To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.

2016 BMW 5 Series Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $54,292 - $59,244.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $64,195

Fair Purchase Price $56,215
Fair Market Range ($54,292 - $59,244)

Invoice $59,640

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser�s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Valid for ZIP code 96801 through 03/02/2017

Advertisement
Advertisement

KBB Expert Rating 8.2 of 10

10/8.2

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment
Advertisement
Advertisement

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 123 Ratings for the 2011 - 2016 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.0/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next

Holding up

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable, good AWD, decent mpg, comfortable"

Cons: "Pricey, comes with runflats, lose them join AAA"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We plan on running this car until it drops, and so far it has shown no sign of stopping. BMWs are pricey and with only one dealership in commuting range their prices aren't very flexible but the car is great. Other than routine maintenance we haven't put a dime into it, nothing has needed replacing or repair, all service is done at a local garage for about half of what the BMW center charges. Even with 103,000 the car still looks and performs like new. Not our first BMW, not our last."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This is my starter BMW...want more!!

By on Thursday, August 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Ultimate driving machine for sure...any model"

Cons: "Steering wheel needs more up/down movement"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most exciting car I've owned. Ran it on two race courses (a real kick...no red lights or anybody coming at you). Now want an 'M' car (six series convertible is likely). Go to SC & take BMW's driving course(s). You'll really (REALLY!) appreciate the vehicle so much more."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Cruiser!

By on Wednesday, June 29, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 48,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great road feel, great utility,"

Cons: "2013 Idrive not android friendly"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is wonderful. You have to spend more than a few miles in it and it will grow on you instantly. Huge backseat and storage, luxury and comfort for the driver and passenger, perfect for a car seat and road trip, or put the back seats down and use it for utility (just get the rubber trunk mat!) I'm reconfiguring the backseat as a mobile office with laptop tray and great for Real Estate showings and just overall chauffeuring that is pleasant for both driver and passengers. It is a little button heavy with technology but you will get used to it really quick (what newer cars are not these days?)Don't let visual reviews fool you. This is beauty in the eye of the beholder, and from the inside looking out, not from the outside looking in."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love my car! 2012 525i Xdrive

By on Thursday, December 31, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, fast, comfortable"

Cons: "little leg room in rear"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I purchased the vehicle as CPO in November. At this time I do not have to worry when it comes to maintenance since it's covered until 1/17/2018. The driving experience is without question the best. The vehicle handles like a dream. The multiple driving options (ECO, Comfort, and Sports) was a pleasant surprise. I normally drive the car in Comfort mode but I'm glad to have the Sports mode, which turns the vehicle into a monster. Thanks to the Xdrive during a recent down pour I had complete confidence. No more worrying about hydroplaning. Other vehicles were pulling over and I was able to muscle right through the storm with ease. The Stop/Start option is nice but can be annoying so for the most part I disengage it. The interior is beautiful and very comfortable."

39 people out of 40 found this review helpful

Great car but plenty of hidden costs to maintain

By on Saturday, December 10, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, awesome looking car, plenty of room"

Cons: "Expensive to maintain. Too many hidden costs."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Enjoy driving this car and looks outstanding. Plenty of room inside and handle tremendously well. Too good to be true? Expect to buy new tires every 12-18 months (4x$450) and brake pads ($2k). The BMW PCO warranty is great for most items but expect to bring in for service every 3 months ($60/visit minimum). Suspension had to be replaced. (covered in PCO). Built-in DVD system went out and not covered under warranty. Battery replaced every 2 years and must be installed by dealer to reset electronics ($550 if buy battery outside of dealer, $750 buy from dealer). Expect to spend at least $2500/year on maintenance outside of warranty or PCO."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 25 | Next
Advertisement
Advertisement
 
Advertisement