To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2005 BMW X5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 404 Ratings for the 2000 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 81 | Next

Excellent SUV....

By on Monday, May 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Overall this has been an excellent vehicle. I purchased an extended warranty, and it was worth every penny. These are great cars if you can afford the upkeep as well as the price of gasoline. I can definitely say that although its now well over $80.00 a tank of gas, I'm still a fan and will continue to drive this vehicle."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

High Quality

By on Saturday, September 8, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Very solid after 56K miles; no shakes, rattles or squeaks. Fit and finish are excellent. Feels a little underpowered with 6 cyl engine."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awesome Luxury

By on Tuesday, January 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, sporty, luxury, versatility"

Cons: "Only con is expensive to repair and maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

At the beach

"This car is another great example of German engineering. It is excellent in all weather conditions but is still sporty and a blast to drive on curves. The features and luxury are awesome! I love this car and look forward to another 100K miles (currently at 150K). It is expensive to repair and maintain but is worth it (note: The 4.6iS model is prone to transmission issues - which mine had, but repaired now)"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

At the beach

"Very Safe and Strong Car!"

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Safe, strong engine and body, and reliable."

Cons: "Pricey, loses it's value after 5 years."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned the X5is BMW and loved it!It seems like the body is made of steel because all the doors are heavy. Very strongly built and I feel safe to drive in it! Doesn't need any repairs within the 5yrs or extended warranty, but very pricey to fix if warranties expires. Some repairs have "break my wallet"= BMW. Overall, one of the best and safest car I've driven."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good (if you can afford it)

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Beautiful interior/exterior. Drives awesome."

Cons: "12 to 15 mpg - city and hw! Very expensive to fix"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"I bought my X5 2001 used, it now has almost 150K miles, and the mechanic repair bills topped $3000 this year alone. The power windows (2 of them) went out also, each costing 400 to repair. On top of that 14mpg city and 15mpg highway. I really like this beemer, but it is just too much to maintain."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 81 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW X5 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.