Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Most Fuel-Efficient SUVs
  • Compact SUV Buyer's Guide
  • 15 Best Family Cars of 2015
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Volvo XC90 Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $36,501 - $38,066.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $40,615

Fair Purchase Price $37,284
Fair Market Range ($36,501 - $38,066)

Invoice $38,233
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 440 Ratings for the 2003 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.7/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

have enjoyed this car for over 10 years and still

By on Wednesday, April 29, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,322

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "lots of power"

Cons: "useless center armrest"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"going strong. will buy another one. wish it was about 2" higher in the back."

Surprizingly Uncomfortable Car

By on Friday, April 24, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "beautiful, muscular"

Cons: "awful front panel, no place to store purse"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I fully expected to love this car. It looks beautiful, handles, seemed to have all the whiz bang features. But... the features are unnecessarily complex and hard to use, particularly if you are the driver. It's virtually impossible to turn on the radio after you've gotten a phone call, the climate seems impossible to get comfortable, you have to have the instructions in hand to turn on a DVD for the kids, etc. As a woman, the part I hated most is THERES NO PLACE TO PUT A PURSE. Who design a car this century who doesn't expect women to drive. Very annoying. Oh, and the speedometer is hard to read, cruise control buttons not very responsive - you practically have to honk the horn to turn on the control."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

One of the best we've ever owned

By on Wednesday, April 15, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been one of the best vehicles we have ever owned. I am extremely comfortable with my wife and sons taking it on a long trip knowing that they will find it extremely dependable and reliable, and in event of an accident extremely survivable."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Amazing safety, quality, and design.

By on Monday, April 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great, comfortable, safe, controlable"

Cons: "Gas mileage, cost of repairs, cost of parts."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great, comfortable, safe, controlable, great all around car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Okay vehicle, would expect higher quality.

By on Friday, March 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 107,450

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Lots of cup holders, roomy and comfortable"

Cons: "Too man rattles, lots of broken things"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"This car has been okay for us. It's a comfortable midsize SUV. Overall we haven't had any major issues, but lots and lots of small ones. Many interior pieces break or crack. We've had to replace the driver side sidepiece due to cracking, fuel door hinge is broken, center console hinge broke, window up/down buttons cracked, glove box hinge is broken and cup holder plastic piece is popping up. We are two adults in their 30's and not hard on our cars. This car is made of cheap plastic. Everything rattles and squeaks. The center console is really noisy and I've tried felt tape all over it. The plastic housing on the window control buttons rattles. There are so many rattles that come from the 2nd row seating and I have no idea what they are. I would not recommend this car."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

LUXURY RIDE

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun and extremely safe to drive,"

Cons: "TOOO expensive for a retired person..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"If money is no object this is the SUV for you. It is outstanding in looks, comfort, and features but fixing it is very costly. In the almost year I've had it, I've only put 2K miles on it, paid $13K and have lost $4K of that in trade-in value. I want something much less costly when it needs lubricated or fixed, So far, I have spent oodles of money for new tires, all head and turn signal lights have been replaced, all 5 engine coils have been replaced. This has been an expensive vehicle to keep running in my experience. It gets terrible mileage, so I am looking for something newer that gets considerably better mileage and is good to go for at least a year with NO NECESSARY REPAIRS,"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

I would but another one.

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"10 years old and drives like new. I would recommend to anyone especially for it's safety."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

very reliable, great safety features

By on Saturday, March 14, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Volvo never corrected the drivers side windshield wiper/washer issue which does not clean the bottom portion of the windshield. This has been an issue with this model for years. Supposedly corrected with the 2015 models. That just seems ridiculous and the mfr has no solution for it other then a shrug of the shoulders. Other then that the vehicle has performed well and no issues experienced yet. Interior is comfortable and well designed. 3rd row seat is roomy enough for teenagers or short distances for adults. This has been a great family vehicle"

3 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Good vehicle

By on Monday, March 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My husband passed away and I have an extra car. I bought this Volvo new and have cared for it as my responsibility. Everything has been done when needed but now I do not need two cars."

11 people out of 16 found this review helpful

Beware of the T6. Otherwise a great SUV.

By on Friday, February 27, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,238

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, safe, and reliable."

Cons: "T6 transmission problems. Leather wears quickly."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After considerable research I learned that the T6 model has horrible transmission problems, but my 2.5T has been excellent. It carries our entire family, all of our stuff, and does it comfortably. I really like this SUV. Maintenance and repairs have been minimal in over 100K miles."

11 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Poor HVAC, interior design,cost to maintain.

By on Saturday, January 17, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Great for carrying a lot of people."

15 people out of 25 found this review helpful

A gamble

By on Monday, December 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Nice looking comfortable"

Cons: "Mechanical issues not worth the style."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"If you are one of the unlucky gamblers to get one with the common faulty transmisions, prepare to add an additional $6000 to $7000 to your cost. A common problem since 2003. Volvo needs to step up to the plate and replace the faulty transmissions with a reliable design."

54 people out of 77 found this review helpful

Best Volvo I have ever owned

By on Wednesday, December 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 257,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my XC90 in 2005 with 70,000 miles on it. She now has 257,000 miles, and she is still running strong. I've had to keep up on basic maintenance just like with any other car, but I have had no major out of pocket expenses for this vehicle since I have owned it. I absolutely love the way this vehicle drives and handles, and it has great get up and go. I have the AWD T6, so it does very well in snow... I live in Wisconsin, so this is very important. While the interior does lack in personal storage, it's an extremely comfortable and roomy vehicle. I love the style of this vehicle both inside and out. It has a very classic yet modern feel to it, and I just love driving it. Nice thing about this vehicle is that the body style has not changed much over the years, and it always looks newer than it is. Put it next to an 06, and you can't tell the difference. I read allot of mixed reviews about this vehicle prior to purchase, more bad then good, but this vehicle has proven those reviews wrong in my mind. She has been one of the most reliable Volvos I have ever owned. I'm purchasing a 2010 in about a week, and this one is going to my son. I'd like to see if we can get her to 400,000 miles or more."

21 people out of 36 found this review helpful

very reliable car

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 64,160

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very good car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"80% hihgway driving, maintainance done personally, change oil every 4000 miles/ no accident/ excellent running condition"

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

What the Heck?

By on Wednesday, December 03, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
6/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Here's my take on this vehicle. Very plain interior. Not much storage or room for phones, drinks, sunglasses, etc. Now why would Volvo not have an overdrive for this vehicle. It is a six cylinder turbo and has only four gears thus we get about 14 miles to the gallon on the hiway! That is horrible. We only bought this to protect my young son and should have done more research before we purchased."

14 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Nice but be careful

By on Sunday, November 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "attractive styling, great interior, good mileage"

Cons: "A few bugs that need to be worked out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I bought this vehicle about 6 months ago and although I love the fit, finish, and road manners of it, I would suggest to anyone who buys one to make sure the throttle body has been replaced and that the plenum leak in the firewall has been fixed. The throttle body problem may leave you stranded and the water leak causes the CEM to malfunction, which can leave you without any heat, air, radio, power windows, turn signal, or gauge cluster function. I found out through a little digging that these are common problems with this model and Volvo knows about them. I happen to work on vehicles and was able to fix these problems myself but if you do not know how, these repairs may cost well into the thousands. Be careful."

22 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Best car

By on Wednesday, November 19, 2014

I own this car

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable/ nice looking"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought it 2005 and still runs well. It's so comfortable and I feel so safe. It's a great size for a car that seats 7. It doesn't feel bulky like most suv's, I am able to park in the compact spot at times. The gas mileage it's not the best but it's ok for the quality of the car. I did have some trouble with the air in the very beginning but it went away on its own. Nothing ever broke. The only money I have spent on this car was for maintenance and gas. It's a solid, safe and beautiful car for a family."

28 people out of 44 found this review helpful

My Sweet XC90

By on Tuesday, November 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 138,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, good family vehicle, comfortable ride."

Cons: "MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had nothing but positive experiences since buying this used car 18 months ago. Aside from routine maintenance that all cars require, I have spent no extra money on this car. When buying used, I always factor in timing belt replacement, hoses, etc. that people usually don't take care of if they are getting rid of a vehicle. The XC90's cost of replacement parts/labor is comparable to all European brands, which usually run higher than American cars. The car rides and handles great, passengers are comfortable, and the sound is good quality. The MPG is not great, coming in around 18, but it's not terrible."

12 people out of 24 found this review helpful

I love my car

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable and most reliability."

Cons: "price"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have had this car for 8 years and I love it and I will get another one."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Super Fun Rig

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Caper green with tan leather interior. I have loved having this car. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it. I have added a kayak rack to the top, but it can easily be removed if it is not wanted. The body is almost flawless, the interior is also in great shape. I am simplifying my life now that my kids are grown and gone. I just don't need this much vehicle any more."

6 people out of 15 found this review helpful

third row seat not convenient to use.

By on Saturday, October 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Fairly priced against other European SUV. Gd. val"

Cons: "Awkward third seat. Haven't used."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"3.2 engine is not fruga lon gas. Averaged 18.6 mpg on 4 separate trips from Long Island to Stuart, Fl. Vehicle feels safe, good on long trips. A bit cumbersome in heavy traffic. Cargo space is adequate."

20 people out of 33 found this review helpful

I have had this car since Oct 2003 its a GEM

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable drive and very good on gas"

Cons: "Pricey: Tire replacements high AWD"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle is our mine travel car. It has been cross country three times from San Diego to Michigan via cross Canada, cross Northern USA and Southern USA. It has been to Canada twice and several trips to Northern CA, NV and AZ. The interior is designed exceptionally and the exterior is sharp. I am awaiting the arrival of the 2016 model this spring. This has been my most favorite vehicle!!! The ride is exceptional - comfortable - reliable and resilient etc... the best vehicle yet. The cars I have had are Olds, Renault, Mazda, Toyotas (very good) VWs. The color is Ice Green. One feels very safe in this vehicle. Pictures will be loaded later."

8 people out of 16 found this review helpful

BAD, BAD REPAIRS on THIS CAR

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Nice to look at when purchased in 2004"

Cons: "HORRIBLE REPAIR BILLS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Love the sleek styling at first glance. However, we have had the WORST possible experience with this car in the world. After the 50,000 mile warranty was up, EVERY major system on this car broke down and needed extensive repairs. I would NEVER recommend this car to a friend or family member. Just took it in for more repairs (trading it in finally) and found that we need $1700. 00 in additional repairs. I asked the service personnel to look at history of repairs and he said it had been repaired 31 times. And I can truthfully say that those were each substantial in dollar amounts. I would even venture to say that we spent as much on repairs as the car cost in the time period we had it. If not more, very close. Maybe we got a lemon, but the dealership did not help out much. Volvo Corporation should be ashamed to call this a reliable car. NEVER, EVER, AGAIN."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

this vehicle is l new. new timingbelt tires brakes

By on Tuesday, September 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 113,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "runs like new"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I own a repair shop for forty years . This Volvo has been gone over front to back new timing belt , tuned up new brakes and parking brakes, and much much more. This vehicle looks new drives like new and smells like new, and has been kept in a garage since new. If you put it on a Volvo show room floor it would pass as new.This vehicle has passed Maryland state inspection , which is the strictest in the USA . This car is absolutely beautiful"

3 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Our Second XC-90; Still GREAT!

By on Wednesday, August 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 33,200

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great utility, comfort, visibility, and power!"

Cons: "Roof mounted antenna wire comes loose."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our 2006 XC-90 was hit by a red light runner and totaled, with NO serious injuries to either occupant. A small ankle bruise from the brake pedal, was the ONLY injury. We decided to replace her 2006 with a 2011 XC-90, and we are SURE that was a GREAT decision. After 25000 miles, the engine started smoking, and Volvo replaced the ENTIRE engine after trying two repairs. Very impressive! It is roomy enough to fit five comfortably and seven with the back seats up. With the beach seats easily folded away, a split rear door is comfortable to use and provides access to LOTS of ROOM for groceries and other supplies. We will likely get another XC90 within the next 16 months. We just LOVE this car."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 18 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.