To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1998 Chevrolet Cavalier

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 1707 Ratings for the 1995 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    7.9/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 342 | Next

256,000 miles and she is just now starting to go!

By on Monday, March 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 256,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable car"

Cons: "Not a looker"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I drove my 2002 Chevy Cavalier off the dealer’s lot with just three miles on it. Eleven years later, she is just now starting to show signs of wear and tear, although the exterior has been sporting rust for the last five. If I could, I would drop the money for repairs to keep this car going because it has been a champ, but the $1000+ fixes are probably better spent on a down payment for a new ride. That said, this car needs major work (for the first time ever), and yet it still hasn’t left me stranded when I am out and about. I will be sorry to see it go."

29 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Good commute car for an average person on the go.

By on Saturday, October 22, 2016

I owned and sold this car
Reason: It was hit.

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "A breeze to park. Good on gas. Easy to work on."

Cons: "Not smoker/drinker friendly."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The front end of the car kept an alignment better than most. It didn't squeeze you up like other small cars. It was good on gas. Parts were a DIY dream on how easy it was to work on the car. Lots of room under the hood. The trunk was big for a small car. Even more if you drop the back seats for cargo things. It needed a better gear ratio in the trans for on the fly acceleration. It needed a smaller turning ratio for U-turns. It slides all over the road in bad wet weather braking. The front lights could be brighter and so could the interior light. The ashtray and the cupholder and the air vent locations needed to be re-thought. In fact, let a smoker and a drinker get together for a redesign of the middle consul. The sound system and heat/air are excellent."

22 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Runs like a champ

By on Saturday, April 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,888

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great first, safe car."

Cons: "Paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has to many new parts to list. There is nothing wrong with this car besides the cheap, peeling GM paint that is fading. A couple dins here but the car starts and runs like a champ."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

EXCELLENT CAR

By on Sunday, September 1, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 127,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fast, reliable, economic on gas. Good engine."

Cons: "cheap materials on the interior's finishes."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Aside of the regular maintenance, this car needs nothing. It is Fast and cheap on gas. It can makes 23 MPG in the city and 32 MPG on the highway. The only regrettable thing about this car is the low quality of the dashboard's plastics and the upholstery. Other than that is one of the best cars I ever have."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

#1 underdog.

By on Monday, March 13, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,364

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Cheap to purchase, very reliable, great value."

Cons: "Dash plastics cracking even with garage kept car."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new after being on the dealership for 11 mos, there were 2 identical 4 dr Sedan base artic green with manual transmission and 2.2 OHV, I originally bought it for my daughter but she never took possession of it, so I kept it. Its been one reliable little car, I havent even replaced the clutch, it burns little gas (I frequently get 29 to 32 mpg) doesnt burn any oil, and takes very little maintenance to run, as a reward I have installed higher performing parts like Pace Setter headers, complete 2.5 dia. exhaust system, low restriction catalytic and muffler with 3 tip (looks totally stock), K&N filter, E3 spark plugs, Eibach anti-sway bars, synthetic oil in engine and transmission, strut towers brace, short throw shifter, drilled and slotted disc brake rotors, the car runs like a scalded dog faster than many similar cars around and Im planning to drive it until it breaks beyond my abilities to repair it or when its time to buy something newer that really catches my eye and not too expensive. Excellent Air conditioner/Heater. Dashboard plastics are cracking even that the car is kept in garage. I hate the speed limiter to 107 mph."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 342 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet Cavalier near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.