To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2011 BMW X5 M

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 201 Ratings for the 2007 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next

Stylish ride, not ideal for 4+ families

By on Monday, May 31, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"I originally leased a '06 BMW X5 which I loved. So I purchased an 07 X5 when new body came out without hesitation. For some reason, this one gave me many problems after 1200 miles including navigation error, check engine light, coolant leakage, etc. Everything was covered under warranty so luckily I didn't have to pay a penny but it was in the shop for too many times for too long. It's surprising because my previous X5 had no problems. Overall, I'm happy with the car's look, drive and functionality but it isn't ideal for families of 4 or more. Very little room and I always felt cramped in this car. It may be a good choice for people without big families because it does drive nice like typical BMWs."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

great car for people who are swtiching from sedan

By on Thursday, January 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Drives like a sports car, very good handling and responce. Lots of power (4.8 model) I was only in the shop once due to faulty wireing harness and was given exact car as a loaner for 1 week while the issue was fixed. I would recommend it. I would also recommnend investing ~4000$ in 100K extanded warranty to make sure you can enjoy this car after 50K warranty expires."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

An amazing drivers car.

By on Tuesday, January 17, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best driving SUV/SAV ever"

Cons: "Not cheap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"After almost 5 years, still brings that "I love this car" experience. It is NOT a truck and shudder when it is referred to as such, but rather a very capable long distance, high speed cruiser. Even with the 5.0i I get well over 20 MPH on the highway even when traveling 75+. If you appreciate the driving experience they are perfect. If you don't care, get a MB or Lexus."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Leased 2 BMW X-5's

By on Wednesday, April 14, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"My 2008 4.8is is considerably nicer than my previous 2003 4.6i X-5. CONS: Break pads/sensors wear out (now on 3rd set). Poor gas mileage (12.5/13.0). Expensive 20" run-flats ($2,500 to replace at 15K miles), run-flats are unstable & rigid after normal wear, BMW Assist is poorly responsive, 3rd-row seats are impractical, tailgate lift issues (now corrected). PROS: Arguably most venerably attractive SUV, great resale value, what all luxury SUV's are compared to, amazing handling & performance, quiet interior, high quality fit & finish, improved I-Drive control, amazing sound system. BMW's lease maintenance program is excellent. Fields BMW Winter Park is excellent dealer (sales & service)."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

good but not the best

By on Tuesday, March 18, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"This car handles great on the highway. It feels solid and like you are glued to the road. The biggest issue we have is with the navigation system. By the time you get the system to accept your input you are already at your destination. The backup camera takes a full 15 seconds to show an image. I get to see the road fade away as I drive forward. Voice recognition is horrible. My wife says" close navigation" It responds" loading CD. if we totally ignore this system the car is fine but for $54000 you expect a little more!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best SUV on the road or track

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "have to get different tires for winter driving"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would recommend this car to anyone that wants the usefulness of a SUV with the performance of a super car"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great for anyone, any age

By on Thursday, February 2, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Expensive, but worth every cent"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Reliable, stylish, luxurious, rugged, comfortable, technologically-advanced... the list goes on. Diesel offers great power; however, at times, the power wanted isn't there at the second it's needed, but within a half-second more, the diesel power"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great ride, too bad for the idrive

By on Wednesday, December 9, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I owned this car for 2 years, and finally couldn't take all the problems with the iDrive anymore. About every 6 weeks, I took this back to the dealership. Great ride, very comfortable, (get the upgraded seats). I think the iDrive would have been ok, if I did not have the rear camera option. The camera seemed to always cause the iDrive to freeze. I sold this car after 2 years, and bought the new 5 series sedan. I have owned several BMW's, the best one I had was the old X5, without the iDrive, I wish I still ad that car...."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2009 x5 3.oi

By on Thursday, October 1, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
5/10

"I have owned this vehicle since Nov, 2008 and it's a great suv handles like a car which people have mentioned earlier but the fuel economy on the 3.0i is brutal in city driving with an epa of only 13.5 for me but it's odd because I don't race the vehicle that much at all I don't brake hard, I just drive normally. The seats are not too comfortable but hey this is a sporty suv meaning the seats will be uncomfortable. If you want comfort get the active ventilated seat package which is pricy but it's worth it and I would suggest everyone to go for the x5 3.5d Diesel version because the fuel economy is great and it has the power of a v8. Back to reviewing my vehicle, as for the performance wise the v6 in normal mode has slow acceleration so for the extra action and better power you need to keep it in sportmode which I recommend when you go on the highway."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Would buy this truck again.

By on Saturday, October 8, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Great engine and handling for a large SUV."

Cons: "Premium fuel, faux wood on dash."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased new in 2009 have not had any issues at all with this truck, other than routine maintenance (oil, filter, brake pads, etc...) cost has been minimal to maintain it. The V8 is stout and the handling for this sized truck is superb. Run flat tires got me home safely one night when I was over 30 miles away. Premium fuel unfortunately is a must for this beast. Interior's a little bland and the radio is annoying to use. Exterior is a big plus for me really like the halo headlights."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Wednesday, August 7, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "engine, comfort, style"

Cons: "navigation system is cumbersome at times"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We opted for the diesel engine and couldn't be happier. The torque and power are superb, the ride comfort is great, and we're very happy with the features that were included in the premium package."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, May 7, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, reliable, great fuel economy"

Cons: "Big vehicle, takes time to learn to drive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Performance outstanding. Made in SC. Never in shop. Quality control is exceptional for BMW."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great SKI Transport

By on Sunday, March 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Stable comfortable secure feeling to drive."

Cons: "Low Speed steering effort."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great truck handles well comfortable to drive and extreamly reliable. Only issue was replacing the tail gate lift motor in 4 years. Only complaint low speed steering effort could be improved."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

A bit too jumpy

By on Saturday, February 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Hey, it's a BMW - generally great."

Cons: "Twitchy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car 3 years. It looks great, reliable, and I generally like it. But it's always been a bit too jumpy, or twitchy. Brakes too tight"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

3rd x5 love it

By on Friday, January 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When I get 50K miles on it....I'll get another"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very Nice Ride

By on Tuesday, November 30, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This is my second X5. This one is a 2009 model and comes with premium package, sports package, navigation and much more. I really like the voice activation, hands free phone system. If you can handel the cost, I say go for it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

BMW SUV

By on Tuesday, September 7, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great handling and styling. No mechanical problems in two years except the parking/running lights went out. Trading this vehicle in for a new X5."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

geat all purpose ride

By on Thursday, September 10, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"bullet proof mechanically but the elcetronics can be a problem"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best Vehcile Ever

By on Thursday, May 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My X5 is absolutely awesome. I love everyting about it. It is peppy an comfortable and I feel very safe in it. Thisone is the 2nd one I have owned and don't think I will ever go back to a "car" or anything other than a BMW. My next one may be a diesel tho. Service is great - I haven't ever had to do anything but the scheduled maintenance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Schitzaphrenic Transmisson

By on Saturday, March 1, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Mine is a 2008, X5 4.8si Run flat tires are a pain in the tail. Transmission is inconsistent at shift points and does not like hilly terrain. I can't spell schitzaphrenic but that is a good term for the trans."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love my BMW X 5

By on Tuesday, May 30, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides Great and has Power."

Cons: "Expensive repair costs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I have had my BMW X5 now for 3 years and I Love it. The only draw back would be that repairs are expensive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great suv

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good gas mileage, fun to drive, good cup holders"

Cons: "slightly louder than your normal BMW."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"great gas mileage. comfortable seat. i drive a lot, so i need a comfortable seat. of all the cars in this group, i think it's the most comfortable. has nice acceleration at high speeds."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

love BMW X5

By on Monday, January 16, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fun, sporty, excellent ride, all around awesome machine"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Nice Car!!!

By on Thursday, December 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive great gas mileage with the X5D"

Cons: "Pricey!!!! A little small but liveable..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Do not have a lot of miles on this vehicle yet but I do love it!!! Handles nicely and is very comfortable. Waiting to see how it handles in the snow??"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

More than I could have ever hope for !

By on Wednesday, December 7, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great fuel economy for an 8 cyl on the highway."

Cons: "I wish I could have gotten remote start"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have the SAV vehicle. this truck handles better than my much higher priced sport cars. Very well built reliable truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 9 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW X5 M near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.