To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2003 Chevrolet Suburban 2500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 756 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next

best vehicle ive ever owned

By on Tuesday, July 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable tows well lots of room and fun to dri"

Cons: "paint on my dashboard is coming off in places"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Grat vehicle ive replaced the ac compresser and a rear bearing other than that nothing. I just looked at the trade in value of 5000.00 lol not a chance you cant touch a vehicle as nice as this for no measily 5000 That just made me decide not to get a new vehicle ill keep my 2002 burb its more dependable than most new vehicles ive seen friends by thanks for helping me make up my mind"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Family Vehicle!

By on Friday, July 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable inside and driving"

Cons: "No smartphone connection; no smartphones in 2004.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I LOVE my Suburban! Although it's nearly 10 years old, it drives nicer and smoother than my husband's 2007 Tahoe. I can fit all my kids gear, groceries, car seats, etc in it and still have plenty of room for everyone. I haven't had any major issues with it. It's very reliable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GREAT SUV would purchase another

By on Saturday, April 6, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have had this vechile for 11 years and it is GREAT..we have children and it has worked wonderful for us. I would purchase another one ..gas mileage is the only issue but 17 mpg is not bad with all that you get for the dollar. I would recommend to anyone.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I LOVE MY BURB

By on Thursday, March 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,450

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome vehicle all the way around"

Cons: "Expensive on fuel only due to high fuel prices."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned 4 of these wonderful vehicles. My first was an 88 and I beefed it up a bit for street racing. What a blast. This 2001 I just got is definitely the cats meow. I love everything about it. Nothing more to say!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

She goes ANYWHERE we want to go, every time.

By on Monday, October 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of cup holders, power points, & leg room."

Cons: "Back window gets dirty on rock roads."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Seats 8 comfortably, leather, power everything!,push button 4WD on the run, Tow pkg,gets between 16 & 19 MPG depending on where & how far you're going. Security System. We love this beautiful red car, but need to upgrade to a newer model Suburban with the hatchback door with the windshield wiper. We live on rock roads and the back window gets dusty and it makes it difficult to see out the back window. We sold our van and Chevy Blazer and bought this SUV, and had the ideal combination in one vehicle, giving us less taxes, tags, & insurance. Very comfortable to travel in. Has a 327 engine."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

WOW, best SUV ever made!

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Value, almost everything"

Cons: "A/C, Carpet durability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best SUV ever made. I have owned 4 other Suburbans and they have all been awesome, Had and still have. It's been 3 years and only had to replace the Shocks, Brakes! Stranded me once, only because the battery ran out. Recommended!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

amazing

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safety, Reliability, Room, Convenience,"

Cons: "Gas"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 2002 Chevy Suburban, I've always been a fan of Chevy and have always had good luck w/ their long lasting vehicles. The Suburban i currently own has no problems and I've only had to replace small cheap items over the years. The only down fall to owning an SUV is the gas which cost $100 every fill up but it also lasts me awhile especially on trips. This car is very comfortable and has good interior! I would surely recommend this vehicle to anyone because of safety and reliability!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great family vehicle

By on Sunday, April 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Other than gas mileage I have no complaints. The suburban has been our favorite vehicle since we bought our first one 7 years ago."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best SUV I have ever owned

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Maintenance free, great off road, very comfortable"

Cons: "Auto lights that blind people at boat launch/camp."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No maintenance to 100k except front brakes, tires, and oil changes. Did 100k service and right side power window went out at 110k. $350 to have it fixed. Tows my boat with ease, does great in snow and off road. Interior has plenty of room for 8 people and room for bags, tents, strollers, etc.. Average MPG at 14-15, drops to 13-14 when towing. Same as my old Ford Explorer with a V6 that couldn't tow a thing and had half the interior room. I would buy this SUV again in an instant. Gets basically the same MPG as a Tahoe, Honda Pilot, or Nissan Armada and has more room and better towing than all of them."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great for the family

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "affordable, comfortable"

Cons: "gas usage-but expected from a 6500 lb vehicle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned this Suburban for 2 years and have only had to put minimal work into it. Great for long trips with my large family. Very comfortable and handles well for a truck. Would buy another any day"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Loved this vehicle!!

By on Saturday, December 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 204,430

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this vehicle for years and I love it! In spite of it having over 200,000 miles, I am not the least bit afraid of hopping in it today, and driving anywhere in this nation!! I have the Z71 4 wheel drive, and it runs and drives so good! This vehicle is comfortable enough for my whole family (there are 6 of us), and we have taken many vacations in it...all in comfort!! Would recommend this vehicle to anyone!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Always wanted a suburban

By on Monday, October 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Carries almost anything with seats flat or removed"

Cons: "CD player on dash board gets hot in summer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely loved driving this SUV. Smooth ride, great for long trips, moving kid to college, transporting up to NINE people comfortably, camping, etc., etc... Unfortunately, I lived quite a bit closer to my former employer, so the gas mileage wasn't a big deal. Now, I have to drive quite a bit further now, and gas mileage is the only drawback to the comfort. Also, parking is "tricky", due to the length of this vehicle. You need to have quite a long radius to turn. All in all, I have really loved owning this vehicle, but time to move on to something smaller. No children or deliveries to tote around any more.... A couple of recalls (seat belt, emission sensor) no major mechanical issues. Just changed the oil every 3 months, and I could have probably driven it another 90K miles...."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best, most reliable vehicle I have ever owned!!

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 218,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "powerful, roomy, reliable, high quality"

Cons: "gas mileage (13 city / 18 hwy)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2002 Z71 Suburban brand new. We have driven it to TX, KY, FL, and MD (and all in between). We also pulled a 19ft boat on weekends and in our various moves. Did very well on sandy beaches"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Favorite car ever!

By on Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "luxury package, utilitarian."

Cons: "chips to replace "luxury"items costly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2004 Chevrolet Suburban Z71. Great SUV with all the extras!

"This Suburban has been wonderful to own. I have never had any major issues with the suv and have enjoyed and used all of the various extras included. Truly everything I needed and more."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2004 Chevrolet Suburban Z71. Great SUV with all the extras!

Awesome Sub

By on Wednesday, March 10, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I feel safe driving this. I would buy another in a heartbeat. Very comfy to drive and travel in. Tows super. Has never left me down."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awsome vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 2, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has beena great vehicle for our family don't need a new just want one. Got new transmission at 175,000 runs like it was brand new!! great Vehicle!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Tuesday, May 19, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have almost 200,000 miles on my Chevy Suburban. I have towed a travel trailer every summer without any trouble. The only negative experience is the fuel pump went out when I was on the freeway at rush hour. The fuel pump quits without warning. The repair was $1,100.00 at a Chevy dealer. I might have found a better price, but I was 50 miles from home."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Car

By on Sunday, May 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This '02 Suburban is the best vehicle I've ever owned. I've had it since '02 but am second owner. I Maintained it 100% and have never stopped loving it! Not like other cars I had new and started hating things within 6 months. I'd like a new model one day but I'm not sure a new one will turn out as good."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Vehicle

By on Thursday, March 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have owned our Suburban since NEW. No real issues. Have over 60k and only item out of warranty has been u-joints. Holds everyhting possible. Wished the 3rd row seat was easier to fold and remove. Loaded with everything except Autoride. Mileage @ 70+ is 18mpg. One time got 21mpg. In town usually 15mpg. Not bad for eveything this thing can hall. Really well built and designed wish I could afford a BRAND NEW 2009! Would buy it in a Heart Beat!!!!!! Two bad winters with no 4 wheel drive and not a single problem, Stabilitrack works great."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best I've owned

By on Monday, January 5, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is a beast. Never have any concerns about it. Towed with it cross country, and it never realised there was a trailer on it. This car is a winner!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice Truck

By on Friday, December 12, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have the LTZ that I bought to replace my 1999 model. Many improvements were made in handling and braking and I am very satisfied overall. I occasionally get a "service tire moninter" warning; Chevy changed the computer but it still happens so that is my only complaint. After 50,000 miles it still drives great and I don't plan to replace it anytime soon. I drove a new 2008 this year and I like my '05 better when it comes to comfort. I can't see trading it for the price difference. Gas milage is also reasoable; I average about 17 mpg which is great for a large vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A Quality Vehicle

By on Saturday, November 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have an 04 LT with everything except sunroof. It currently has 75,580 miles. This SUV has been very good to me. The only repairs have been to replace an HVAC valve, replace outside mirror lights and the seals for the back hatch due to rust. Otherwise it has only been normal maintenance items. I am still on the original brakes and still have 10k or more left on them. I would think about trading it in for a new one but I do not like the inside styling. They have taken away all the good little storage areas for the driver. Also, tehy have not added AC seats for the front like they have for the crossovers. I will continue to wait. Excellent vehicle and very reliable. I highly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, June 4, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

my 2k Sub

By on Friday, January 4, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I luv this truk! I bought it used with 90k miles for about $18k. Its been the best INVESTMENT ever for my family of seven. Its beautiful, bright RED, peanut butter leather, all the toys, tv, cd, tape, heated everything (including mirrors) and tow pak. I love it. It has over 152k miles and I still drive it over my volvo s60 many days. Its great on gas (I get about 20-21 mpg on highway), city driving does take its toll on gas but i'm always on the highway. We shop a lot too, and with 5 kids we can load a vehicle at the grocery store or the mall everytime! it's been great having this truk, even with the luggage on top (in rack) we can fill the inside with TONS of STUFF! I absolutely love my truck. I just got an Acura MDX for my wife because she wanted something smaller to drive but for long trips we will always have a suburban, you just can't beat it. We've always been foreign car owners but I have really fallen for this American icon......Nothing beats my heavy Chevy...NOTHING!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it-hate the gas mileage

By on Saturday, October 27, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We LOVE our suburban, 3rd one we have owned. Why can't Chevy make something that gets a least decent mileage? PUT A DIESEL IN IT. Tows like a dream, eats gas and is afraid to pass a gas station. Very comfy, roomy and lovely, shame we can only drive it one day a week due to the cost of gas. Machine in our mountains and snow."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 31 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 2500 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.