Go

2003 Acura TL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 491 Ratings for the 1999 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next

I love my TL

By on Sunday, January 5, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, power and stereo system."

Cons: "2003 model had transmission problems."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I put a lot of miles on my vehicles and this one has responded extremely well. Very nimble and always ready with a burst of power when needed. The only reason I'm even considering another vehicle is to move more people and pets."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

99 TL with 252,000 miles

By on Saturday, September 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 252,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, super reliable"

Cons: "A highway cruiser not a canyon carver."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, the power train has outlasted the steering wheel and dash lights. I'm sick of looking at it but it just won't die."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Sunday, September 15, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 149,550

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Go for it, you won't be sorry"

Cons: "make sure timing belt was changed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Except for some initial teething problems, this is the best car I've ever owned. The car had to have the transmission swapped out at 34,000 miles, but since then, nothing else has broken down on it. Who ever thought the entire exhaust system would last 13 years and 149,000 miles, and still is intact? Ditto, the alternator, radiator, power steering, shock absorbers, etc? My Acura mechanic (who by the way, always asks me to sell my car to him)told me the engine will easily pass 350,000 miles. Go Acura!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Falling Apart

By on Friday, October 19, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I am the original owner of this '02 TL. Initialy, I loved the car. A great highway cruiser. 28+ mpg on the road. Great sound system. Rode and drove very well. Then, the clearcoat started to turn white. After that, it started to peal off the trunk area, then all over. Very disapointing. The entire car needs repainting. Then the transmission went out. Yes, a new one had to be installed. The front left wheel bearing went out, and the transformer for one of the headlights also. A $880 fix for the headlight at the dealer. I now have more money in the car than it's worth. My 17 yr. old drives it now."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very reliable, even after 15 years.

By on Wednesday, May 11, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my TL as my first car with just under 150K miles on it. I got it fairly cheap, but the car has been anything but cheap. The VTEC engine runs very strong and hard, and is very fun to drive. Im over 170,000 miles and the only problems I've had were a starter (normal for a 15 year old car) and dents from previous owner. This car is very reliable, and if you keep up with maintenance it will last you well over 200K miles. Its got all the bells and whistles such as leather seats and bose sound systems. I will be coming back to Acura for my next vehicle."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

It keeps going and going and going

By on Sunday, December 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very zippy and sporty feel. Great gas mileage."

Cons: "If I had to knit pick, seats are a little stiff."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"To keep it short and simple this car has never let me down. I almost hate to move on from it. 158,000 miles and not a single malfunction or repair needed.... just remarkable."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Thursday, April 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 73,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good acceleration, handling, smooth ride, reliable"

Cons: "Outside door frame wrap peels"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 2000 TL new in late 1999 and have only put 73,000 miles on it because of a short work commute and a hubbie who likes to drive his own vehicle for trips. The only time this car has not started right up is twice when it needed new batteries. It's has great acceleration and handling and is very comfortable to sit in and drive. Being geographically challenged, the Nav system has been a blessing! The Nav is easy to use and delivers me to the accurate location. I'll be sorry to sell it but my nephew is bugging me...he wants it next."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

TERRIBLE TRANSMISSIONS

By on Friday, June 4, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

"DO YOUR RESEARCH BEFORE BUYING ONE OF THESE...TRANNYS ARE TERRIBLE...SO BAD IN FACT THAT ACURA HAD TO EXTEND THE TRANSMISSION WARRANTY DUE TO THE PRESSURE FROM OWNERS."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

just a great car

By on Saturday, April 3, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My TL Type S has 232000k miles. Never had a problem. My miles are all freeway Los Gato to Auburn, Auburn to Los Gatos every week since new in 2002. Great MPG."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best BANG for your BUCKS car

By on Sunday, June 21, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought this car for $6K even w/ 150K miles. Why so many miles you might ask? With Acuras, I don't hesistate 'cause like my last Acura w/ 200K miles (which got totaled by another car), they don't break...period. Got my mechanic to check this one out before buying, he said 'Wow, 150K and no oil Leaks?' No CV joint issue, no a/c problem. Just leather, cold A/C and Bose sound system...perfect. Dollar for Dollar, I don't think u can beat the value and reliability offered by an Acura in any luxury class."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura TL near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.