To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1994 BMW 7 Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 82 Ratings for the 1992 - 1994 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Most Rewarding Used Car You Can Buy

By on Sunday, January 18, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My 1992 735i is easily the best car I've ever had the pleasure of owning! Performance is exhilarating, the cockpit controls are thoughtfully laid out, the leather seats are the most confortable you will find in almost ANY automobile (believe me, I have sat in almost every car you can imagine) and the ride is equally pleasureable regardless of which area of this BMW Limo-Class you are sitting in. Parked next to a 2000 Mercedes 550SL, do I need to tell you which one catches your eye first? Downsides: * While very reliable, it's still a machine subject to wear and tear... stuff does break after a while. Stick to OEM replacement parts... cheaper after market parts (if they even fit properly) tend not to last very long. * This car is not a Honda, it doesn't sip fuel (I average 11-13mpg city, 21-25mpg highway). If you live within a tight budget, this is not the car for you. * Unless you are mechanically inclined (and meticulous), you will need to find a specialist in your area for servicing, be prepared for higher labor rates. Unless your regular repair shop has someone there with BMW experience, they will be taking a crash-course on learning how to properly diagnose and service this car, on your tab."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Truely the ultimate driving machine

By on Sunday, May 17, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent vehicle in all catagories when maintained like supposed to. My BMW is going on 200K miles and can still enjoy the smooth ride and quick pick up in speed when needed. My 7 series is fifteen years old and have made some repairs like the waterpump, A.C. compressor, and recently the original Battery. This car continues to impress me by the life it has and the satisfaction and security it has offered me. Thank you BMW!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Fastest Sedan Ever

By on Sunday, September 16, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is the fastest, most luxurious car I've ever owned. It has also been the most reliable. Even on the slickest roads, I've never felt unsafe. Repairs have been few and far between. I've maintained this car to best of my ability, using only the finest products."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The ultimate driving machine

By on Friday, May 7, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"It's a beautiful machine...fast, beautiful curves, gorgeous looking, very comfortable excellent handling! Downside? Very expensive to maintain & repair! Buy it only if you have the extra money to play...it's like dating a young gorgeous woman.. you will spend $$ on this one!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1990 735i

By on Friday, October 2, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Awesome car - this is the 3rd 3.5 ltr BMW I have owned, this one has 218K miles, the previous one had 322K miles when I sold it and I saw it a few years later with 440K miles. The car still was running fine. These cars are like the Energizer Bunny - they keep running and running. I have worn struts and suspension elements out - replaced waterpump, alternater. I maintain it regularely as recommended. I spent every 2 years about $2K to keep it running. I have a hard time to replace it with a new car - the body still looks great, it still goes fast and smooth and it keeps going - of course by now the resell value is next to nothing, but I can't see spending $20 - 30K for a replacement for my 20 year old car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, August 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is quite possibly one ofthe best cars I have ever bought used. I have owned it for a year and love it. Sure the maintenance costs are a little steep but boy is it worth it. The comfort is amazing. The acceleration is exhilarating. The styling is a little dated but who cares. The mileage is not bad either, 20 in town and 25 on te highway. What more could you ask for? a $65,000 car for $3900 that is still beautiful and comfortable."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

ONE OF A KIND

By on Sunday, May 18, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 735il. VERY VERY HAPPY. the reliability is 10/10. very smooth riding car. good brakes. only 1 thing i dont like.... uses a lot of gas on city. On highway i get about 20 mpg. city i get about 11mpg. average 14.9ish.. (with the computer in it)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, February 18, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great car but Needs maintenence often"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Luxury abound!

By on Saturday, February 2, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had this car about 3 months, and even though it is 17 years old, I constantly get compliments on it! Also, it is the smoothest driving, most comfortable ride I've ever experienced in a car! I was looking at a 525, but once I slid into the drivers seat of the 735iL, I was SOLD!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

beautiful classic BMW

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great looking and performing car."

Cons: "like all good cars it can be pricey to repair."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"really the last of the true BMWs. The classic look of the E32 has an almost Jaguar look. Mine is dark green with tan leather."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

the sev

By on Tuesday, November 1, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 175,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "POWER"

Cons: "Gas Guzzler"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought 1994 740i e32 used 3 years ago with no records except for 2 new o2 sensors and a new guibo. I Replaced entire cooling system like all used BMWs are in need of. This car is a tank with a hot rod engine. Took me cross country with nothing but an oil change. City gas milage is bad 12-15 but highway is 21-23. Huge amount of v8 power and german design for not much money. Find a good one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Most comfortable on long trip

By on Sunday, November 21, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love the comfortable ride of this car, it was great on long trips across country, very dependable and had lots and lots of power. This car is expensive to repair."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Buyone

By on Sunday, August 15, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent vehicle! Had my 750 iL for 13 years"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

packs a punch!

By on Sunday, November 8, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"One of the best looking and fun older cars I've owned. I installed the Dinan engine and transmission chips and now the car really moves. I frequently get compliments on how good the car looks. I guess a lot of people like the "classic" BMW looks of this flagship sedan."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great car for 20 year old

By on Tuesday, February 3, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned this 1989 735iL since 2000. I did have the engine and trans rebuilt but both are very dependable right now. It doesn't feel like you are driving a 20 year old car. I've been able to do most of the maintenance myself which helps in keeping costs down. Would be very expensive otherwise."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

PERFECT `

By on Thursday, December 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I'M 6' 3" AND IT WORKS WELL FOR ME COMFORT IS EVERYTHING"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

By on Monday, September 22, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Legendary 7er

By on Sunday, August 31, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love my 735i....I dislike trying to get parts for it. Best "ride" I have had, great mileage for a 20 year old car. 18 in town 22-25 hiway!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great, Great Car

By on Tuesday, August 12, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned this car since about 2000 and 50,000 mjiles. I have 142000 miles on it now and it runs great. Normal wear and tear items excepted, of course. :) Coming: new exhaust & tranny. I know I need to replace a lot over the next year, but it looks good, drives great and is cheap to fix most stuff if you DIY. The seats still look new despite little maintenance. A great looking car with great style and you can't get better rear seat legroom."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great quality performance & ride

By on Thursday, June 19, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Astonishing power with smoothness. Quiet and comfortable at all speeds. Former Porsche 911 owner and I compare handling and durability simillarly."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

One of the best deals in a luxury/sports car!

By on Wednesday, May 21, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've always driven Mercedes Benz, and I still do. But a few years ago I saw a car that I had looked at new, on the show room floor. A black 1989 BMW 750iL. It was parked next to the MB 560SEC that I was there to buy. They were around the same price, north of $70, 000. I was tempted buy the BMW, but in the end went with the 560. And now they go for less than $5000!! I paid $4500 for mine, and it is close to the best money I have ever spent on a car. I LOVE the v12, its smooth with its power delivery, and smooth in cruise control at 150mph (not recommended) And its much better on gas than the 560. A beautiful car from every angle Germans make good stuff!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Problem

By on Monday, May 19, 2008

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Being an avid bmw fan, these have to be the most problematic bmws i have ever run into. outside of the newer 7s."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

long term with a 750

By on Thursday, December 13, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I'm just getting ready to part with my '89 750il after 8 years. Most of my time spent with the car has been very rewarding but if you're considering one, there are a few things you should know. 1. about 130K miles ago I burned a valve coming back from LA. The shop charged 26 hours labor to take the heads off! 2. Any part that is unique to the car is horrendously expensive. Windscreen: $1153, rear dampers: $440 each. 3. The car isn't as durable as I'd hoped. Although the engine still runs fine, I've had to replace far more parts than I would have expected in only 270k miles. Now the transmission is failing and I just can't justify spending any more money on it. Be prepared to maintain the car! 4. Become friends with the oil companies. Although the car does pretty well on the highway (I get a reliable 21.4 mpg,) around town I get a consistent 11.9 mpg. That, combined with $90 fillups, has gotten very painful. These are complex, expensive cars but if you're willing to spend the money there's nothing else out there that compares for elegance and performance."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Autobahn Ready!

By on Saturday, March 7, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I just picked up a extremely clean '89 750iL with 136,000 miles on it. It is by far the best car I have ever owned (I have owned over 20 cars) It has tons of power and will smoke any little rice rockets out there but it does it will riding like a couch. Hearing that V12 rev up to 6k RPMS is amazing, Just be careful when buying one, look for computer problems, being a mechanic I tend to look for any little issues and so far I have only found 2: small radiatior seepage (JB WELD!) and brakes are squealing. Overall if you find a good one it is worth it."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best BMW 735il

By on Wednesday, November 7, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my 1989 735il since 1994 when I bought it with 40k miles - it now has 203k. Excellent & never a problem. Easy to maintain yourself - just look online for user group and where to but parts. My annual average maintenance is approx $500/yr or less.."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW 7 Series near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.