To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.

2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV Consumer Reviews

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

 

Transaction Data

Info based on
348 transactions
in the last
90 days
within the U.S.
Transaction Data

This meter represents a sample range of recent transaction prices for vehicles of the same year, make and model as the vehicle specified, but sometimes with a different style and/or equipment. Analyzed transaction prices exclude taxes, DMV fees, documentation fees, other dealership charges and any available rebates or incentives.

Advertisement
Advertisement

KBB Expert Rating 9.6 of 10

10/9.6

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment
Advertisement
Advertisement

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.8
Out of 10

Based on 6 Ratings for the 2017 - 2018 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    10.0/10
  • Reliability
    10.0/10
    Performance
    9.8/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10

Best car Ive ever owned

By on Wednesday, February 21, 2018

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great range, very quiet, very well built."

Cons: "No homelink."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car. I miss the homelink (garage door opener) but thats my only complaint. Ive been able to make some longer trips and been able to find Level 2 and DC Fast charging stations. There are several charging network apps for a smartphone. I was in Charleston SC last week (200 miles), went to a DC fast charger and it was being used by another Bolt EV, the only other one Ive seen on the road. Not having navigation is no problem with an Iphone and car play, just use the Apple app and plug it into the USB port and you have your map and guidance."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

The Next Step in EV Evolution

By on Sunday, December 3, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,750

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Super... High Performance, Low Maintenance, Green"

Cons: "Lack of Public Charging Stations and EV Awareness"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have been driving vehicles for over 30 years now and the Chevrolet Bolt is the best one that I have ever owned. The Bolt handles very well on the road, highway or local. It is highly maneuverable... I am able to drive and park in congested city areas with virtually no trouble at all. The car is quick, plenty of power when needed. I have had no problems with any weather conditions encountered so far, since I have been driving it so far from April, 2017 Through November, 2017. This is the only vehicle that I have driven where I was truly aware of exceeding the EPA mileage estimates. The best mileage I have gotten so far on one charge was approximately 335 miles, with plenty to spare... No range anxiety!!! The hatch and fold-down seats increase the utility of the vehicle... you forget that it is a subcompact when your inside the vehicle. One Pedal driving option to start and stop the vehicle is great. The My Chevrolet OnStar App puts a lot of information at your fingertips as well as more control/convenience over your vehicle. In my opinion, due to the lack of charging stations, the best scenario, at this time, would be to own your own charging station if you are going to charge once a week or less often. If you are going to drive fewer than 45 miles per day round trip, you probably could get away with plugging the vehicle into a regular household outlet every day and fully recharging it before driving it again the next day. The Best of all is you get a great car that is green and clean. Monthly diagnostic vehicle reports let you know about the status of your vehicle, how efficiently you have driven it, how much you have saved and how much CO2 you avoided putting into the atmosphere. The Bolt is pricier than other subcompacts, but you are getting a highly-awarded, well-engineered and environmentally-friendly vehicle in return for the premium paid. A few more standard safety features and amenities would have been great, such as making the features in the Driver Comfort and Convenience package standard. However, my Bolt is a brand-new, first-year model, so this was expected. I am sure there will be more standard safety features and amenities in the future as well improvements made to the interior plastics. It seems that electric vehicle knowledge and understanding has been increasing along with the availability of public charging stations, which in part have made it easier for me to lease this as my only vehicle. It is important to note, the Bolt is a next generation EV; it is a big step in the right direction... for me. If the current trend continues, the EV will eventually surpass the ICE vehicle in terms of Total Cost of Ownership... which means my next vehicle will not be one that runs on gasoline."

21 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Love This Car

By on Sunday, December 31, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Solid construction, no weight compromises"

Cons: "Turn by turn navigation only, no maps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a fabulous car. I have driven hybrid imports for 10 years and have been waiting for my first all electric. Could not be more pleased with the Bolt. Great handling, fun to drive, reasonably priced and all electric. I do not worry about range at all despite averaging 80 miles/day. 240V charging station at home provides piece of mind. Energy charges about 1/3 the cost of fueling my hybrids for the same commute. Charge twice a week overnight."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Fantastic Car

By on Tuesday, February 13, 2018

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,020

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great electronics"

Cons: "no garage opener, Android Auto quirky"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was a previous Volt owner and traded it in on the Bolt. I have been extremely satisfied. A 240-volt charger is a MUST for this car. It has proven to be reliable and fun to drive! Only things I miss are that there is no homelink for a garage door opener. Additionally, the Android Auto is quirky and sometimes stops working. Wish there were more charging stations in the midwest!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, September 16, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "great car"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great car highly recommend it 120mpg saving 1000 in gas doit"

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10
Advertisement
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.