Go

1994 BMW 8 Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 34 Ratings for the 1992 - 1997 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next

A Rare Asset...

By on Wednesday, June 24, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned this 840CI for a little over a year. I am constantly being ask to sell it, told how good it looks, given thumbs up, stopped to be asked questions about it such as the year, if it's an 850, or a 12 (It is shaved meaning no model number decals and very customized). I have thought about selling it, but it is hard to imagine not having it anymore! You'll have to own one to understand! As an owner you are part of a small exclusive international group. If you ever get to own one, as other reviews have stated, you will need to find a quailified 8 series tech, have reasonable deep pockets($$), buy at least a very good conditioned "8" if not an excellent one, and always keep up on the vehicle maintence! I have raced various cars and trucks to be given a thumbs up with nod or the usual "Yooo, that's a fast car" when they catch me at the next light. Anyway, it is worth having if you can afford this exotic (Autobahn GT) car..."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Hiiiigh maintenance forever...

By on Wednesday, January 19, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"God, but you have to love the BMW 8 series, in either the V-8 or 12-cyl. versions. That low-slung design looks great after 20 years, with its M-1 nose and pert tail. And as a road tourer, it's still pretty competitive if you're not too fussy. As a local BMW specialist shop-owner says, "Think of it as a Ferarri with a Bimmer badge." And it costs like a Ferarri to maintain, no question. Virtually no part is common with any other BMW. If you need a front bumper, it's over two grand in the box; then you need to put it on the car, which costs hundreds more. Rebuilding the pop-up headlights is another two grand, again just for the parts. Still, our 1997 840 -- in the family from new -- continually turns heads with its exotic looks. Just prepare to turn your pockets inside out in exchange for not paying depreciation on something newer. It's probably a wash, as long as you don't lose a transmission or have serious engine trouble; if so, you're toast. I've spent $2,300 per year on avg for the 7 years since we bought the car from my wife's uncle at wholesale. And it looks like the 8 series has about stopped depreciating...a good late one (and you can find one if you're patient) still costs north of 12 grand, and there you are -- with a Ferarri that'll keep you poor, but will make your heart sing every time you turn the key."

25 people out of 28 found this review helpful

Traffic Stopper

By on Friday, July 13, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"It's BIG, It's Beautful, It's HOT HOT HOT. Yes it's bad on gas, but with a 5.4L 326 HP V12 you are expecting Honda Civic mileage? This car runs & rides like a dream & is so rare (last built in 98") that is stops people no matter where we go.Ultra SHARP!!... It sold for $93.5K- back in 96 & I have been told that BMW may bring it back in 09' @ a cool $250K-. So if you can find one in any model year (only 2,600 ever made), BUY it, you won't be sorry.......... Good Luck"

17 people out of 19 found this review helpful

13 years and still AWESOME in every way

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"A timeless beauty that was built for the ultimate in Freeway cruising, Effortless power, unmatched smoothness and precision engine control. Unexpectedly good mileage too! I have owned it for 13 years and driven it regularly. People chase me down and ask if it is a new BMW model and say its the most beautiful thing they have seen on the road. Virtually trouble free and it even reminds me of when it needs its regular maintenance. There were a few quirks with the headlight adjustment and the electric seats but a huge on-line knowledge base makes what may seem like a big repair become simple replacement of a 5 dollar part. We have a long term relationship that will endure for many years to come. This is true love."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Remarkable auto

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my 96 850 for two years now and have found it to be one of the most satisfying autos I have ever owned. I also own two other GT cars that I love but find the 850 preferable especially on long trips. It may not handle as well as some sports cars but the over all driving experience is excellent. I have found myself looking for another one in case something were to happen to the 96. I would have preferred a 6 speed manual but the automatic on the 850ci version is a good compromise. Wonderful, solid car."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 7 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW 8 Series near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement