Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

1998 Volvo V90

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 10 Ratings for the 1997 - 1998 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.8/10
    Quality
    9.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10

Classic & Classy Wagon--Too Bad No Longer Built

By on Wednesday, November 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 142,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Turning Circle, Comfort, Spacious, Versatile"

Cons: "Cost of maintenance, but worth it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned mine since new--14 years+, would never get rid of it. Perfect for me--spacious, roomy/airy cabin--not claustrophobic like the newer ones, lots of head/leg/hip room, most efficient use of space, since it is a square box. Volvo got away from boxy look, but this box is a beautiful box, and best edition. Practical and comfortable, adequate power, high seating position, lots of glass area. Amazing turning circle (can make U-Turns in less space than tiny cars--sometimes I put on a show for others for entertainment)and very easy to drive, much more so than smaller car--very maneuverable in traffic, and dodging taxicabs in New York City. If maintained will last--expensive to upkeep, but worth it. Re winter driving--with 4 good snow tires, no problem at all--can run with the SUV's. Friend liked my V90, wanted to buy used one for her son as first car--I found one with 60K miles for $7K--son said no--it is "old man's car"--what a stupid kid--hey I race BMW's with it--doesn't know what he missed. If I could get another one, I would. Newer Volvo's are not as good. This is the best, and if Volvo would go back to this formula, they could do better than now. Boxy is now cool and hip, not those over-styled and faddish cars out there."

8 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Love the car

By on Sunday, February 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "practical, comfortable, nice seats, good quality"

Cons: "dated look, wish it had 8 cylinders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We still drive our v90 to Florida from Georgia all the time. It's a great car, well built, very comfortable and you can see out of it well because of all the glass. Plus it has so much room for extra stuff we never need anything bigger than this car. We bought ours used and that was 3 years ago. If you maintain these cars, they will last forever."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Wouldn't be without it!

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Lots of room for kids and animals. Lots of comfort"

Cons: "Not the prettiest car out there...but worth it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Volvo V90 is one of the best vehicles out there. I have the third row seats which make it able to bring all the kids plus their friends. It drives great, always works when you need it, and is great in all kinds of weather. The only con I have about this car is that it's not as comfortable as my newer XC90! Do yourself a favor and give it a try. You'll never regret it and probably won't want to go back to another brand of vehicle again."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Killer Wagon!

By on Wednesday, October 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great ride and handling super comfortable Road Car"

Cons: "Hard to find repair info parts can be hard tofind"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned for 3 years and have put 30K on her. Great road car just super comfortable on a long trip. Simply perfection in fit finish and workmanship. The old girl is 13 years old and has 170K miles on the clock and it still looks runs and rides like a new car!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1998 V90

By on Monday, August 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"What a car!!!! I have been very satisfied with this vehicle, it keeps on giving if you do the routine maintenance. Highly recommend."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo V90 near Honolulu. See local deals