Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • 2014 Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Volvo XC90 Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $36,411 - $38,050.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $40,615

Fair Purchase Price $37,231
Fair Market Range ($36,411 - $38,050)

Invoice $38,233
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 416 Ratings for the 2003 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 84 | Next

Very durable 140000 miles and still going strong

By on Sunday, October 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, good fuel economy, safe"

Cons: "Repairs (if needed) are costly, tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought our 2004 XC90 2.5 about 5 years ago. Since then only oil changes, a break job (3000$ once all said and done - new calipers, discs and as the parking break was done as well) - other than that no real problems. Some quality issues (DVD system went a year ago, one of the door speakers - tweeters broke off, steering wheel volume,channel control went a few years ago). Tires are a bit of an issue as well (Michelins went in 15000 miles). But we are now looking for another XC90 (2009/10) as my wife does not want any other car. So would I recommend it - YES (but it's a premium vehicle so running cost aren't as low as buying cost for vehicle suggest - see cost of break job). Wonderful fuel economy though (21mpg in mostly short range driving)."

19 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Good but not great

By on Monday, June 16, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"2005 XC90 T6 AWD touring edition. This is a good vehicle, and I like it, but for the price tag it leaves me wanting more. Pros: The performance and handling are excellent; it has plenty of acceleration and it handles like a sedan. It has loads of safety features including a build in booster seat. The premium sound system that comes with the touring package is second to none. The interior materials (leather / plastics / headliner and wood trims) are of the highest quality. Cons: More road noise than I would like, and the ride could be smoother. I’ve had some weird electrical problems; occasionally when I hit a bump in the road the radio station changes. I’ve also had problems with the keyless entry not opening the doors (but of course the service dept can never find any problems as it only happens occasionally). I have 45000 miles on it and I’m on the second set of tires, third set of front brakes, second set of front rotors, and second set of rear brakes. Conclusion: You can spend $10,000 less and get just as good if not a better vehicle and you'll spend a fraction on the maintenance."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

2005 AWD 5Cyl Turbo

By on Monday, January 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safety, stability, handling, comfort, looks"

Cons: "Tire wear, repair part cost,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Test drove this vehicle against all popular SUV's prior to purchase in 2004. XC-90 was a true 7 passenger SUV with excellent handling and adequate power. The vehicle condition is 9/9 inside and out and looks fresh after 9 years. Since new have replaced tires 3x, brakes once, heater core, fuel pump, fuel distributor. The repair costs are comparable for the brand and class. The vehicle has provided excellent service with a level of comfort and safety not experienced with other vehicles. Recent 'check engine' light codes for very minor items are annoying but not serious which may be software issues as opposed to failing components. Would like to purchase a new XC-90 but plan to keep this vehicle for the next 3-5 years."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

This car saved our life!

By on Friday, May 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safety and quality and reliable"

Cons: "High Maintenance cost"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We bought this car in 2006 best decision ever made.I am a busy mom with three kids of various ages. We wanted a family sized vehicle and we liked the third row seat option. Love the versatility and style. We never had any serious problems with it so it's very reliable and has the endurance for a busy family.The normal wear has not changed the look of interior and the exterior has no rust or fading. Still drives great after over 140000 miles. The maintenance can be pricey but worth it. The main thing is the fact that we survived a major accident with a three car pile up with the least damage of all cars involved. Can't put a price on my kids, lives so yes I Love this car and will buy another soon."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

One of the best touring cars on the road

By on Thursday, January 10, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 41,400

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very comfortable road trip car. Fantastic value!"

Cons: "Not enough interior storage, reliability question"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Shot through the trees on a German forest road

"I have owned this car for three years and put just over 41k miles on it. All in all, I think it has been a tremendous value. For what you get per dollar, compared to any competition, the XC90 is hard to beat. I took delivery of this vehicle in Germany (it is US spec) and took it on several family road trips there, with no issues at all. I've had the car here in the states for 2 years I've been very pleased after a number of interstate family trips with five of us and all the luggage, still nice and comfortable as can be. Fuel economy is on par or slightly better for a seven passenger AWD. I've observed 16 city/23 hwy/18 combined, by my calculations, as the computer tends to be about 1-2 mpg on the generous side. Felt engine power and fuel economy did improve noticeably after I got the car properly broken in. Ride comfort is fantastic, with decent handling for a heavy front drive biased SUV. In the snow/Ice/and Mud, the AWD and traction control systems work seamlessly. I feel very good about having my family drive around in the XC90 during inclement weather. Interior noise levels are quite low, on par with the rest of the herd of lux SUV's. Build quality and workmanship seem to be top notch. Nice supple leather seating, although the leather scratches and marks very easily. Interior squeaks and rattles are all but non-existant. The factory Continental tires were garbage and wore out within 25k miles, but the Falken's on it now handle much better and are wearing very well. Maintenance has been a bit high, I think. Had the front wheel bearing assemblies replaced after a long trip after I took it in with complaints of an extreme amount of road noise; I thought the tires were needing rotation badly, but turned out the bearings were on their way out. Also had to have the battery changed out just the other day and needed software updates to fix some entertainment system bugs. All of these issues have been covered 100% under warranty and the included regular scheduled maintenance has been a real time and money saver for me, so I really can't complain. My only concern is the maintenance of the vehicle after the warranty expires."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Shot through the trees on a German forest road

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 84 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.