To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2003 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Extended Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 3023 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 303 | Next

Would sell this vehicle to my grandmother !

By on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "5th wheel hitch matching cap LINEX bed remotstart"

Cons: "Needs new rear bumper (normal for Chevy )"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I know trade in value of $6400 is for purchase of a new vehicle , but my truck is in very good cond And well cared for not a rusty auction sale worth 2000/2500! The only reason for trading is I can't work carpentry anymore due to illness I am proud of my vehicles ,stubborn and will keep it in my driveway if necessary! Thanks,Kevin C."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

does everything I want, details could be better

By on Wednesday, November 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "does what the average person needs for a truck"

Cons: "could use better front end and electrical system"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I have owned this truck since new. I don't intentionally abuse it but it does treck off road for getting to a good dirt bike spot. I don't baby the truck but don't intentionally abuse either. It has been relatively reliable but the front end seems undersize. I have put two sets of brake calipers on the front, ball joints, and recently front wheel bearings. I have also had a few electrical problems. The heater fan connectors get really hot and melt the conector. I also have a speedometer that doesn't work and because it is all one unit it is costly to replace. The steering makes a crucnhing noise but I have been told that it is due to a large tolerance between the slip shafts. The milage isn't that bad for a vehicle this size. It Overall it averages around 17 mpg. THe truck isn't bad but I would prefer a stronger front end and brakes. The driveline is good and I think the performance of the engine and transmission is well matched to the weight o fthe truck."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Awesome Truck

By on Friday, October 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 240,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth ride very reliable"

Cons: "Oil pressure plug is hard to replace"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my truck 8 years ago. At that time it had 15 miles on it. Now it has approx. 240,000 miles. I had some minor issues with it that I fixed myself. Which says a lot due to the fact that I am not a mechanic at all. It has a smooth ride, gets great gas mileage for a 5.3 v8. I'm a bigger guy and it has plenty of room for me. I will admit that I changed the oil and greased the joints every 3k to 5k miles. It has been reliable and a great truck for pulling my boat. Even with the miles that it has it is still a very good truck to own."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Truck Ever Owned

By on Friday, August 2, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependability"

Cons: "no control s on steering wheel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable and dependable truck. All around good truck. I recommend this truck."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A GREAT, COMFORTABLE, CAPABLE, RELIABLE TRUCK

By on Saturday, July 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 123,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "GREAT CONDITION; NO SURPRISES"

Cons: "NONE OR I WOULDN'T HAVE KEPT IT FOR 13 YEARS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"ONE-OWNER SINCE NEW. ALWAYS EXCEPTIONALLY WELL MAINTAINED BY DEALER. Z71 OFFROAD. 5.3 V-8. GOOD GAS MILEAGE. HAVE HAD NO ISSUES MECHANICALLY OR COSMETICALLY. SUNSET ORANGE PAINT. STEP-SIDE BED WITH TONNEAU COVER. EXCELLENT BEIGE LEATHER INTERIOR. RECENT UPGRADE STEREO (XM, PANDORA, IPHONE, ETC). HAS EVERY AVAILABLE OPTION OFFERED FOR YEAR. NEVER ABUSED; NEVER DRIVEN OFF-ROAD. TOWED A BOAT ONCE. GREAT HIGHWAY CAR. DRIVES LIKE NEW. THERE IS NOTHING NOT TO LIKE ABOUT THIS VEHICLE."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Basic truck, no special options, excellent value.

By on Tuesday, July 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Drove this truck over 150,000 miles with just regular oil and tire changes with never a major repair."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my 4th Chevrolet 1500 truck!!

By on Wednesday, May 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides like a car, dependable, and roomy"

Cons: "Tranny slips a little on my 2001. 125K"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned (4) and would buy one again in a "heartbeat" I have bought (2) new and (2) used, and all have been wonderful:)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1st Truck, & Best Truck in County

By on Saturday, April 6, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This was my sons first vehicle, at 16. He is 18 now, graduating June of last year. He knew what he wanted, did the work and research necessary to find the right deal, drove a distance to get it and paid the seller cash, every penny he was asking bc it was EXACTLY what any young man would want and "Chevy" runs deep in our family. It was no doubt, the sweetest truck at school and still is in the county. Looks,confidence, security, practicality and convenience made this 4x4, lifted chevy perfect for him and the next proud owner. Regular maintainence performed. Upgrades added. Towing package, touch screen stero, back up sytem, Only wish for change would be : Better Gas Mileage!! BUT lOVES THE TRUCK..& most others do as well."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My dad bought this truck brand new in 2002

By on Thursday, March 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great engine,Reliable,gets the job done everytime"

Cons: "Shocks are a little weak from weight over years"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My dad bought this truck as a work truck for his business in 2002 Its got the 4.3L and is extended cab, He just upgraded to and 05 Silverado with the 5.3 and sold me this one, It has exactly 200k on it and runs like its brand new, hes had to replace the fuel pump once and the starter once, other then that it has been problem free and im confident I can get another 100k out of it easy, I absolutely love the truck and have no complains with it!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best truck ever!

By on Saturday, March 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 287,754

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Silverado in 01 with 22, 000 miles, and have never regreted it once. My truck currently has 287, 754 miles on it and runs as good as the day it purchased it. Chevy did an outstanding job with the 5.3 Vortec engine, it gives plenty of power with decent gas mileage for its size. I have ran synthetic oil in it since day one and I did change the tranny at 92, 000 and the fuel pump at 130, 000 , but all in all the BEST TRUCK EVER!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 303 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Extended Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.