers plus had room for luggage (and all that additional baby gear!). The Suburban fit the bill! We bought it when it was a year old with 20,000 miles on it. We have put 50,000 miles on it and I never get nervous driving it cross-country a couple times a year with myself and 6 kids. It is very reliable, never have problems with it other than taking care of the normal maintenance (oil, tires, etc.) It has very comfortable seating for everyone, including my teenager and pre-teen as well as plenty of space for child safety seats. The ride is very comfortable and smooth. The only downside is that it has very little "get-up", meaning it does not speed up quickly. If you want to race, this is not the car for you. LOL! Also, it is kind of hard to see out of when backing out of parking spaces, but that goes with any large vehicle. Overall, I strongly recommend this vehicle for large families, and we will definitely be buying another one when this one gets old. LOVE IT!"

9 people out of 12 found this review helpful

BETTER THAN EVER

By on Wednesday, February 10, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The Suburban is better than ever. Nice styling, good perfomance and has been very reliable. Only one minor adjustment in over a year of ownership. The restyling and improved performance of a couple of years ago has really made this a better vehicle. And hiway mileage about twenty per gallon: while that does not come close to a Prius for mileage, a Prius would never come close to a Suburban for carrying capacity, towing etc."

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

My third suburban best one yet!

By on Monday, July 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great SUV , great on gas for its size and very easy to drive!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Monday, May 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 176,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Did the job I bought it for dependably."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I ordered this Chevrolet Suburban 2500. My experience with this vehicle tells me General Motors has significantly improved the quality of the vehicles they build. It has 176,000 miles and I never had to put brakes on it. I never had to do anything to transmission or engine. It has been a great vehicle."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Why didn't I own one sooner!

By on Tuesday, March 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Room, confidence, reliability, options"

Cons: "No bluetooth in 2008 for phone, only OnStar mins"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely wish had I had bought a Suburban years before I bought this one. I was always a minivan driver when we started a family. The gas mpg for the Suburban (4WD) only averages about 3 miles less per gallon than a 2WD, 6 cylinder minivan. I have had this vehicle for years, and reliability and flexibility have left nothing wanted. Plenty of space for passengers and storage. Power to tow just about anything you wish to, while very stable on the road when towing. Every option to make your time on the road, and around town, comfortable and confident. Although they are expensive initially, they have lasting value and reliability. I plan to have this vehicle as long as it will have me.."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive lots of room for a family trip"

Cons: "Does not hold it's value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Just cost too much for repairs and doesn't hold it's value! For it too be 7 years old paid almost 60k and now only worth 15k......."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Tahoe and Suburbans are the best overall vehicles.

By on Friday, September 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, good visibility(I'm 6'2")"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Having driven many vehicles over 45 years, the Suburban has been the most pleasant and reliable I have had. Our 2013 Suburban LTZ (towing and 4WD) meets all our family local and long trip needs, comfortably. I especially like the air ride feature for towing equalizaton and for my Rheumatoid arthritis. Being 100% disabled and sometimes needing to drive for 8-10 hours is no problem. All the safety features add a degree of relaxation as well (lane-change warning in side view mirrors; back-up warning and view is great in parking lots). Using the bluetooth feature with my cell phone is a stroke of genius: hands free driving and focus on the road at all times. I had a 2011 LTZ and probably will get a 2015 or later model. They just keep getting better!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice and comfy replacement for my last Suburban

By on Friday, September 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Roomy, Nice interior and exterior style"

Cons: "No fold flat seats, no tail gate option, no diesel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Very nicely done interior, looks great, rides nice, exterior looks good too. Easy to haul lots of people and 4 x 8 sheets from the hardware store. A few things I do not like are first the second row seats do not fold flat like my last one, there is no tailgate (so sorry auto makers do not offer that anymore) and that there is hesitation when you first press on the gas pedal. I also wish they offered a diesel engine!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The only vehicle I'd drive!

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, safe, comfortable, stable."

Cons: "No cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

There she is in all her beauty!

"Once you've owned and driven a Suburban, there's nothing else on the market that will do. The feeling of comfort, safety and security are worth everything. They handle beautifully, not much different than a car. They're beautiful to look at inside and out. My LTZ has almost every option available. The backup camera is priceless for the feeling of knowing there isn't a small child behind me when I'm backing up. I love the sun roof. The DVD player is awesome when one of my grandchildren is riding with me. I can't say enough good things about it. The only negative is the gas because of the high prices, but it's worth every single penny."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

There she is in all her beauty!

Love My Truck

By on Thursday, January 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very safe, very comfortable truck, excellent ride"

Cons: "Low gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My only wish for this truck is better gas mileage. We did a lot of highway traveling and it was very comfortable for long rides. Minimal blind spots. Very safe vehicle."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 2500 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.