Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

1998 Volvo V70

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.0
Out of 10

Based on 187 Ratings for the 1998 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    7.3/10
    Performance
    7.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.3/10
    Styling
    8.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next

Reliable safe tank

By on Sunday, May 03, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, reliable, stiff ride reduces car sickness"

Cons: "Expensive to repair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Overall this has been a very great car for us with two little boys, a dog and lots of travel. In fact we are only replacing it because it has not been great in snow and the kids like skiing. This model has had a compression issue that has been replaced and odds are will need to be replaced again. It is still driving strong though. Volvos are workhorses although repairs are pricey."

Very reliable car, surprisingly good handling

By on Wednesday, March 25, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Safe, great on reliability, handling, convenience"

Cons: "Not the best fuel consumption by modern standards"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great car, very convenient in terms of space, handles very well, very steady on the road, excellent quality CD/tape/radio comes standard with it, worked for all these years without a hitch, good looking sleek design, low on the road for minimum wind resistance, compared to SUV's, good headroom."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Very reliable, but parts are expensive

By on Wednesday, March 18, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Very reliable, handles well, very safe, seats 7!"

Cons: "parts are pricey"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Excellent handling, control, very smooth drive, one of the safest cars on the road, very solid motor and transmission; fuel efficiency not that great 19mpg in the city, 24mpg freeway"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Best car ever

By on Friday, October 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 214,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Octavia is the best car ever!"

Cons: "I should have got her sooner."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my 1998 Volvo V70 GLT a few months ago.17 yr old car that drives like new. I bought it from the original owners and they maintained it at Volvo dealer up until the last few years. The only things I have had to do to it was normal maintenance that the previous owner had let go ie. brakes, replacing timing belt, water pump etc. I did these as preventative measures because I believe it's a keeper. Need to replace 1 front fender because of a rust hole but that's the only spot on the car that has rusted. The car has 214 000m/344 000km and works like a dream. I can hardly wait to try her in the snow. I have taken it on many road trips and the gas mileage is much better than the Dodge van I had owned and it's much more comfortable on long trips. The turbo makes passing a dream..I'd really like to know how fast it will go...lol I LOVE THIS CAR! :)"

24 people out of 29 found this review helpful

Very safe Vehicle - will survive extreme crash

By on Wednesday, March 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe - solid construction"

Cons: "My wife had this car so long she got tired of it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

1998 Volvo V70 GLT

"Its just too expensive to build them like this anymore. Volvo's built before Ford (like this one) are renowned for long life and being built like a tank. Leather and power everything this car is dependable and in very good shape. Front wheel drive, traction control, anti-lock brakes, rear seats that fold down completely flat for transport of large or bulky things. Will throw in roof rack."

18 people out of 21 found this review helpful

1998 Volvo V70 GLT

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo V70 near Honolulu. See local deals