Go

2010 BMW M3

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 73 Ratings for the 2008 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Best at speed

By on Saturday, October 10, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned this '08 M3 Convertible for 1 year and 10K miles. It has the 6 speed manual transmission and virtually every option. The build quality is excellent, although the paint is more susceptible to road rash than any car I've owned. The engine revs freely and sounds great, but doesn't develop much torque at lower rpm and thus doesn't have the grunt of even a base Corvette. In convertible trim this is a relatively heavy car as well, but feels very solid, especially with the roof up. Cowl shake is minimal with the top down. The quality of materials used in the interior is impressive. Mine has the optional wood trim and looks great. The seats are well bolstered and comfortable. One issue for tall drivers is the adjustment limit of the steering wheel if the drivers seat is all the way back on its tracks, which I need to do to accommodate my legs. Unfortunately gas mileage (14-18mpg) is poor for such small (4 liter) displacement, the effect of which is compounded by the small fuel tank. These cars also consume oil, which is an unusual 60W Castrol synthetic blend that is expensive and usually found only at the dealership. The car is a pleasure to drive fast on an open road, where the horsepower and high rev limit can best be utilized. BMW offered a free one day M school which was great fun and an opportunity to safely explore the cars (M3, 5 and 6) capability. Free service is a definite plus and helps with resale value. Overall I feel this car has met my expectations."

20 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Fun Car But Not Perfect

By on Sunday, November 14, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"The V8 sounds exotic and 4-door practicality with a trunk makes life easier. The 6-speed manual shifter is a little notchy in 1st and 2nd gears, but otherwise precise and linear. The suspension is firm when cornering yet soft enough to absorb general speed bumps. These cars really need a spare tire for emergencies on long journeys. The 19" wheels work well enough on most Los Angeles roads, but can get jarring on some of the older roads. The cloth and leather seats can adjust to almost any which way. I like the cloth as you don't slide around like on the leather version. Happy with the purchase and definitely a completely different driver than the 328i, but I'm typically "L.A. Pickey" and wish the shifter was smoother with shorter shifts, a spare was included, and sunroof/ moonroof should be standard equipment, as well as an alarm. I had issues with the Tire Pressure Monitor during the first few weeks - not Toyota or Honda quality."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Not my dream car

By on Thursday, October 7, 2010

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
3/10

"bought 08 first batch M3 E93. work great til 1200miles (first service) start leaking water thru windows/A pillar Dealer fixed 3 times. not resolved. Idle control valved failed at less than 10,000 miles navigation unit shut off randomly. replaced monitor + computer. still not fixed."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have ever owned

By on Sunday, November 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Looks, power, handling"

Cons: "Expensive but worth it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is everything that BMW advertises. The combination of power and handling is phenomenal. This is a warm weather car. It is a little slippery when it gets under 40 degrees. This will probably be the last V8 M3 - drive one if you get a chance."

11 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Worth the wait

By on Wednesday, September 23, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Let's just say "wow". If you really want power than this is your car. I have been in many nice rides and this car blows away just about anything out there. The car is refined, classy, but mischevious. If you pull up in a porsche or a ferrari, the guy next to you obviously thinks you have an ego problem of some type. Although, this is probably true, the M3 says something different - you like being unique but like even more that you can have a fun drive or a "fun" drive without drawing so much attention to oneself. Any time I have driven over 120mph in a car I began feeling uncomfortable but the M3 is saying "can i get out of 4th gear or what?" The car handles well in all arenas, feels solid, stereo sounds great and the ability to have a few thousand songs stored into a hard drive is ingenious, the cell phone conversations are clear, navigation is simple to use, leather feels incredible, back-up monitor is phenomenal, split-rear seats fold down for significant amount of room, double-clutch is insane....i could really go on forever. The only things that are unfortunate is the gas tank is too small but filling up at the station and being able to look at such a fine machine is fine by me. The price may seem high to some people and I never really thought I would spend this much on a car but I got almost every option but heated seats (I live in Arizona) and got full maintenance, Lo-jack, etc so it ran over 80k - but to me a car is a thing to get from point A to point B -- I just get there faster and in style..."

16 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW M3 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.