To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1996 Acura RL

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 209 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 42 | Next

Love my car

By on Tuesday, February 10, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 2000 RL used, but with only 2,000 miles on it. What a deal! It now has 130,500 miles on it and I have no complaints. It was built both for comfort and longevity! The original tires had 76,000 miles on them when I bought new ones. No kidding! I replaced the back brakes at around 90,000 miles and the front brakes at 120,000 miles. I'm safety minded and did not wait until it "had" to be done. I've had all the work done at the dealer. The only "weird" maintenance issue I've had was in the emissions system where the emitters (?) had to be cleaned (around 90,000mi). That was a $600 service; about $50 in parts and the rest in labor. Otherwise, I've just followed the maintenance schedule. My only complaint is that the plastic piece surrounding the bottom of the driver's seat cracked and then broke, leaving it hanging. Given the sturdiness of the rest of the vehicle, this disappointed me. I'm not that hard on the interior. I'm not sure when I'll trade in. I'm pretty sure that I'll see it roll over 200,000 miles. But, I have been taking a closer look at the MDX. :-)"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Friday, May 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"135,000 miles, nine years old, and it drives like a new car. Anybody who buys this car used for $5-$7K is stealing it."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

A great luxury sedan

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Supreme comfort; a perfect road trip car."

Cons: "For me, none."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner of this car, having bought it in May 2011 when it had 56000 miles. The RL has everything one could ask for in this type of car: fantastic comfort and convenience, luxurious, roomy interior, ultra-smooth, quiet, well-controlled ride and a powerful, silent, smooth-as-silk engine. Reliability has been excellent with only an oxygen sensor needing replacement."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle by Honda

By on Saturday, March 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 331,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfort, reliability, style, price"

Cons: "needs better sensors, window motors, and mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was a gem. I recently sold it. It was very reliable, it would have a few issues with bad sensors, but other than that I never had any major work done to it. Honda makes a great product, just maintain it, treat it well, and it'll continue to do the job for years to come. I was the 2nd owner of this car and bought it when it had about 68k 12 year ago; it now has over 331k on it and it's still running like a champ. I had some mechanical issues with the window motors on the passenger side going out on it, but those are relatively cheap to fix if one can buy the parts and install them yourself. Most people put videos up on youtube so it makes doing a lot of the labor fairly straight forward, easy, and will save you a heck of a lot of money. I recently bought another Acura, but it's a 2008 TL, loaded with 34k miles on it. This car will last me another 12 years and I'll be babying this one as well. I highly recommend going on line and buying a product called Protec; it's an anti-friction lubricant that you put in the oil, and transmission. This will dramatically increase the life of each of these areas. Proof is in the pudding they say. With the Acura RL, 331K, no engine or transmission problems. I think the longevity of the RL was due to Honda engineering and Protec. MPG is alright for a V6, but Honda can make it the MPG a lot better than 26."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Solid Car

By on Friday, June 6, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"A great car, mine has 160,000 miles on it. It doesn't break down. But the emissions system is a constant problem on these cars, mine needs service every couple of years. Parts are also very expensive when you do need them."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 42 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Acura RL near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.