To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2012 Audi A8

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 27 Ratings for the 2011 - 2018 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25

Luxury

By on Monday, April 18, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I took deliver of my 2011 A8L four months ago. After driving a BMW750 Li, Benz SL550, I chose the Audi. The car is a value when you compare it to the aforementioned vehicles. This car is beautiful and the interior is elegant. Not many on the road, so you get a lot of people taking a second look at it. Many gadgets to play with on this car. No problem with this car so far and I don't expect many as AUDI stands behind their product. IPhone sync's well with the Bluetooth."

52 people out of 60 found this review helpful

Audi A8 - Luxury Redefined!!!!!!!

By on Sunday, April 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "ONCE YOU HAVE IT, NOTHING CAN BE BETTER!!!!"

Cons: "MAKES ITS COMPETITORS RUN FOR THEIR MONEY!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have just bought my Audi A8L! The car is just phenomenal and super luxurious! It has all the features, technology, and design that screams luxury! Bird-eye-view camera with all possible angles of the car from any corner. 22 way seat adjustments with massage capability. A cabin that soothes your every sense making you feel in ecstatic state of mind with led lighting the entire car at night and with selection of three different color variations. The craftsmanship of the interior would be more than enough to buy the car but Audi didn't stop there-they introduced an exterior design with perhaps the best looking face a luxury sedan to date. Everywhere I take this car, it always gets noticed and people take there last chance to see it before it disappears. The car has a built in Wifi that can connect up to eight devices and especially a great feature for long drives with friends! Ventilated and heat seats are great as well! In short, it is the luxury sedan made for the person who knows what true luxury is! For people who have considered other luxury brands for their super luxury sedan, give Audi a chance and you will know what I'm talking about. This car is youthful, elegant, sophisticated, and most of all, the pinnacle of what a luxury car is all about! Experience it and be prepared to be dazzled!!!"

30 people out of 36 found this review helpful

Warranty not good.

By on Thursday, June 9, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fuel mileage, power, comfort"

Cons: "Cost of ownership, warranty, paint"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Over-all a great vehicle, had a few issues with electronics and a broken fuel line. Audi does not by any means stand behind their product for the amount of money they charge for the vehicle. Interior alcantra fabric does hold up on the B-pillars and the paint chips and flakes of very easily and its not a covered warranty issue. Also they say they have a 4yr/50k bumper to bumper warranty but dont cover any interior issues after 1yr/12k miles. This was very discouraging to find this out at 42k."

15 people out of 19 found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY THIS CAR

By on Friday, January 22, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The Audi A8L appears to be a great car. But there is a secret that Audi is keeping from you. If your A8 is in an accident, it can take 2-3 months for it to be repaired. The reason is that Audi limits the repair shops which are authorized to repair the vehicle. I live in a city with 5 million people and there is only one repair shop that employs one technician who can repair the vehicle. My car has been in the shop for 7 weeks and work has not even started yet. Audi implements this insane policy by refusing to sell parts to otherwise qualified repair shops. I complained to Audi USA and they refused to provide me an alternative vehicle or buy the car back. It makes no sense to purchase a car, in particular one that cost between $90k and $100k which you cannot drive for 2 to 3 months because of Audi's policy to limit the ability of collision shops to repair their vehicles."

44 people out of 57 found this review helpful

Spectacular

By on Thursday, May 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One word describes it...........SPECTACULAR!!/ My 2013 A8L with 15k miles has been fantastic!! thanks Audi"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best Value

By on Thursday, August 4, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, fun to drive, aluminum body, chic!"

Cons: "Can't think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the best car I've ever owned/driven. It has every possible luxury feature you can imagine and yet it drives like a sports car with plenty of torque and acceleration. (I have the L4.0 T). It corners well and exhibits no bad habits. This is an autobahn car that outperforms Mercedes and BMW sedans of the same price category and you get the aluminum body at no extra expense! The cabin is quiet and comfortable. The Bose sound system works great. Its interior design makes Mercedes and BMW interiors look stale by comparison. Exterior design is beautiful but not flashy. LED adaptive head lights are powerful. Trunk space is good. Overall, the best value and the most fun in this price category."

8 people out of 11 found this review helpful

I refuse to part with it even after 64K

By on Saturday, August 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury, power, economy, styling, quality."

Cons: "Cannot think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"As Angus McKenzie of Motor Trend put it - it's the thinking man's luxury sedan. After more than 64,000 miles it still drives like new. Both exterior and interior are like new. Ample power (0-60mph = 4.6 sec measured), 19 mpg in the city, 27 mpg on the highway, starts first time, every time. My wife and I have had numerous conversations about getting a newer car but it would have to be another A8 and since only the engine is different (my is the 4.2 non-turbo) - there is really no point. We have had two issues: an engine sensor failed which made idling rough - repaired under warranty. An occasional suspension noise which has been hard to reproduce for the dealer - but it's not bad enough to be annoying."

20 people out of 28 found this review helpful

My best vehicle ever

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own the 2016 A8 L4.0T and it is very luxurious without being flashy. Plus the value for the features are extraordinary. It drives like a sports car and the handling is exceptional. This is my first German car and it exceeds all my expectations. It is whisper quiet and the quality of the materials are exceptional. This car is made for the Autobahn."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

The best car I ever own!

By on Thursday, January 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, Comfort, Grip, TDI Gas Milage, Premium"

Cons: "Should have fewer model to choose from."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I was going to buy S550 but went for A8, drove all three S 550, 750 LI and A8 TDI. The best drive A8, best com for A8, best road grip A8 and most luxurious A8. Audi A8 reminds me of Bentley from inside. No doubt I love Mercedes from outside, and A8 from inside. But reality is you spend most of the time inside the car not outside looking at it. I will highly recommend you to drive all three before making your decision."

14 people out of 20 found this review helpful

great riding and driving

By on Saturday, April 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"handles very well and real good on long drives"

7 people out of 10 found this review helpful

My Audi A8L Super Luxxe!!!

By on Saturday, February 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,650

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxurious, sporty, fun to drive and reliable"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own an Audi A8L which I have been driving for about 7 months and I constantly get heads turning and inquiries, especially from men. This is my third Audi, first was an Audi 100, then Audi A6. This is by far the best of the lot and has a price tag to match. I think it is worth every penny as you can easily drive these cars up to 200,000 miles or more with the same engine and transmission if properly maintained. I also own a Mercedes E320 which I love, but the Audi is more luxurious and special. Once you test drive this car, you will not want to get out and drive anything else. You won't see many on the road here in the U.S., so you really will feel unique driving one. By the way, this is the #1 selling super luxury car in Europe and China, compared to others in it's class, the Mercedes S class, BMW 7 series and Lexus."

19 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Best riding, most comfortable car I have ever had

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best for gas milage, comfort, environment"

Cons: "I have no cons only pros"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Dealer calls on a friday says come in Saturday morning your dream car will be in. Arrive at 4 pm and take the car for a 10 minute test drive, it was the quickest decision my wife and i ever made. It felt like we were floating on air cruising over bumps and road strips like they didnt exist. The dealer who I cant recomend on this site or they wont publish my review was amazing. I had gone to check out 3 audis he had 2 weeks earlier and the owner and the salesman came over to me after test driving and almost settling on a black audi tdi that didnt have all the options or the color I wanted and said "we are not going to sell you a car today" they took down the list of options and told me they will find me the car the way I want it because it is a huge decision and I should have exactly or almost all the options I want". Wow was I impressed by this approach of honesty. We get the call and a day latter we have our dream car with every option we wanted plus the salesman said push the S button and we flew like a race car, "Sports Mode". Also the sound system option was amazing, clearest crisp sound I have ever heard. Those two options he threw in for free ! The navigation system is so easy to use. The controls for the car are so well positioned for ease of use. An interior decorator friend got in and said the color patterns, textures and fabrics and woods were so well thought out in the cabin. I look forward to a long drive, 22 way massage seats front and rear heated and ventilated that relieve fatigue and eliminate back pain. I test drove the Mercedes s550, lexus, Bentley and BMW 705Li x drive and the Audi a8L TDI was the winner. Lexus has to overcome the old person glitzy image and improve rear head room which it totally lacks. Mercedes has the older glitzy style image and lacks the handling and pure comfort and understatement of the Audi. The Bently 2 door as beautiful from the outside has zero rear seat leg or head room and the 4 door looks old and stogy with terible gas milage. The BMW was a true contender just missing out to the Audi, the back seats and details in the bmws cabin were an 80 out of 100 while the interior of the audi was 100%. also the BMW lacked knee and head room was totally lacking and the Audis ride was 20 % more comfortable. The list of safety and comfort features make this car perfect. The seats are the most comfortable with ease of entry and exiting. Also I have never had so much fun driving, I like the fact that the exterior is handsome yet understated and the cabin is the best for fit finish and comfort. Getting 37 miles to the gallon was a dream come true on my last trip to Virginia. A limo driver asked me to look inside and he told me my car looked like a smaller version of the Maybock and that I could make $100. an hour driving people in my car ! That made my day and made me think of a new career ! Bottom line if you want to treat yourself to the best riding most comfortable best gas milage luxury vehicle that also is good for the environment by emitting "0" emissions , buy an Audi A 8 L ."

18 people out of 31 found this review helpful

IN ALL SENSES THE BEST LUXURY CAR IN ITS CLASS !

By on Saturday, March 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "LOOKS, VALUE , COMFORT AND GREAT FUN TO DRIVE"

Cons: "NO USB PORTS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I BOUGHT MY A8L 5 MONTHS AGO AND SO FAR IT HAS LIVED UP TO ALL OF ITS HYPE AND THEN SOME. I HAVE DRIVEN S550, 750 LI, JAGXJL AND LEXUS LS AND I HAVE FOUND THE A8L TO BE THE SMOOTHEST AND THE MOST FUN TO DRIVE. THE INTERIOR IS SO LUXE THAT ONLY THE S CLASS CAN COMPARE TO IT AT AN EXTRA COST OF 12 TO 15 THOUSAND DOLLARS. ALL THOSE PEOPLE IN CAR MAGAZINES TALKING ABOUT BMW BEING THE DRIVERS CAR HAVEN'T DRIVEN AN AUDI. ALL THOSE IN THE MARKET FOR A SUPER LUXURY CAR GO SEE AN COMPARE AND AUDI A8L TO OTHER FLAGSHIPS. YOU WILL COME TO THE SAME CONCLUSION AS I DID, THE A8L DELIVERS THE MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK."

31 people out of 56 found this review helpful

Top of the line

By on Friday, October 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A blast to drive. Gas mileage. Great"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nothing even came close. Mercedes, Jag, BMW. Drove all three. Audi was the only choice for me. I'm a big guy traded Escalade esv. Has more room front and back."

11 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Has never failed to start.

By on Thursday, December 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The drive and engine are awesome!"

Cons: "There are some electrical problems which are minor"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned the car for 10 years now and apart from some electrical issues, have enjoyed the fabulous ride and handling. Handles like a smaller car, rides like a limo. You have to keep the curse control on b/c you will drive too fast and be stopped (like me) not realizing how fast your going. I live in upstate NY and it never fails in the snow. It truly is an amazing car and now that it's time to buy again and researching what's out there, I'm going to buy another A8."

39 people out of 72 found this review helpful

Love at firt sight

By on Saturday, November 6, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"The Audi a8 does everythig I could ever want or need a car to do. Love not seeing myself at every stoploght like I do the Benzs, Jags, Lexus cars. Can't wait to get my hands on the 2011 !!!!!"

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

By on Friday, December 3, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Too much technology for the family to learn.

By on Thursday, March 17, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Safety features"

Cons: "Ride bumpy, dealership terrible,instruments diffic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"The safety features are great and the car rides OK-but for the price there should have been much greater comfort. The ride was no different than a current lower priced but higher end GM car and it should be much better than that. The exterior design is boring and does nothing to distinguish what is suppossed to be the Audi flagship model. A friend had the sports car by Audi and pushed me to go for the A8L. We are still good friends, but I’m not going to rely on him for automotive guidance."

14 people out of 30 found this review helpful

I really enjoy this car

By on Saturday, September 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned luxury cars before but this car exceeds in all categories including handling,performance,comfort and fuel economy"

9 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Top of the line from a quality OEM

By on Tuesday, April 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 22,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The reliability and feature set are as fine as any line in the world at this price point. While performance is more than adequate with a good deal of pep, it is not a rocket ship. The L series features incredible passenger comfort with a very quiet and smooth ride. Trunk is adequate."

21 people out of 47 found this review helpful

2010 Audi A8L

By on Friday, January 21, 2011

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Poor quality, with many tiny problems here and there... among other problems, transmission, engine and electronic problems..."

20 people out of 47 found this review helpful

Best Car I Have Ever Drove

By on Friday, October 30, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, very fast, comfortable, message seat"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I picked up this car 5 weeks ago and I love it. I had the Benz S, BMW 740iL, Lexus 460 and nothing comes close to the Audi A8. Drives like a dream the comfort is off the wall the V8 engine is a rocket ship you feel like you are in a living room."

13 people out of 31 found this review helpful

Unreliable and Loud

By on Friday, March 31, 2017

I owned and sold this car
Reason: Unreliable and Loud

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "NONE"

Cons: "Everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This was my 2nd and LAST German car!! As with most german cars its loud for a luxury car and completely unreliable. Owned for 1 year went in for repairs 5 times, 1 less time than my old 2010 BMW 750 LI I owned for 1 year. My 2015 Cadillac CTS went in for repair 2 times in 2 years! My 2015 Lincoln MKZ went in for repairs 1 time in 2 Years!!!!! Big differance. Im sticking with American cars for now on, Their quieter, Way more reliable, better handling and WAY cheaper to insure."

2 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very small trunk, fair ride quality & low head roo

By on Wednesday, February 1, 2017

I don't own this car

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Impressive interior - Powerful engine - Good gas m"

Cons: "Road noise, small trunk, high entry fee/insurance"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I think it is very humorous to read more than 1/2 of these reviews claiming, I drove the S550. BMW 7, Lexus LS460 & etc. No wonder they think the A8L is so great! When you compare against other poor riding & noisy cars it doesnt prove anything. Go drive a new Lincoln Continental if you want a superior riding car for 1/2 the money & 1/3 the warranty problems. I was taken back by the road noise in the A8L to say nothing of my outrages quote to insure it! The problems my uncle has had w/his S500 are unbelievable but he continues to like that propeller on the hood when he goes out w/friends no matter what it costs. I would only recommend this vehicle to friends."

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

LOVE THE VEHICLE

By on Monday, December 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Awesome car! Mine was more than $100,000. Very Cheap!!!!!!"

2 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Audi A8 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.