Go

1997 Chevrolet Suburban 1500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 446 Ratings for the 1992 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

I love Suburbans

By on Tuesday, August 28, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The Chevy Suburban is the best SUV on the road if you are looking for a classy and comfortable vehicle with luxury appointmets. The newer Suburbans handle almost like cars and new or old they are hard to beat for a long distance family driving vacation. I have driven a Suburban for 8 years and I will never drive anything else, as long as I live in a winter climate anyway!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 9, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have traveled the Country in my Suburban. You dont' feel like you are in a tin can going down the interstate! I can't imagine traveling in anything else. Very comfortable. (and enough room to separate the kids if they start arguing) Great vehicle for traveling! Other than average wear, the only big problem I've had with my suburban is the braking system."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

i love it

By on Saturday, July 28, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i couldn't have asked for a better safer vehicle for me and my children, it has so much room, very comfortable for rear passagers, plus i have plenty of room for groceries or kids bikes or whatever............."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My Favorite

By on Thursday, July 26, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We've had our Suburban for 10 years - still runs GREAT and looks great. My favorite vehicle ever!! Mileage is 15 -17 mpg - not bad for a vehicle this size. Friends with minivans don't get much better and don't have the space or towing capacity. Tows great, I've used the 4WD many times - LOVE it. Only trouble is - kids are grown - we only drive it 3 - 4 times/year now - mostly to move kids to and from college. Passenger seats are comfortable - esp the 3rd seat."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best so far

By on Sunday, July 22, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been the best vehicle I have ever owned. I plan to keep mine for many more years. No major problems so far! The only bad thing is the way the center seat folds to allow for a passenger to clime in the back (third row). Bad design."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome truck!

By on Saturday, July 7, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been the best vehicle I've ever owned. It's very comfortable and has lots of power. I love this truck!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best horse I ever owned.

By on Wednesday, May 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck is a horse. Does everything well and keeps on running. Have owned for 18 years."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car but mileage could be better but for size

By on Sunday, April 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 246,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great first car, acceleration, power, towing"

Cons: "Gas gas gas, very pricey to fill up (44gal tank)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased in 2000, been in my family's possession for the past 14 years. Great family car, great for driving down the street or crossing state borders. Mileage is not amazing, low to mid teens, but for its size and its age it has performed exceptionally well. Acceleration is good as well, it may be an older vehicle but it still has the pep in its step to keep up with many newer vehicles in its class and in some cases outperform the vehicles released within a couple of years. No major repairs at all have been needed besides tire replacement. Minor repairs include broken window: stuck button (children playing with the button), door handle: internal gears broken (improper rotational force applied), seats: leather is worn and torn from years of wear, headlights: dead light bulb. Tows like a dream, handles U-haul trailers easily, the power output of the engine is fantastic. It's a great first car for your teen, because it's big it encourages safe driving, alertness/awareness of surrounding traffic. It takes a lot of gas to fill the tank because it has a 44 gallon tank (an enormous cost in today's gas economy) but it also means that you do not have to fill it up as often as same class vehicles with smaller tanks. Overall: great car, very few repairs, great first car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Greatest vehicle ever built

By on Wednesday, April 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Cup holder is right in front on heat vent"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Takes one heck of a licking but keeps on ticking"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

lots of room

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive. Big and safe"

Cons: "wish it got more mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Tons of room and a smooth ride. Gas isnt that good but could be worse."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Super nice drivin

By on Monday, February 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Does ok on mpg for a full sized family suv, safe"

Cons: "altenators go out somewhat fast"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car drives nice, is comfortable to be in. Pretty reliable and does excellent when your towing. My Wife and i Love it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love it

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have own this vechile for 9yrs and I love it. It has 199,000 miles and still running strong. Yes has had some work done to it, but nothing ever over $500, and only twice. I live in the country and drives awesome in the snow."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great ride...comfortable and still stylish.

By on Sunday, February 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 151,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this jewel for 6 months and I love it. It drives great and it's a beast in 4x4. She's comfortable on long trips and surprisingly affordable on those trips. Not loving the 40 gallon tank when buying gas, but its worth it to throw the family and friends in to go places."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Absolutely great vehicle

By on Friday, February 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "none"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Suburban and I would not purchase any other type. These trucks are reliable, comfortable, provide massive seating and carry space. The driver is able to see far beyond normal while driving and through the snowing winters, this vehicle is unsurpassed. When towing, this truck and my previous Suburban tows like there is nothing behind it. I kept my first one for 10 years and this one is going on 14 years, while running like new."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I would like to eventually own another one newer .

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It has been a great towing vehicle and has great power. I bought it with out power windows so I wouldn't have to worry about electric problems. The only bad thing is, it isn't the most fuel efficient."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best vehicle ive ever owned

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,555

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable vehicle"

Cons: "gas milage sucks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

my beast

"this vehicle has gottin me outta a few slumps snow banks mudd hail storms and much more if i ever had a chance id buy anoter one every day"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

my beast

I love this truck

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 188,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great ride, comfortable, powerful, carries a lot"

Cons: "Low MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've own this Suburban for 3.5 years, minimal maintenance required. I own/drive other vehicles as well, so this one may sit for a while between driving it. No matter, starts and runs every time. Trips of 600 miles or more, runs like a champ. All the amenities still work. Love it. Comfortable. Heated leather."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

awesome vehicle

By on Monday, October 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great engine. lots of room. great handling"

Cons: "not one"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i believe that the suburban is one of the most reliable suv's ever made. never gives me any problems"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

My 4th Chevy

By on Wednesday, September 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 317,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Dusk

"I got this Surburan 6 months ago and put a little money in it and alot of labor but she is a really great truck and perfect for my family!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Dusk

Great Tow vehicle or hauling a lot of people

By on Thursday, August 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy to drive, haults anything, very spacious, nice exterior/interior and easy access"

Cons: "Other than size and more gas it has no downside."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very reliable car with zero problems except for a new battery. Can haul a long trailor RV or otherwise and not even feel it. Pretty decent gas mileage considering its size."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Last of the Big Blocks

By on Tuesday, March 8, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"We have had a 99 2500 2WD Suburban with a 7.4L (454 cu in) with the 8600 lb heavy duty suspension for about 7 years now. This has been a great vehicle for occassional around town use and towing a car trailer. Tried to tow a 24 foot enclosed car trailer, but that was a struggle for it. Gas mileage while towing an open car trailer is around 12mpg and the enclosed one was about 9mpg. We have enjoyed this vehicle on long trips and have had very few problems. The two problems that stick out were interesting. When we bought it it would pull hard to the left in braking, enough to jump a lane if you weren't ready for it. After much troubleshooting, I swapped the front rotors left to right and it pulled the other direction. New front rotors ($$) fixed the problem. The other major problem was the infamous hot start problem. The original (and replacement AC Delco) injectors start leaking down after time. The Suburban requires cranking for 10-15 seconds to start when hot. The fix for this is replacement injectors from Mr. Injector. So there are many pluses about this vehicle (like a better tranny than the smaller Suburbans) that make it a great value."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Its Been A Great 4x4

By on Sunday, October 10, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"The best domestic weve had. Bought new in '94, now has 179k on the ticker. Never been stranded in it. The only real issues its had is the intake gaskets at 70k, the rear end at 160k, fuel pump at 160k, and the ABS light is on. Its seen ALOT of off road use and many family road trips loaded to the gills pulling a trailer. We had an '81 befor it, it was a nightmare. and an '08 Silverado Truck which I doubt it will live up to the '94. This era of GM trucks is with out a doubt one of their best."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Owned 12 years

By on Friday, September 10, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Boutgh used in 1998 for 15,600 and 60,000 miles. Now has 158,000 and still runs great. Just drove it to Claifornia and back then to Miami beach andback. No problems."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

power house

By on Wednesday, July 28, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"My Suburbarn handles excellent in the snow! Always starts right up. Best B-day present ever!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Snow Mobile

By on Thursday, March 25, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The only bad thing I can say about this truck is it drinks ALOT of gas! I love this truck and wouldn't trade it for the world!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 1500 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.