Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2000 Volvo V40

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 59 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

the gas saver

By on Saturday, September 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive and cheap ride"

Cons: "very comfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"its good car, no issue in this car to bother me other than its low car since I live in Wisconsin. parts is easy to found, I love this model and I save $$$$$$ since I drive it. I wish I drive it for ever."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great at first and now won't start….

By on Monday, September 09, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Was a good car at first"

Cons: "Became a bad car as the miles added up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I have had this car for around 3.5 years now and I loved it at first. It was very reliable and a smooth ride, however the older it has gotten the more and more it is in the shop and I am out of a car. This past year has been the worst for my car and I have put thousands of dollars into a car that is just not worth it. It has died on me in the middle of the road before and had major oil leakage issues and now my alternator just went. However, it is an older car with lots of miles so I guess I can understand. I would recommend staying away from this car now unless you can get one with little mileage on it because apparently once the miles add up the car just dies or is in need of constant repair. I am looking for a new car now and am learning towards an Acura."

14 people out of 17 found this review helpful

Repair Bills are High

By on Tuesday, May 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, good gas milage"

Cons: "repair bills, parts no longer being made"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 2000 V40, from someone who was not honest in what the car need, slowly making the repairs and it is wel worth it. on the high way I get 37 mpg, the turbo is fun! and for some one who is 6'1 fit realy well inside, it may not be for every, try it you might like it!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Loved it while it was good!

By on Friday, April 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "good on gas, fast, and spacious."

Cons: "Expensive repairs, and often troublesom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"When I first got my v40 I was in love. I paid $3,800 for it last year and So far I have mad about $4,000 dollars in repairs. once you fix one thing, another goes wrong. Its a lovely car to drive when its in good condition or before it starts giving trouble. it is luxurious though, so repairs are NOT cheap!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Very good overall buy

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Price was good, great power, leather seats"

Cons: "Car was on smaller size"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"THe car has lasted 11 years to date and has not had any major repair requirements. I have used this car for many things and it has been great. THe power has worked great especially getting onto highways The only negative commment is size of car - not a problem -but on the smaller size and got used to it I will look at volvos again when i need my next car"

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo V40 near Honolulu. See local deals