Go

1994 Chevrolet Impala

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 529 Ratings for the 1994 - 1996 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next

saved my life

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I had a 2003 impala prior to having my 2005 and it saved my daughters and my life when a man ran a red light and t-boned my car and flippled us over. because of all safety precausions that are made with this car, we were able to walk away with only a few scratches from broken glass. love this car so much that i replaced it with the 2005 a few days later."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Awesome 1st car!!

By on Tuesday, June 8, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Ive wanted this car for about 10 years. So when the opportunity arose I pounced on it. I bought it in AUG 2009 and have no intention of selling it. As you know the MPG is terrible but you knew that. I love the acceleration and the looks it gets after its washed and waxed. The flowmaster Super 44 series exhaust helps alot too.but I love this car and I have absolutely no regrets . ALWAYS DRIVE A CHEVY..NEVER DRIVE A FORD !!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, September 6, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good car

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"72,000 miles now. Only problem was a wheel bearing at 70,000 and had to have the CD player repaired (dealer wanted to replace, an audio shop repaired it for a lot less). Have replaced battery once, front pads once. For a sedan it feels sporty and strong."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great all around vehicle

By on Tuesday, June 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This vehicle is roomy, quiet, nice looking, reliable, and gets decent mileage (25-26 MPG in average driving, 29-30 MPG if I am trying to save gas)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Car so far!

By on Wednesday, April 2, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I recently bought a 2004 loaded up model and really love it. We have only had the car for a couple of months and found that the 3.8 L was low two courts of oil. We bought the extended GM certified warranty and are running an oil usage test on it to see what the problem may be. I'm hoping that it was simply the dealers error when they changed the oil on it because using that much oil in a couple of months is unheard of. Aside from that, this car is wonderful. I'm very jealous of my wife because she gets to drive it daily. I would rate the car an excellent buy providing that you get the 3.8 L and loaded package. I've had four cars now with the 3.8 L in it and now will not accept anything less. These motors are almost bullet proof, but do have a few little quirks to them where GM cut corners. The car rides really nice, yet doesn't handle as well as I had hoped. Of course this is comparing it to two Grand Prix's that we previously owned. The steering seems sluggish and the car slides a bit on snow and ice (with new all season tires) compared to the Grand Prix's. I love the head and leg room, while the heated leather seats are amazing in the wintertime. Overall, and thus far, I would recommend this car to anyone but would caution them on its sluggish handling. Ride, comfort, style, and acceleration is top notch. This is an honest and accurate opinion from a professional truck driver of thirteen years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Friday, March 28, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought new in 2000. Now it's 2008 and 182,000 miles later and still running great. Manufacturer recommended service is a must on this car. Some typical repairs, some not so typical such as replacing motor on power windows. No tranny problems. Front end is susceptible to wear faster than I think should be. All in all, nice car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid Value with Performance

By on Sunday, November 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've now put nearly 55,000 miles on my LS since taking delivery in October 2004. It's the best car I've owned in over 40 years of driving. Great performance, great ride, low cost of ownership and something for anyone thinking 'hybrid'....I get 35-36 MPG freeway driving when I keep the cruise control between 55 and 60 mph. My around town gas economy is better tha 25 MPG. This is likely to be the last car I'll ever need to buy"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A great car

By on Saturday, October 20, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought this car back in 2002 in Elkhart, Indiana with 72,000mi on it. One month before my warranty expired the transmission die on me. Thank God I still had the warranty. Got the new transmission and haven't had any problems since then. It makes over 25mpg on highway and over 18mpg in the city. This is an excellent car for a single person or for an entire family of 3, 4 or 5 people. I would recomend this car to my worst enemy."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Fast, fun, economical, practical, comfortable

By on Monday, June 27, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price is right, it is fun to drive and comfortable"

Cons: "No cup holders. Use ash tray"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new and will own it until my next life. I currently have 58,000 miles on it. Due to our cold, snowy winters I only drive it from spring to fall. Wherever I go people still admire the car and ask if it is for sale."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Dream car!!!

By on Tuesday, November 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, fast, and good on gas for a sports car"

Cons: "Can't drive in winter"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car! I want to own all colors one day. The last true impala SS."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my 4door hot rod

By on Sunday, August 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive,Chevy reliable"

Cons: "No cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Were ever you drive you will get looks and thumbs up from a lot of guys."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

GREAT CAR

By on Saturday, October 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"GREAT CAR STILL RIDES GOOD ONLY MINOR SERVICE PROBLEMS.PEOPLE ALWAYS COME UP TO ME AND SAY THAT CAR LOOKS GREAT.THEY CANT BELIEVE IT IS A 1996 WITH 41000 MI. I HAVE OWNED IT SINCE NEW AND WILL NEVER PART WITH IT"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Solid

By on Thursday, September 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"My Impala has 117.000 miles with only $235 total in repairs. At 65 mph, I can still get +30 mpg. One solid and under rated fine car"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not Bad

By on Wednesday, September 3, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"It has been a good car,good gas mileage for a big car,better than some of the foriegn 4 cyl."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased this car used and I would buy another"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Not too sure now

By on Sunday, June 22, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought my '03 Impala in April 2007 for 8K, absolutely love everything about it, EXCEPT, I just recently started having problems with the passlock system. Darn thing won't start at times. I'm a nervous wreck when it comes to getting in the car, wondering if it's going to start...that's why I rated a 2 for reliability. Googled it and now I get in, put seatbelt on, turn key to on, wait for all the lights on the dash to turn off, then start it, hasn't failed yet, but keeping my fingers crossed because I absolutely LOVE everything about it, especially the look/style of the car...all except the darn passlock system. Bad thing is, that all I read said they've replaced it and sometimes it will continue to do the same thing."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The Impala is a great car for all purposes, I have had mine for two years and have had only one minor problem with it. Other than that little problem this is the best car i've ever owned! It can be sporty for the younger generation, and it can be a classy vehicle for an older generation. All in all it is just a great dependable car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Good Ride and Value

By on Wednesday, February 20, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Sound car that has comfort and value. Still gets 22 MPG city and 29 to 31 MPG highway (depending on speed and weather conditions). You get the best MPG on the highway just under 70 MPH (or less then 2000 RPM). Some minor electrical concerns with gas gage, driver's air bag senor dash warning light, and interior temperature control lights as the car has gotten older. But everything considered the 2000 Impala is a reliable car that has style, power, and comfort for the price."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, January 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Sunday, January 13, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We bought this car new in 2001. Have put tons of miles on it, driven it all over the country, with absolutely no problems, other than a sometimes annoying rattle under the dash of the driver's side. My sister bought one just before me, I loved it and bought one pretty much like it. Still amazing mileage at this many miles, we clocked it at 30 mpg on long trip."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great car

By on Wednesday, January 2, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had this car 3 years. It's an 01 and has 177000 miles with only minor repair and maint. Plan to drive another 100000+."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, December 20, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought this car new 5 and a half years ago. To date, no major problems. The car has 85,000 miles and so far only changed the tires, battery and brakes once. Actually, the the original tires were on the car until 80,000 miles. Even the tire shop was supprized."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Nothing But problems

By on Friday, December 7, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"Bought the car new.At 3,000 miles AC Compressor went,broke belt,had to be towed.At 57000 miles,intake manifold went,steering box had to be fixed.1899.00 total.This was our third new chevy,all had problems.95 Van,engine went at 45,000 never told what happened.Bought 2001 Malibu,85000 miles head gasket went,had to replace engine.I`d like to buy American,but I can`t afford to anymore."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

needs recalled had to trade it off for a ford

By on Thursday, November 22, 2007

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought my 2004 impala new 1/2005 its had to have a new transmission 2 steering racks a pinion 2 front hubs both outer tie rods the cat converter gaskets the total today for repairs is $7300 all paid for by my extended warranty except the gaskets and a few things totaling $249 out of my pocket G.M. will not except this car is a lemon and said there's nothing they can or will do and closed the case i never liked ford or owned one until today i just traded off my impala for a ford make sure if your buying an impala you buy the extened warranty it saved me and i've talked w/enought people in the dealer with their impalas that also have bad front end problems"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 22 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Impala near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.