Go

1999 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1279 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.4/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next

decent work truck

By on Wednesday, August 26, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Ride and performance are good. Mileage could be better. It is 12mpg whether empty or loaded and towing a trailer."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Power

By on Monday, June 22, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Towed a 5000lb tractor with a 20' heavy duty rented flat bed trailer up the I-10 pass East Bound just outside Indio, CA (10 miles)....you know, the one that everyone overheats on.........this truck blasted up the pass at 65! No problems, the truck seemed happy with the load!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

very good truck

By on Sunday, June 7, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this truck and have never looked back once. I did put an edge juice with attitude, AFE stage 2 intake and an MBRP ex. on the truck and WOW this truck is a fire breather. I now have a truck that is running 15.1sec in the 1/4 mile and will tow a house down the road. I tested all the rest and bought the best. LOVE IT"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, January 10, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"good truck for hauling but struggles on pulling a 30 foot camper around 10000 lbs up grade. gas milage around 13 unloaded 9 pulling camper."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, May 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

this is the one to buy

By on Tuesday, April 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i have had mine for two years and have had no problems love everything about it, i have friends with fords and dodges and when we tow atvs out to the mountins my 03 chevy duramax always leads in power up the mountins and beats them in fuel mileage too. best truck to buy and i have driven all of them."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2002 2500 Duramax

By on Saturday, January 19, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned the truck since new and have maintaineded it per GM's schedule. My only problems have been with the diesel engine, (Isuzu). In the shop twice in 2007. At 70,000 miles I had problems with 4 of the glow plugs, fuel rail and an air leak in the fuel filtering system. The good news is GM did the work and all under warranty, no questions asked. Next time it will be the 6.0L gasoline Vortex Max. Everything else has been flawless. I like the truck and the solid road and off road manners it has. This is my first new American made vehicle, and I've been very satisfied even though everyone I knew recommended foreign makes. I'll buy another GM truck when its time to trade."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

like a rock

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"never had such a large 4wd that acted so agile,strong..will rip a tree right out of the groud plow through deep mud and still roll well down the highway with 410 gears @ about 15mpg"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

good truck

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"togh reliable and nice looking. bought this vehicle used with 20000 miles on it and have since put 60000 more on it i tow daily cars and boats havent yet had a problem with it. only complaint is the gas mileage i get about 13 miles to gallon with my 411 gear ratio"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

No job too big!

By on Thursday, January 10, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This truck is very reliable and dependable for whatever job needs to be done. The HD package can't be beat when it comes to handling and control when empty or loaded. With the added 4 wheel drive, you can get just about anything anywhere. The only downside is the wide turn radius with the extended cab and long box together."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good truck, poor mpg

By on Wednesday, January 9, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My only complaint is gas mileage. Empty it gets 12, with a loaded trailer less than ten. Can't afford to drive it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Overall, a really good truck

By on Monday, September 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"(01 2500 HD CC 4x4; 6.0L) I've had this truck for about a year now. I have to say that it runs great and does everything I need it to. Only complaint I have is the paint quality sucks. I think the paint chips everytime a bug hits it. Oh yeah, the lights for the radio keep going out. Minor things but still annoying. However, for work this truck does great! With 285's on it I get 13-14 around town. Not bad for a landyacht..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Looks bad but still runs like new

By on Tuesday, August 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Been in one major and two minor accidents and truck is still running down the road trouble free. Has 170,000 miles. Have had this truck since 11/00. Been in the shop once for a warranty repair, Cranksensor."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

worker

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"AS by my review I give this truck all 5's. It works harder than any other midsize truck on the market. I think the Cumnmins engine in the Dodge gets too much attention solefully on the name cummings alone. I am a 20 yr exp diesel mechanic who ahs worked on all the big engines as well as the small(short time as a Ford Diesel Tech) The torque,power and all around performance from this truck cannot be beat. I would hook it up against any other stock diesel engine out there. This engine is a HUGE improvement over the 6.2L diesel GM used to have, there is no comparison. Hats off to the engineers at GM for marrying the perfect couple. DuraMax and Allison. Winning combo"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

most comfort

By on Monday, July 9, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"has the best miles per gallon,tows 10,000-12,000 pounds with ease,and still gets good mileage"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nice Truck

By on Sunday, July 8, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just love my truck. It has been a very stong good reliable truck. It is a truck that I can trust to get the job done!!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

What was expected

By on Saturday, July 7, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I owned 3 trucks in my life and my father had 1. I can say out of 2 Dodge trucks and a Toyota Tacoma the Chevrolet Silverado by far was the best investment. I do a lot of towing business wise, machinery, loam, gravel etc.... and never had an issue with pulling. At 13 mpg it hurts the wallet, but also got 13 mpg while towing too so it evens out. It does get better milage that the Triton 5.4 liter..... The only time it was in the shop was for routine oil changes, brakes etc.... The turning radius isn't bad for an extended cab with an eight foot bed either. I replaced the air filter 3 times, the last time I put in a K&L air filter and it increased engine performance. I will definatley by another GM truck...."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

best truck

By on Friday, July 6, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"best truck i have ever owned and i love how it handles i would recommend it to anyone who knows what a diesel is about"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great step up from regular half ton trucks

By on Saturday, September 19, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 91,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great step up truck"

Cons: "hard to work on. ride quality of an amish buggy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"no complaints.. everything was extra heavy duty, making it a pain to work on."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Still in great condition and runs great

By on Thursday, March 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great work truck"

Cons: "Asking $4,500.00 KBB value is $6,700.00"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Has been an outstanding truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck

By on Friday, February 21, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun"

Cons: "Yes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Love this truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

A great and reliable truck

By on Saturday, November 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 144,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great Truck, stylish and tows nicely"

Cons: "Expensive to fill up, big engine, more gas used"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I use my truck for business and personal use. It has been very dependable and looks good too. It tows great and hauls most anything. It does use gas and it can be costly to fill up but if youre looking for a reliable truck the 2500 series Silverado is the way to go. I am a very happy Chevy owner."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

runs great. never a problem

By on Saturday, November 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"aside from all extras it also has an allison transmission. nothing wrong just want to go to a one car family"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Dose every thing you-can ask, work or play

By on Saturday, October 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Had the truck for about a year, have runs up and down the road empty or pulling a travel trlr."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

most reliable truck I have owned

By on Saturday, October 19, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,345

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Truck has matching Jerico cap, matching visor, dual exhaust. Still gets very good gas mileage. Oil changed every 3,000 miles. Only filled with 93 oct or higher."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 52 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 2500 HD Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.