ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2002 Audi A8

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 71 Ratings for the 1997 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next

German at full tilt

By on Friday, March 13, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The Audi A8 is the most capable executive series sedan on the market. The power is relentless in Sport Mode and the transmission shifts effortless throughout the gears. Cruising at speeds over 100 MPH and you would not even know it.... The suspension is taught but the ride is like you’re sitting in your living room couch. The exterior & interior styling is timeless. I see older S500's and they look dated, the A8 never loses its understated but posh looks. As for maintenance, it's not a Honda; you have to expect to spend some money maintaining a car like this. This is by far the best car I have ever owned!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A lot of car for a great price

By on Thursday, August 23, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is probably one of the top cars you can buy for Luxury, Comfort, Styling and Safety. It meets all my needs. You can buy these amazing cars used for such a discount from new, problem is that they will continue to depreciate after as well so you will lose some money, but you wont mind too much when you drive it and appreciate the level of quality and refinement. Of all the features, my favorite is the heated steering wheel. In New England, on cold days it makes a huge difference. I make 10hour drives to Canada and always arrive fresh and without any pain, super smooth and very comfortable seats. I would highly recommend an extended warranty from AAA as repairs are expensive and I have had to make 2 so far. I have driven many cars from Mercedes to Jags from the 2001 and before years and none ever came close to this car. I LOVE it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Tuesday, July 20, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"11 years old, and still going strong. I've heard of others having transmission issues, but its been fine for me."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My 97 A8Q

By on Sunday, June 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Excellent car, bought used had it serviced at my local Import Shop and have had no problems. Car is excellent out on the open road, very comfortable and roomy. This car has a lot of bells and whistles for it to be a 97, I especially like the solar sunroof for those hot humidy days, many people don't believe its a 97 model. Car is lowered so it looks more attractive and aggresive than the other A8Qs in my opinion."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I don't think there is a better car than the Audi

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great car. World class. I love to drive it on long trips as well as city"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

world standard

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything good"

Cons: "not the least expensive to maintain"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"overall better then S class Mercedes, this car will impress with its lack of compromise"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Solid vehicle with class

By on Friday, July 16, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"2000 A8 Owner w/198K miles: I love this car for its ride quality ,solid feel and looks. I think Audi's over inflated price on parts is insane. Overall, this car is a Quality car that still turns heads. I will buy another A8 once this tank like car stops running."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

S Class of Audi

By on Wednesday, October 15, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Just Overall a great car, awd, luxurious, fast, comfortable, strong, reliable, just perfect. Great first car too. Only problem is if u get any problems and need to repair, prices run kind of high. But if you treat the car right, you wont have any problems to worry about. had this car for 2 years have not had a problem except my rear left tail light went out. Great for the winter. Turns heads, especially the ladies."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent but no Mercedes

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Great driving car, plenty of power even with the 3.7 V8. More problems than I would like though. Two $4000 transmission rebuilds, myriad expensive electrical failures, repeated warping of brake rotors. My wife's '93 Mercedes S-class was a better car for the money. I won't buy another."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Luxury Vehicle I've Owned

By on Friday, June 27, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Fantastic vehicle! This car is the best riding vehicle I've ever been in, never mind driven. This car is almost 12 years old and with the all aluminum body and chassis, it looks unbelievable. Mechanical it's very sound, but it does cost a bit more for repairs - but, you get quality parts for the price you pay. I bought this as a second vehicle, and could not ask for anything better. Just awesome!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good old car

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a great car. Powerful, comfortable, good in snow, great rear seat leg room, large trunk. A little slow to respond to accelerator from a dead stop, but quick once it realizes you really do want to dart out quickly in front of that semi. The rock guard film really works well on the front to prevent nicks. Too bad it doesn't come in a hybrid, but they didn't make those back then."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great luxury car

By on Wednesday, April 2, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"got great deal on my 2001 audi a8L more car than i payed for fully loaded performance exelent,comfort luxureious,big body styling i would recomend this car to anyone ready to buy a serious luxury vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

You can not ask for more

By on Tuesday, March 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is like a beautiful music which gives you a pleasure and makes you happy. You can not ask for more. Comfort, safety, very good acceleration in any condition, small or big snow is no problem for this machine. My next car will be Audi A8L again and my frends are buying only Audi cars too. Lewaro from Chicago"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Ride

By on Wednesday, March 19, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought as a certified used car 2 years ago from Audi dealer. Over 20k problem free. Great car, great ride, loads of power, and comfort in the car is great. Passengers in the back seat have more features than in any other luxury car I have looked at!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Audi A8L

By on Sunday, January 20, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is a nice car. I bought it used on lease return and have really enjoyed this vehicle. Having owned an A6, this is the right car to step up to. There may be no finer automobile in terms of packaging. The V8 is solid, and the only complaint is the middle range of acceleration, as this is a heavy car, and it takes its time, unless in sport mode. In that gearing, it is curtains for any other ride. I like the interface to the computer. Shifting is smooth. The Valcona leather is rich, and comfortable. I would highly recommend this car. If it breaks, you will not be able to fix it though. It would take a engineering degree to figure any of it out."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

you'll want not to love it

By on Wednesday, November 7, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is the tops for luxury. Like it better than my old S class Mercedes. BUT! Things go wacky. Dealer missed trany problem that cost $$$ after the warenty expired. Widow switches, seat adjusters work then don't. Find a good mechanic and avoid the dealer for service and parts. A $179 radio antena cost me $32.00 on line. This car runs and drives so good you hate to complain about it. Plus it is built to last forever. I will buy another."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Save your pennies

By on Monday, November 29, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have a 99 A8 that is wonderful to look at and drive, however, bring your wallet. This car is expensive to repair, I just replaced the fuel pump for a cool $800 JUST THE PART. I also had a multifunctioning switch replaced -$500 JUST FOR THE PART! This is an automobile, folks not for the faint of heart. I love driving my vehicle and I get compliments constantly. Pick your poison...please remember this is not a HONDA..."

28 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Outstanding Vehicle

By on Wednesday, August 15, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have driven everything. Benz, BMW AND Jag. The Audi A8L is by far the finest piece on the road. It excels in all aspects of driving. Wet weather or snow, sure footed confidence. Great gas mileage for a vehicle this heavy. Mash the gas and the exhaust note becons you to do it again ! Overall style is conservative but this black beauty ALWAYS draws attention. Classy but understated. The way it looks speaks loud enough."

12 people out of 13 found this review helpful

reliable luxury

By on Friday, February 15, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i purchased this car used about 2 years ago. i'm very pleased with it, it surpassed my expectations. all luxury features are on board as standard equipment, no need to search around. leather and interior in general is of high quality and seems to outlast other cars in this category. highway gas mileage not bad at all at 25mpg, but can go as low as 11mpg on short city commutes. very solid build quality, body is as rigid as on day one. the real advantage of the aluminum space frame just starts to come into play now, since there is obviously no corrosion whatsoever. other cars tend to start getting loose at this point, but not so this space frame construction. remember, this is not a unibody, but a car built around a frame, almost like a truck. normally, this would be bad in terms of weight, but not here. the a8 weighs actually less than the a6 with the same engine. talking engine; it likes frequent oil changes and wants its oil to be kept at the highmark of the dipstick or else you might hear the valves at startup. not a problem, just something to remember. AWD is superb, obviously winter tires also help, since braking is important as well in the winter. the suspension is rather soft, which is fine by me since i dont like to be informed of every pothole. acceleration is awesome, and so is the sound of the engine. if rear seat leg space is an issue, then get the L, otherwise the standard wheelbase is ok. ESP however was only standard on the L, this may be another reason to get the longer version. one tip: check the brakes before you buy, they are a bit weak sometimes. and around 100k miles, you MUST change the timing belt (and the water pump), so if appropriate, check if this was done - or plan on spending 1,500 to get it done yourself. another reassuring fact of course is that all audis until 02 (?) came with 4 years of free, scheduled maintainance. quite an incentive to keep your car in good condition, i would think. and thats all i can say. if it has been maintained, this is a good, solid car without any hidden surprises. go get one, if you can! on a personal not, i think the car has a real classic look, especially if one removes the model designation on the trunk, the tail end becomes almost a symbol of clean design, in my opinion. the a8 is a bit of a sleeper in the sense that most people don't bother looking at it at all, it's quite rare though and thus a bit of an exotic. or a car for the connoisseur, if you wish. and btw, i would also look into the Phaeton, if i would be shopping for this car again today. that big VW has an even more beautiful interior, however it is a lot heavier as well, since its made of steel. but all else mechanically is the same. some food for thought."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Stealth Econo Car !

By on Sunday, May 3, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned our 2003 A-8 Since new. NO PROBLEMS, SUPERB RIDE, VERY FAST. Gets an unbeliievable 26MPG at 75 MPH from San Diego to Las Vegas. Not just once, but ALL THE TIME-with the AC ON ! This is pencil and paper calculated, not the computer. In rough city driving, it has never given less than 17 mpg. This is a spectacular car! NOTE: It is VERY sensitive to what tires are mounted on it. If you don't like vibrations don't mount Michelins. I know, it sounds stupid, but the car's natural harmonic chassis vibration coincides with those produced by Michelins-and it cannot be balanced out. For a glass smooth ride, buy Dunlop SP 270's. Expensive, but worth the money in ride quality."

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

A8 Maintenance Nightmare

By on Sunday, August 26, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"Great car to drive and for its size and power it is very fuel efficient, 18 mpg in town, over 25 mpg on the highway. The aluminum body is great in that it doesn't suffer door dings and is very strong. But I have never owned a car that has had as many problems as my A8. The check engine light comes on every 10,000 miles which usually means $2,000 of repair bills at the dealer. O2 sensors cost more then $1,000. It cost $800 for a tune-up. I have had BMW's, Porches and other complex cars. all have had problems, but not like this Audi"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Fast and Fun

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have always wanted an A8 but didn't want to shell out the 70k for a new one. I finally broke down and bought a very nice used one. I have had to put about 3k in the car, but it was all for things that you will have to do to any car of this age. The car is faster than any car that I have owned and I love driving it! The only problem with this car is repairs cost $$$$. They don't know that you bought it used, so they charge you like you can afford to repair a high end luxury sedan."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

watch out for the A8

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"I love the way this car looks, and drives....handles like a dream, and is realy fast.... Repairs are insane, and Audi parts are only avaliable from the dealer, even oli filters. The upkeep on the A8 is more than I can take. It is hard to find someone who can work on the car...."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

1997 A8 Q

By on Friday, August 13, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"has 195K miles, still runs strong. Best advice for this one - change transmission fluid as often as you can afford and there will be no transmission probles. Doesn't hold value when new, but when old - best value/quality ratio. Will buy another one."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Streamline Missle

By on Friday, January 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"As each decade passes car manufactures around the world create varieties of vehicles ranging from the worst waste of money in history to one of the greatest vehicles ever made. The post facelift D2 Audi A8 ranks up there as one of the best. Its has its flaws in a few areas but where it shines in comfort, style, fuel economy and performance, it is second to none in its class. I should clarify, that other cars in this class might match the A8 or even surpass it in some areas however, looking at the entire package, you will not find a superior competitor. If properly maintained this car can last for a very long time. I purchased mine in 2003 with 55,000 miles on it for what would have been considered a steal. Im currently at 134,449 and running strong.If you intend to purchase one, make sure you do your research."

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Audi A8 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.