ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1997 Chevrolet Suburban 1500

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 446 Ratings for the 1992 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

My juggernaut- unstoppable force, immovable object

By on Tuesday, November 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 171,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Security, Power, Cargo Room, Driving Range"

Cons: "corners like an aircraft carrier, 5 ton towing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Enough low end torque that I pulled a friends Dodge Ram out of a 3 1/2 ft deep creek at idle. It protected my family from two accidents where the Suburban was unharmed and the other cars were totaled. The second one my 3 year old asked "What was that noise?" because he barely felt the jolt. Unbelievable cargo volume, near 150 cubic feet, that is unrivaled by today's SUVs. The combination of 15.5 mpg city, 19-20 mpg on the highway, and a 42 gallon tank mean you are never left in desperate need of gas."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Loved it!!!!

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Stregnth, Safety, Dependable"

Cons: "higher gas usage than small car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it with 33000 miles and have driven it until it was recently totaled in accident--not our fault. In a smaller vehicle that didnt have the structural streghth that the Suburbans do, my daughter would have been killed in this accident. Like it was, she walked away unharmed. This vehicle had very few problems over the years and was still dependable. My kids are grown now or I would only replace with another Suburban. I cant say enough how lucky she was that she was in the Surburban for this accident. We called it our Tank over the years and it lived up to its name."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Most trouble free vehicle

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great vehicle now that we have Grandkids"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We have owned this vehicle for over 6 years and short of a new battery two years ago and new tires at the same time. The only repairs I have had to do was repair the steering linkage-front end alinement. Even the wife loves it, says it makes her feel big."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Thursday, August 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage on the highway, very comfortable, reliable."

Cons: "Hard to keep AC working"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this car in 2007, it had 125,000 miles and we used it for everything. We used it for family vacations and transported any where from 5-8 people very comfortably. We had to rebuild the transmission at 175,000 miles but that was the only major repair. It has been a nice car to own and we feel very comfortable selling it to the next person. We have used it for everything and it is a real workhorse. The only problem that we have had with it is a problem with the air conditioning working and have had it in several times to be fixed and it will work fine for a few weeks then stop. We have not been able to find the problem. I upgraded to a newer Suburban and plan on getting the same results from it as this one."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Wonderful vehicle

By on Monday, April 5, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have had our 99 Suburban for 7 years. It is a very comfortable vehicle and is great if you have 3 kids and like to go camping. The heated seats are great in winter. 4x4 is great in winter also. Ours now has 156,000 miles on it and still drives wonderful. The only problem we have had is the fuel pump went out. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

tows great

By on Saturday, March 13, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"3/4 ton, 454 engine I got this as a tow vehicle and it worked perfectly. I was able to tow over mountain passes without a loss in power. I've had it a few years and so far have replaced the wiper motor, battery, starter and two tires. The engine is running great and I also pass smog without a problem."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Friday, March 5, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owed this 97 3/4 ton 4x4 for 8 years now. It just passed 200,000 miles and still run great. Only had to replace the alternator and fuel pump. This thing has the big block 454 (7.4 litre) and may be a bit of a gas hog (9mpg city 11hwy) but I tow a 9,000 pound trailer and haul my family of 7 through the mountains and it never complains. Still think this body style is the "toughest" looking of them all."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

the toughest truck I have ever seen

By on Saturday, November 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought our first one 4 years ago, we needed a vehicle, and fast. It was the right price and available. On Valentines day my husband wrecked it...had he been in any other vehicle, he would have been seriously hurt if not dead. We fixed it...kept it and it still runs to this day...we bought a second one...you can't beat the absolute toughness of this truck. It just keeps on going. Very minor issues mostly just up keep. Chevrolet got this one right!!!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

wow

By on Saturday, September 19, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Just bought my second sub an very happy"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

3rd Suburban

By on Monday, September 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my 3rd Suburban with 360,000 miles on it. I'm hoping to hit the 500,000 mark."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Comfortable but has needed repairs

By on Sunday, July 26, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought a used 1999 in 2001 and put 100k miles on it. Have had some very expensive repairs along the way; $1,700 A.C. system repairs, head gasket replaced, warped brake rotors, replaced radiator (it sprung a leak on a roadtrip to the Grand Canyon), and minor electrical repairs. It is comfortable for those long trips and pulls the little tent trailer with ease."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

6 miles to 167000 on '94 1500

By on Sunday, July 19, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"bought new after trying to teach an '86 Celica to swim on a frosty morning. got rear-ended after 2 months by a 15 year old, very slight dent in the bumper, his 66 pontiac was barely driveable. hit a deer 5 years later. broke the plastic grill ($280). rear ended somebody else a couple years later. minor damage to my bumper, bent a tow hook and mashed the license plate holder (plastic)-pulled the bumper straight with a chain & anchor, broke the hook off with my hand, new screws in the holder. can still see a cut in the rubber bumper trim. solid , strong frame is nice! I think the other guy was a total. first new brakes, drums & rotors at 160k cost $700 (waited too long), then the aftermarket (dealer) trans oil cooler pipe blew, first time the car made me late to work! two months later the engine oil cooler pipe blew in an intersection (same dealer add-on in 94). drove too far w/o oil, now sounds like it's lost a main bearing. going to town to buy a '99 to haul scouts & trailer while the '94 gets fixed, the '99 has too many bells & whistles, it took a lot of hunting when we found the 94 with minimal options, after 130k the repairs all seem to start at $200 for minor items-door sags, seat worn, seat belt retractor, solenoid in heater are all DIY items, but still want to keep it. I've used the a/c maybe 10 times in 15 years, needed tire chains six times, and used them a dozen times, hauled family & scouts & big boy toys & gear all over the NW all seasons & conditions with no car trouble, and I do recommend this car to you. the new cars now seem to be all bells & whistles & red wheels, not solid transportation."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV!

By on Sunday, April 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Orig. owner. Still runs strong. Very dependable!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SUV

By on Monday, April 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"At 10 years old, this vehicle still gets 14-18 mpg!! Has a GREAT get-up-and-go for this size vehicle. Leather starting to wear, but paint still looks great. ACs work beautifully, though needs maintainance each Spring. Very happy with this vehicle for a very long time. Maybe not the most stylish, but definitely the most economical for the amount of space it provides."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Sportsman's Vehicle

By on Wednesday, January 14, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned my '98 Suburban since 2002, when it bought it with 37,000 miles. Currently has 103,000 miles. It's been an very good rig for hauling massive amounts of fishing and hunting gear, and at the same time, 4 or 5 passengers in comfort. 40+ gallon fuel tank is a godsend when miles away from nearest gas station on wilderness fishing excursions. Burns (or leaks) no oil. Change oil and filter at 3000 mi intervals, using Quaker State or Pennzoil. Have had to replace starter, water pump, alternator, brakes, and battery one time each, but otherwise its been trouble-free. Excellent control in snow or on icy roads."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Like a rock!!

By on Tuesday, December 16, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I sold cars for over 16 years, I have driven Suburbans as demonstrator vehicles and now that I am out of the business and needed my own vehicle, this was an easy pick for me. I bought my 1999 Suburban with 199,XXX miles. I needed the space for kids. This is easily the best vehicle I have owned! I recently replaced the cat. converters ($995.00 OUCH!!), but with the miles on the vehicle I suppose it was about time. I don't regret buying this baby. The 44 gallon fuel tank is helpful with mileage. When I fill my truck up, I can drive for a week. I know it sound like a lot of money, but I do a lot of driving. We got our first snow of the year today and driving in was a breeze."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best car ever

By on Friday, December 5, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought our 95 in 2003 with 162000 miles and have been in love ever since. We have beat it and it still goes..I can cram kids and cargo and still feel safe and comfy. I wanted a mini van but my husband wanted a truck so we compromised and bought the Suburban. Almost 300000, it still is our baby, now going through a 16 year old its still running strong would recommend this truck to any body!!!! Would buy suburban again in future. This truck has helped me get through Wisconsin winters with the reliable 4 wheel drive. The paint job hasn't lasted, we have a few blemishes on the fenders but the cosmetic defects do not take away from the performance. Oh and there is a minor electrical deficit with the turn signal now after all these miles.. and the a/c is gone. But 300000 later no tranny worries and engine worries! So this family is thankin' Chevy. would recommend to any body"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A Long Haul

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"We've had our 88' Suburban for 10 years now. We bought it with 150K already on it. It went through that engine at the 200K mark. We replaced the engine and it went another 200K. Its at a little over 400K and it just died again. It's sad. I love the power of its V8. I will miss it when I junk it...."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love my 'Burban. I can haul anything, There is lots of room for my two Labs and my gear. Sure, it's tough to feed, but I can drive 600 miles on a tank (highway) and be comfortable. It's not the easiest vehicle I have ever owned to work on, but compared to a lot of modern cars, it's easy to change the plugs, air filter and other tune up/shade tree items. It handles snow well and is substantial enough I don't fear a collision (though I do my best to avoid them). The missus had a run in with it and a 2005 Mustang. There was 2500 dollars worth of damage to the Stang and $15 (including shipping of part) damage to the truck. Pretty strong recomendation."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Superb for a large family!!!

By on Saturday, June 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I love my 1993 Suburban. We purchased it in the summer of 2005 when my third child grew out of his infant seat and the doors on our car would not shut with 3 car seats in it. I originally looked at minivans but discovered the gas mileage was not much better and the interior space was far less!! My husband thought we should look into a Suburban because of the roomy interior and its safety. I am soo glad we did, we got a great deal on it and soon had our fourth child. The vehicle has been on 4 out of state trips and I plan to keep it for years to come. There is no other vehicle on the market which compares for a large family. Even considering the poor gas mileage (approx 15mpg) on long tripa, when you factor in a car payment and added insurance one must carry on a newer vehicle the small increase I may receive in mpg is not worth it. this vehicle is my civilian"tank" which carries my precious cargo and I highly recommend it!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Sunday, March 23, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is the SUV for those who want a real utility vehicle. This is built considerably stronger than modern SUV's and can handle abuse a lot better. 361,900 miles on the original engine speaks for itself. Low cost of ownership when it comes to upkeep and maintenance. Inexpensive to repair when it does need fixing. This is a daily driver over the sierra's between Reno Nevada and Bishop California."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Darn good

By on Sunday, December 2, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Roomy and reliable. Hauls the kids, their strollers scooters bikes the dog and grandma...comfortably (oh and mom and dad too!). Plenty powerful, tows great, good visibility. A few repairs but nothing more than you would expect when putting well over 100k miles on! The ultimate road machine. I'll get another if this one wears out...though it seems like it might never do that. Yeah gas costs a bit at 15 mpg, but the safety factor and comfort for my family is well worth it. Anyway I would have to replace it with 2 of those 30mpg vehicles to haul my gang and their stuff. Mom likes to drive it too."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best one yet

By on Wednesday, November 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my 3rd suburban, I've had this one nearly 6 years. I love it. it always runs great, hauls people, furniture, equipment, whatever I need and still rides comfortably and safely. I am at a point in my life where I could pay cash for a smaller, more economical vehicle. I'm not ready to give this one up. I'll drive it til the wheels fall off and then put them back on and drive it some more!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, November 8, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have owned for five years, Very happy. Yes, I have spent some money in repairs, but those are to be expected. Gasoline will be five dollars per gallon before it even begins to become a reason not to drive this vehicle. The safety of my family is far more important."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

One of my Favorite Vehicles

By on Wednesday, November 7, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I,ve owned and driven lots of cars and trucks in my time. I must say that the Chevy Suburban has given me everything that I could ask for in a vehicle. Excellent comfort inside, very roomy, stylish, and reliability. If I had a negative about this ride I would say that the mileage isn't all that great (11 mph). However all of the great qualities of the Suburban far outweigh the one negative."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Suburban 1500 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.