Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact Cars
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2013 Kia Soul Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $16,834 - $17,357.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord


You Might Also Like...

For around the same price, you might also be interested in these other vehicles:

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $18,495

Fair Purchase Price $17,096
Fair Market Range ($16,834 - $17,357)

Invoice $17,780
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

KBB Expert Rating 7.3 of 10

10/7.3

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 261 Ratings for the 2010 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next

Great Car For The Money!

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, Great value, Roomy interior"

Cons: "Automoatic trans, easy to scratch door panels"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I could take the time to complain about the shortcomings of this car, like the easy to scratch interior door panels and the erratic first to second gear shift of the automatic transmission. I could say that the engine noise is a little on the loud side in the interior cabin, but honestly those are the only shortcomings that I have found in this little car and they are minor in the overall driving experience. My family and I use this car for all of our outings and I drive it to and from work on a daily basis (6 days a week), a commute that consists of a 54 mile daily trek, round trip. So the Soul has earned all of its 48000 miles now showing on the odometer. The trip my wife and I took into the Blue Ridge Mountains of Georgia was an absolute blast. The Soul handled wonderfully throughout the curves and mountainous terrain. I seldom had to touch the brake pedal when descending the grades, turning off the overdrive switch allowed for the little car to use the engine braking of the 2.0L in-line 4 cylinder and maintained a quite manageable downhill speed. I had expected the climb through the mountains to be hard on the Soul, but found that the engine and automatic transmission handled it well. Equally surprising was that the fuel mileage did not suffer from the mountainous terrain either. I have experienced fuel mileage ranging from as low as 24 to a best of 31 mpg. My wife laughs at me each time we fill up because I write my mileage on each gas receipt and log it into a spreadsheet on my laptop. Due to such record keeping, I can tell you that the overall average mileage is currently just a tick under 26 MPG. The Kia Soul offers a lot of value for the money. I am extremely fond of the hands free Bluetooth and the Sirius Satelite Radio. The iPod connections are quite easy to use as is all of the steering wheel mounted controls (radio controls, cruise control, and hands free telephone controls). There is plenty of room up front for driver and passenger. More surprisingly is the abundant roominess for the rear seat passengers, plenty of leg room and the first small car in which I've experienced this. While I mentioned the shortcomings of this car in my opening remarks, the only real irritating shortcoming is the automatic transmission. While it doesn't do it all the time, I sometimes experience a sort of slip between first and second gear. It tends to only occur when I accelerate a little more than normal, but not quite at an aggressive rate. If I get aggressive with acceleration, it does not occur. Nor does it occur if I accelerate at a normal rate. I have become accustomed to it since I drive it daily, adjusting my driving habits to compensate, but my wife and daughter have yet to figure out exactly what I am talking about. My daughter no longer likes driving it because of the weird shift. I took it to the dealer and was told that the shift was a normal operation and it has never gotten any worse. Overall, I love this little car and have always been quite impressed with its handling and how zippy it is while driving. I would most certainly recommend this car to a friend and I would absolutely purchase another without hesitation."

72 people out of 72 found this review helpful

Replacement for a Chevy Cobalt

By on Saturday, September 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Gas Mileage, feature packed, safety features"

Cons: "Stiff ride, dark interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Purchased a 2009 Cobalt new, loved the bells and whistles and drive-ability of car, but MPG was less than stellar. Only got over 30 MPG twice in 3 years and I am not a lead foot push it driver. A friend bought a 2012 Soul and my wife and rode in it several times and liked it. As an older individual, getting in and out of the Soul was much easier than the Cobalt. Traded it in for a 2013 Soul+ and very impressed to this point. Early MPG average of 32 has my attention. Roomy interior, stylish exterior. Has all the same features of my loaded Cobalt. Ride is stiffer than the Cobalt, but tighter turning, better visibility in front, telescoping and tilt steering, excellent safety ratings and a ton of car stability and tracking features. Active Eco system is a plus. Sound quality on the entertainment system is good. This car is a great value and a fun little wagon to drive. Only complaint is dark interior and lack of cup holders (bottle holders only) in the rear seat area."

44 people out of 44 found this review helpful

Love this car !! Only a couple hiccups.

By on Sunday, August 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, easy to access, great stereo and very reasonably priced."

Cons: "Gas Milage is not as good as it should be."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the looks of this car. It is so fun to drive. I have the White Tiger limited addition. The car is wonderful for the price. It was fully loaded for 19,000. Easy to get in and out of. Love the speakers. I only have a couple complaints. I have never got more than 24.8mpg even on the highway. I get better with my 2007 corvette. The break dust makes a mess on the white and hard to get off and the inside doors scratch easy."

22 people out of 22 found this review helpful

So I got a SOUL....so what do I think?

By on Tuesday, March 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "See the above...I like everything!"

Cons: "Ummmmmmmm. Nothing bad at all!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I think... 1) I got a really, really good car! 2) I paid way less than it looks like I paid! 3) I can easiy spot my Soul is a parking lot parked with Corollas, Civics, Sentra's and other plain, boring vanilla compact vehicles! 4)It's been many years since I've had a new car that got so much attention from other drivers, and peple in parking lots steal envious gazes at my Soul! 5) My 2013 Soul Exclaim if without a doubt, the best made, highest quality, best value and most fun to drove car I've had so far...and I've had many many new cars of different brands and models in the past. We were so impressed by this KIA...that my wife bought a new KIA Optima (made in USA)and daughter bought a new KIA Sorento (Made in USA!) too! And the 10 year 100,000 warranty is just icing on the cake!"

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, July 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car has been great, we have only had to replace tires, wiperblades & air filter. Only 2) complaints: 1) resale value 2) interior road noise, which has been addressed in newer models."

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Reviews Displayed:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 53 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.