To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2008 Chevrolet Cobalt

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.8
Out of 10

Based on 1342 Ratings for the 2005 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 269 | Next

Great car...For a little while

By on Thursday, March 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,150

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good price, good ride"

Cons: "Maybe too fragile for is own good, short lifespan"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I got mine used in '06 with 18000 miles on it and it was a great car. No complaints. Then 2 years ago, at about 65000 the trouble started (not out of the ordinary stuff for 65000 mile GM car). Like a domino effect all sorts of problems started and continued faster than I could keep up with. Simple stuff like brakes, rotors, struts, shocks, motor mounts, compressor, CV joints, some unexplained rattling in the front that no one seems able to find the source of, and now, having just broke 100,000 miles the transmission is going. Expected a much longer lifespan, but I've grown tired of dumping so much money into it every couple weeks. I've kept up with maintenance and repairs through the years, and I didn't beat it up too much, but over the last year I probably put about $2500+ into repairs and every month or so a new problem arrises. I was once madly in love with this car, but now I'm looking forward to getting her out of my life."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Horrible durability.

By on Thursday, April 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Cheap car"

Cons: "not reliable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Bought this car as a certified used car. No where near my expectations from a Chevy vehicle. Went in multiple time for many things. Engine is good but everything else interior and comfort is horrible. Replaced front speaker, fan blower motor was replaced and after 10K miles is squealing, center shift column, drivers door panel, passenger interior door handle, ambient temperature does not register properly, water leaked inside fan air box, resulting in mold smell, rear shocks went bad and were replaced, front strut mounts replaced, seat belt buckles replaced, cam shaft solenoids, all covered under the certified warranty. What if I things went bad and there was no warranty? Only thing that wasn't replaced under warranty was the recall for the power steering motor. All i can say is buyer beware for putting 30K on a car in 2 years without a warranty I would have been BROKE!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Nothing but problems

By on Wednesday, October 10, 2007

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"My girlfriend and I recently purchased a 2006 Cobalt in November of 2006 and it has had two major problems since. Shortly after purchasing it, the door broke due to a manufacturer defect and if it was not under warranty the repairs would have cost us somewhere in the neighborhood of $1000. They actually had to destroy the paneling in order to repair the door. More recently, the power steering has gone out. For some reason they decided to go to Electric Power Steering thus forcing us to have to go to the dealer for repairs for what is once again a manufacturer defect. Now the car is no longer under warranty and the repairs are going to cost roughly $2000. That is $3000 worth of repairs needed on a car that we thought we were getting a deal on. I would have happily paid the extra money for an upgraded import at this point. Please be careful before buying this car and I highly recommend an extended warranty if you do decide to go forward with a purchase."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

POOR VEHICLE

By on Saturday, April 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "GREAT PRICE, GREAT GAS MILEAGE"

Cons: "RECALLS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"THIS PRODUCT HAS HAD ALOT OF RECALLS AND MY COBALT UNFORTUNATELY HAD POWER STEERING FAILURE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED SEVERAL TIMES. THERE ARE PROBLEMS WITH THE IGNITION SWITCH AND LOCK CYLINDERS.THE ENGINE WORKS WELL AND THE DESIGN IS COMPACT AND EASILY ACCESSIBLE. IT ALSO GETS GREAT GAS MILEAGE. HOWEVER, IT WAS A HEADACHE TO CONSTANTLY HAVE TO DEAL WITH THE DEALERSHIP CONSTANTLY WITH MULTIPLE RECALLS AND DEFECTS IN THE PRODUCT I PURCHASED."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

BEST CAR EVER

By on Friday, September 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price, steering, gas mileage, cute, fun to drive"

Cons: "cloth seats are hard to keep clean"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned a blue 2005 chevy cobalt ls sedan for 5 years and have had only 2 problems with it. It has been a very reliable car and though it's small it's roomier than you think. The best thing about the car might be the tight steering. This car can make such sharp turns it's amazing! The gas mileage is also great. Plus the car is very cute love it, wish they still made it"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 269 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Cobalt near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.