Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2004 Volvo XC70

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 131 Ratings for the 2003 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

I love. This car

By on Wednesday, March 04, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 93,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great pick up. Superior comfort. Never a problem"

very dependable, and comfortable.

By on Friday, February 20, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "well built. strong and quiet. Absolutely reliable."

Cons: "not the prettiest car out there."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If you want a car that's safe and reliable, this is the ride for you. In winter driving, it has no equal. Many times I witnessed suvs and 4 wheel drive p.u. owners in unsatisfactory predicaments, while I had absolutely no problem. The all wheel drive ratio is perfect."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Trade our 4th Volvo wagon for one at the factory.

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best station wagon made."

Cons: "No diesel engine option for the US."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Picking up a San Juan 21 in Kansas to sail back on the Chesapeake Bay.

"Our fourth Volvo wagon is eleven years old and we're looking forward to a trip to Gothenburg to get the latest XC70 T6 and enjoy a vacation in Europe. This is our favorite wagon to accomodate two grandsons with their own booster seats, to hoist our canoe onto roof racks lower than any SUV's and to install a factory trailer hitch for various trailers, not to mention safety and the world's best seats."

Picking up a San Juan 21 in Kansas to sail back on the Chesapeake Bay.

Trade our 4th Volvo wagon for one at the factory.

By on Wednesday, February 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Best station wagon made."

Cons: "No diesel engine option for the US."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Picking up a San Juan 21 in Kansas to sail back on the Chesapeake Bay.

"Our fourth Volvo wagon is eleven years old and we're looking forward to a trip to Gothenburg to get the latest XC70 T6 and enjoy a vacation in Europe. This is our favorite wagon to accomodate two grandsons with their own booster seats, to hoist our canoe onto roof racks lower than any SUV's and to install a factory trailer hitch for various trailers, not to mention safety and the world's best seats."

Picking up a San Juan 21 in Kansas to sail back on the Chesapeake Bay.

Best car I ever owned. Turbo power and AWD great.

By on Friday, January 09, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2005 xc70 volvo is perfect for Colorado weather and mountains. The turbo boost on the 5 cylinder engine can take you from 65 mph to 100 mph in the time it takes to pass a semi on a two lane highway. The all wheel drive is great in snow. Rear seat fold down provides good storage space."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Worst car ever!

By on Tuesday, December 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
2/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Exterior look is timeless, interior is comfy."

Cons: "Everything and anything that is under the hood."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"We purchased this car with 0 miles and were so proud to be Volvo owners. This joy lasted for approximately 2 to 3 years then everything started to go downhill. At 80,000 miles the timing belt slipped which resulted in a new engine (NO WARNING). There has been nothing but problems ever since. I love the look of the car and it's fantastic in the snow. It makes me sad to admit to people that we have purchased a lemon that cost quite a bit of money."

12 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Great and SAFE car!

By on Friday, October 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and safe."

Cons: "Mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car to drive, even if a little bit like a tank. GREAT in snow. Mileage could be better, but VERY comfortable and reliable."

11 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Love this car.

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Car"

Cons: "They thought of everything"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love the car. Wish Volvo still made the wagon with the 3rd row!"

9 people out of 20 found this review helpful

heavy smooth comfortable inexpensive to operate

By on Saturday, September 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "feel safe in it"

Cons: "rear view mirrors conceal blind spots----"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"couldn't be happier"

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Second XC70 I've been disappointed with

By on Thursday, September 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Pros: "first three to four years are GREAT, then trouble."

Cons: "Transmission flaws, leaking sealants"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car served me relatively well until the past year when I've had to put more than $5,000. into it for repairs. I now need a transmission and it leaks inside during heavy rains. As a loyal Volvo customer, I am saddened, but this will be my last of 4/5."

19 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Worst car I have ever owned

By on Monday, August 25, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 116,000

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "All wheel drive"

Cons: "Everything under the sun."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased this car in 2012 with 90000 miles and have had unending trouble. It seems that the check engine light has a timer set for every month, and every time it comes on I have to insert a $1000 dollars. The latest is a transmission that is failing (a $7000 replacement). This car has poor steering dynamics that result in a sluggish feeling in turns. While the engine produces good power and the car accelerates well, the transmission is tuned extremely poorly and clunks into and out of lower gears. The interior initially feels comfortable and well made, but with closer inspection is poorly thought out. The head rests are not adjustable and will force you to sit with your neck extended forward unless you are >6'5 (I am 6'5, my wife is not). Automatic windows have auto up and down feature, but switches wear out and the window will hit the top and automatically roll all the way down, may sound minor but it is infuriating when you are trying to roll up the windows while trying to get somewhere in a hurry. Rear windshield wiper switch is impossible not to constantly bump. Stereo volume knob responds randomly to a turn in a given direction. I realize that this may not reflect all XC 70s and even all from this particular year, but I have hard time forgiving Volvo (or the dealership) for selling such a thoroughly disappointing."

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Love my volvo XC70!

By on Friday, August 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, solid and safe but has pick up!"

Cons: "console is a bit awkward to reach"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is a dream to drive and I have not had any issues with it. Great in snow, awesome turbo when you need it for the mountain passes or to scoot out of the way. Very comfortable and smooth on road. Great car for Colorado weather!"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

excellent 2004 Volvo wagon ever

By on Monday, July 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great car, love the wagon for storage"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Long distance miles from Florida to Washington DC, South Dakota, Ohio."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love this car! Giving it to teenage son..safety

By on Friday, May 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe, solid, reliable, comfortable, not a minivan"

Cons: "More costly to service, decent road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car new to replace an old Toyota Land Cruiser - that I thought I loved, til I started driving the volvo. It's the perfect car for the anti - minivan mom with no more than 2 kids. Or, if you get the 3rd row seat, 3 medium sized kids. It's solid, the seats are more comfortable than most of the chairs in my house. I struggled to justify the extra cost over a minivan, but it was worth every penny. Just be sure to find an independent shop you trust to service it. It's def more costly than our Hondas we've had before."

6 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Very High Maintenance Cost

By on Friday, February 07, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good ride and comfortable"

Cons: "Poo design of electronics---"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned volvos for 40 years and have always driven them for well over 125K miles and at one point had three in the family. This XC70 will be my last I am sorry to say---The electronics have been a complete failure---ABS system failed--ignition lock had to be replaced, gear box failed, alarm system failed. W2"

19 people out of 28 found this review helpful

A safe, stylish work horse!

By on Thursday, November 14, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third Volvo, previously I owned a 740GL wagon, an 850GLT sedan, and now my XC70 wagon.I thought I was done with wagons, but this one is so comfortable and versatile, it has an enormous hauling capacity for furniture, moving boxes, plants, luggage, sports equipment and a racing bike. It is reliable, super safe and stylish at the same time. I love my interior which has the classic, real wood trim and full leather. Wonderful for long road trips or just running errands around town. I love this car, which is a good thing, as my husband says it will be a while before I can get a convertible sports car!"

9 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Me and my car have been through so much

By on Thursday, October 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "tons of space, fun to drive in winter, reliable"

Cons: "stuff falls between seat and center console"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my first car and will be my car for years to come. it is so reliable, and does everything i could possibly want it to. I attatched a trailer hitch and can tow stuff, I have a roof rack and can carry stuff. I camp, sleep, and spend so much time in this car i could never sell it even if I wanted to. seriously a great car and will last forever. although im embarrassed to admit it, I have needed anti-skid service since last winter and its ran perfectly despite that the whole time. It even has parking assist!!! I live in new england and it is perfect for winter and camping and outdoors and all the things you could possibly want. totally comfortable for long drives out of state and all around. Ive slept in it under multiple circumstances and it is always comfortable to recline the seat and lay there, or if you need more room put the back seats down and chill out in the back, you could even fit an air mattress if you really wanted to. amazing car. VOLVO XC70 <333333333333"

13 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Great car...purchased new in 04 & not selling it

By on Saturday, August 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Winter driving and hauling"

Cons: "Ugly soccer moms check you out"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I use this wagon like most people use trucks. I am a single guy with no kids and love my wagon. I have over 135 000 miles on it and have put next to nothing into it. I have hauled two large dog into Canada numerous times, transported a dingy from one end of the Chesapeake to the other, dock boxes 1000 lbs of sails and equipment from Daytona to Baltimore all without a problem and she still drives like the day I drove it off the lot. And she will smoke most other cars off the line and when most people are unable to get through 1 to 2 feet of snow I can still make the seed limit"

18 people out of 19 found this review helpful

A fine, solid, well-made vehicle.

By on Monday, June 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Sturdy, attractive, reliable, great winter car."

Cons: "Parts can be pricey."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"This car has been reliable, comfortable and has kept my family safe for the past few years. I recommend it."

10 people out of 14 found this review helpful

love my volvo ,

By on Tuesday, May 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 94,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great cars, safe and comfortable"

Cons: "Pricey to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my volvos, they are expensive but well worth the $."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

This has been a great car for us!

By on Monday, April 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Drives great in all conditions, safe and solid!"

Cons: "Expensive for replacement parts, road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has been very reliable for us. Very little maintenance, only the recommened services. I do hear that the year of the Volvo makes a lot of difference in the amount of reliabilty you get from your Volvo. Well, 2004 was a great year! I do have a couple of small problems with Volvo though. We bought it used from someone we new who had unfortunatly cut out the third row seatbelts that we replaced - that was expensive! That is one of my two gripes with Volvo, Expensive to replace parts (I lost a very expensive remote key - ugh) Finding the right shop is important. The Spokane area Volvo dealer is tops - had to run in there once on a long road trip (my local dealers short sightedness - Spokane dealer rocks!) My second gripe with this Volvo is road noise! It has a lot. However, I have been told it would make a substantial difference if I would take the all season tires off and put different ones on. But hey, its a cross country, shouldn't it be able to have a heavier tire?"

8 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sturdy, comfortable, reliable vehicle

By on Monday, April 01, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, safe, and solid, luxury feel"

Cons: "A little expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This Volvo was extremely comfortable and easy to drive for someone who never felt at ease driving a larger car. The feel of the interior is very luxurious, and it is an excellent car in every way. Most importantly, I recently lost my Volvo after we were hit by a driver going at least 80 miles an hour, but everyone in our car walked away unharmed. The area that was hit was completely destroyed, but the side airbag and the solidity of the car probably saved our lives. It was definitely the best car I've owned, and I will be looking for another just like it!"

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Not that reliable

By on Saturday, March 02, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Style and safety"

Cons: "Relibility and MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"We owned a 2007 XC 70, which got hit on the back at 50 mph and car was totaled. A very safe car, my wife juts walked away from the accident unhurmend. Unfurtuanaly for volvo that is all is got going for it, SAFETY, otherwise this was a very bad car for us. Battery went bad after 30 months, radiator replaced at 40,000 miles , front anxle and control arms replaced at 45,000 miles at a cost of $3,000.00 ,but under warenty and hedious gas milage we averaged 15 mpg for the 6.25 years we owned it."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

All around awesome all road vehicle

By on Wednesday, February 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned Volvo's for 40+ years, and the XC 70 is the best of the bunch! Wonderful roadability, exceptional dependability,easy to maintain, and quality throughout. Still going strong at 200k miles (she's just getting her second wind)!"

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Value for the Money

By on Thursday, January 03, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 109,600

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "Driver seat split but Colorado sun is hard"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just love my Volvo and will never own any thing else for a passenger car. I have owned 20+ cars in my lifetime...everything from a huge HD pickup, sports cars, cheap cars, mid size passenger vehicles, domestic and foreign, you name it. BUT this is the longest I've owned a vehicle and its not due to the economy. Fantastic engine - pickup to pass when you need it on two lane winding mountain roads, security - you and your family are safe in this heavy safety cage vehicle, comfortable - short trip or cross country I never have any comfort issues, good on gas. Excellent cup holders. Repairs are pricey at Volvo dealers but you can find other repair shops but watch what the products they install..especially brakes...you want to keep your good quality parts...I've replaced both brakes, radiator, spark plugs, flushed radiator, etc. but at 110K miles in hard conditions of the Rockies, what car would not need these repairs? I highly recommend my XC70 basic model...I did not pay the the high end package."

6 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo XC70 near Honolulu. See local deals