To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2012 Chevrolet Sonic

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 177 Ratings for the 2012 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.5/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 ... 36 | Next

Best little hatchback ever

By on Sunday, January 4, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, blast to drive"

Cons: "Center storage console"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"20 plus years driving SUVs test drove lots of small hatchbacks, fell in love with the RS Sonic. Bought new with 25 miles on it been cornering ever since."

28 people out of 47 found this review helpful

Was great...for a year...

By on Wednesday, May 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,200

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Cute interior, Sporty Look"

Cons: "Not reliable, speakers don't sound great."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I've had this car since it was new, it was great for the first year. I purchased it in January of 2014 (they let it go at a great price since it was a 2013 new still on the lot, which was the deciding factor). It is fun to drive and no recalls (thankfully). I will say that the manufacturer's tires are terrible, but once I replaced those all the rough riding and bad handling went away. The interior is really interesting and great and it holds up very well. The trunk is also very large which is nice. But about 2 months ago my check engine light came on. Thermostat issues and the warranty didn't cover it. That was a $380 repair bill. Now the remote start has stopped, again warranty won't repair it and that is a $500 repair and the same issue with the thermostat is back again. Now instead of another repair I am considering trading it in."

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Nothing special

By on Friday, May 8, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Solid mechanically"

Cons: "doesnt have the options to compete"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"If you want a car that will start and get you from A to B, this is no problem. However, this car hardly competes with the Ford fiesta or Honda fit. It is mechanically sound, but should not be priced near the competing cars. It just doesn’t have the stock options. The Sonic would be a great car if you could beat them down on price, but as it stands, The Ford and Honda models have much more value for the price."

10 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great car, excellent gas mileage, no problems

By on Tuesday, December 9, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car for my husband. It is an amazing little car. There are times I push nearly 50 miles per gallon. It fits 4 comfortably...5 is a little squished. I have had absolutely no problems with it at all. It handles well in all driving conditions. It has a lot of get up and go if you want it to."

17 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Surprisinngly reliable and comfortable

By on Tuesday, August 4, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,505

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "comes with lots of cool stuff (apps)"

Cons: "could be bigger/roomier."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just purchased my sonic on Wednesday. I have had it for a week and everyday, I find something else to celebrate about this vehicle. I test drove this car and was surprised with the information center, that's what first caught my attention, then it came with remote start and a back up camera standard. Second plus, leather interior and a full wide screen radio, on star, wifi, I mean the list goes on and on, and then I just found out that I have two years of scheduled maintenance on top of all that. I was sold. My only gripe is that I am a tall guy and it could have more leg room and be a bit more roomier. I do like the raised seat and telescope steering wheel, oh and I even got heated seats. WOW!! The ride is very smooth in city and on the highway, you already know that it is no gas guzzler, even with the turbo engine. I am very pleased with this vehicle."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 19 20 21 ... 36 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Sonic near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.