Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2006 Volvo XC70

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 130 Ratings for the 2003 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

very dependable, and comfortable.

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "well built. strong and quiet. Absolutely reliable."

Cons: "not the prettiest car out there."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If you want a car that's safe and reliable, this is the ride for you. In winter driving, it has no equal. Many times I witnessed suvs and 4 wheel drive p.u. owners in unsatisfactory predicaments, while I had absolutely no problem. The all wheel drive ratio is perfect."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Trade our 4th Volvo wagon for one at the factory.

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best station wagon made."

Cons: "No diesel engine option for the US."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Picking up a San Juan 21 in Kansas to sail back on the Chesapeake Bay.

"Our fourth Volvo wagon is eleven years old and we're looking forward to a trip to Gothenburg to get the latest XC70 T6 and enjoy a vacation in Europe. This is our favorite wagon to accomodate two grandsons with their own booster seats, to hoist our canoe onto roof racks lower than any SUV's and to install a factory trailer hitch for various trailers, not to mention safety and the world's best seats."

Picking up a San Juan 21 in Kansas to sail back on the Chesapeake Bay.

Trade our 4th Volvo wagon for one at the factory.

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best station wagon made."

Cons: "No diesel engine option for the US."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Picking up a San Juan 21 in Kansas to sail back on the Chesapeake Bay.

"Our fourth Volvo wagon is eleven years old and we're looking forward to a trip to Gothenburg to get the latest XC70 T6 and enjoy a vacation in Europe. This is our favorite wagon to accomodate two grandsons with their own booster seats, to hoist our canoe onto roof racks lower than any SUV's and to install a factory trailer hitch for various trailers, not to mention safety and the world's best seats."

Picking up a San Juan 21 in Kansas to sail back on the Chesapeake Bay.

Best car I ever owned. Turbo power and AWD great.

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2005 xc70 volvo is perfect for Colorado weather and mountains. The turbo boost on the 5 cylinder engine can take you from 65 mph to 100 mph in the time it takes to pass a semi on a two lane highway. The all wheel drive is great in snow. Rear seat fold down provides good storage space."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Worst car ever!

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Exterior look is timeless, interior is comfy."

Cons: "Everything and anything that is under the hood."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We purchased this car with 0 miles and were so proud to be Volvo owners. This joy lasted for approximately 2 to 3 years then everything started to go downhill. At 80,000 miles the timing belt slipped which resulted in a new engine (NO WARNING). There has been nothing but problems ever since. I love the look of the car and it's fantastic in the snow. It makes me sad to admit to people that we have purchased a lemon that cost quite a bit of money."

11 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great and SAFE car!

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and safe."

Cons: "Mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car to drive, even if a little bit like a tank. GREAT in snow. Mileage could be better, but VERY comfortable and reliable."

11 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Love this car.

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Car"

Cons: "They thought of everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the car. Wish Volvo still made the wagon with the 3rd row!"

9 people out of 20 found this review helpful

heavy smooth comfortable inexpensive to operate

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "feel safe in it"

Cons: "rear view mirrors conceal blind spots----"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"couldn't be happier"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Second XC70 I've been disappointed with

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "first three to four years are GREAT, then trouble."

Cons: "Transmission flaws, leaking sealants"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car served me relatively well until the past year when I've had to put more than $5,000. into it for repairs. I now need a transmission and it leaks inside during heavy rains. As a loyal Volvo customer, I am saddened, but this will be my last of 4/5."

19 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Worst car I have ever owned

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "All wheel drive"

Cons: "Everything under the sun."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased this car in 2012 with 90000 miles and have had unending trouble. It seems that the check engine light has a timer set for every month, and every time it comes on I have to insert a $1000 dollars. The latest is a transmission that is failing (a $7000 replacement). This car has poor steering dynamics that result in a sluggish feeling in turns. While the engine produces good power and the car accelerates well, the transmission is tuned extremely poorly and clunks into and out of lower gears. The interior initially feels comfortable and well made, but with closer inspection is poorly thought out. The head rests are not adjustable and will force you to sit with your neck extended forward unless you are >6'5 (I am 6'5, my wife is not). Automatic windows have auto up and down feature, but switches wear out and the window will hit the top and automatically roll all the way down, may sound minor but it is infuriating when you are trying to roll up the windows while trying to get somewhere in a hurry. Rear windshield wiper switch is impossible not to constantly bump. Stereo volume knob responds randomly to a turn in a given direction. I realize that this may not reflect all XC 70s and even all from this particular year, but I have hard time forgiving Volvo (or the dealership) for selling such a thoroughly disappointing."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo XC70 near Honolulu. See local deals