Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • New Car Buyer's Guides
  • The 40+ MPG Cars of 2015
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
Go

2008 BMW 3 Series

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 1045 Ratings for the 2006 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Great performance marred by reliability issues.

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Performance"

Cons: "Reliability and cost to own"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"My BMW 335i has a great engine and, with the sport package, excellent handling although the ride is quite firm but I like it like that. I bought it used - it was not CPO - with about a year left on the original warranty. I purchased an extended warranty when the original expired. Good thing I did, because the extended warranty has saved me thousands, more than twice what it cost with a year still remaining. Problems include water pump, fuel sending unit and injectors, electric window and mirror mechanisms, suspension mounts, plus more and not to mention that maintenance and tires are insanely expensive. I love the car and will probably get another but would not own any Bimmer without warranty protection."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

fun to drive, expensive to repair

By on Tuesday, November 05, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,352

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive"

Cons: "very expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"car has had some problems, nothing major. The red warning light for the transmission just started coming on and it had to get water pump replaced, $1000. I would not buy a used bmw without having a well trained shop check it out and run diagnostic computer tests on it before buying it."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

No "Foo - Foo" a true Drivers Car

By on Wednesday, March 06, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Will make you smile every time you drive."

Cons: "A great back seat for two only."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

The Ultimate Driving Machine!

"When you spend time with this machine, you will see that someone took the extra time, to engineer and design every little function and detail. Controls make sense, gauges make sense, engine sounds make sense, road feel and overall performance was built into the car from the ground up, not just added on. The engine does its job and is happy to do so day in day out. The transmission is silky smooth, and you can feel the years of engineering in everything the car does. A firm and comfortable ride with enough luxury and performance to keep everyone happy. If you do get enough of the sweet engine sounds, the multiple speaker dual sub woofer sound system is perfect for all music. Black and white gauges, powerful engine, crisp clean look with no "Foo Foo" or fluff anywhere."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

The Ultimate Driving Machine!

Fantastic blend of luxury and performance

By on Monday, October 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Performance, Handling, Styling, Build Quality"

Cons: "Stock Rear Differential is Open Design"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am absolutely a gearhead and someone who pays close to attention to all of the details of how a car is made, it's aftermarket appeal, or the quality of the driving experience in stock form it delivers. Although many cars offer similar options as the 335i like heated and power seats, automatic windshield wipers (these are superior to others I've used/had in other makes version), moonroof, etc. there are some key differences in the 335i. BMW's rack and pinion steering is absolutely one of the best on the market. The car is predictable and you always feel like you are in complete control of the car but not pushing the car past what it can do. The powertrain is purely astonishing. Everything from the motor, transmission, and fuel system are designed to handle power levels far beyond it's stock rating. (which is underrated by about 10% by the way). This is great for someone who is looking into aftermarket enchancements for greater power, or someone who simply looking for long term reliability from a car in stock form. Once you combine the interior luxury (no it's not an Aston Martin of course), but the interior is completely functional. It's not overly flashy, but everything works and is very clean. The retractable cupholders are a great touch and storage is ample. What really sets this car apart for me though is the timeless exterior styling and the twin turbo inline 6 forged internals powerplant, or better known as the N54. Truly a fantastic car that is tough to be without jumping up into a much higher price point. It's the little things like the active headlights and additional side light that turns on when you make a turn, the automatic wipers, the adjustable seat bolsters, the twin turbo motor, you just know you're not in an average car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent car,

By on Sunday, August 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drive dynamics, acceleration, looks"

Cons: "Run Flat Tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"What a great ride this car has been. The only and really only complain that I have is the Run Flat Tires. Not that they are not comfortable ride, rather just that there is no room in the trunk for spare tire, so if you want to switch to Non-RFTs, you have no spare. It is one of the best rides that I have had, gas economy is good, speed and drive dynamics are awesome!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching BMW 3 Series near Honolulu. See local deals