Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • Midsize Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • Compact Car Buyer's Guide
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $35,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2015 Volvo S80 Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $37,664 - $39,351.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Price Advisor
What Others Paid
Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $41,425

Fair Purchase Price $38,508
Fair Market Range ($37,664 - $39,351)

Invoice $38,995
"What Others Paid" is based on the last 90 days within the U.S.

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 317 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.4/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 64 | Next

Don't ever buy this car

By on Saturday, January 19, 2008

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Bought 1999 as lease return with 36,000 miles. Although it has a lot of power and a relatively smooth ride, it has left me and my family stranded on two road trips from a sensor failing in one case, and the fuel pump going out in the other. In addition, repairs for this car have totaled over $10,000 over the 5 years I've owned it (maybe a third of that was covered before the warranty expired). This Volvo is definitely the worst car I have ever owned."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great Car!

By on Thursday, December 27, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have owned my car for a year now, and I'm very happy with my purchase. I bought a 2003 Volvo S80 2.9L. It handles very well, especially when negotiating turns and curves. It has excellent acceleration. I really enjoy the sound system. I wish the gas mileage was a little better, but overall I would happily recommend this car to a friend. I like the style and comfort best."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Fun to drive, avg reliability

By on Wednesday, November 28, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"My 2000 Volvo S80 was my first 'nice' car. It has a great speaker system and is really fun to drive, especially for a sedan. My family of 4 can ride comfortably on a long trip and the trunk is huge. It takes curves really well and goes fast. The suspension is tight which doesn't always work well on bumpy streets with potholes. Reliability is so so. I have spent money on the suspension, ABS breaks and new struts. Nothing too major but it does get expensive."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

1999 S80 improves w/age

By on Tuesday, October 02, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love Volvos. This is my 4th. I have had a ton of trouble with it but since I passed 90,000 nothing much goes wrong. Had horrible experiences that were covered under the extended warranty, ETM, sunroof, front brakes locking, oil leaking into the computer...rats! BUT now she's running great, got 120,000 on it. Love the look of the car, love room, seats r awesome, at the resale probably a good one to look at. Would consider a newer one and will probably keep this now. Typically my Volvos go over 200,000. I'll give it to my college son. Also quite excellent with 4 studs in Colorado snow!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Quality Car

By on Saturday, September 22, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought my used 2001 S-80 2.9 with 50k miles on it. I also purchased an extened warrany with the car which i strongly recommend. I only have had to do minor maintenance/ repair on it and it was covered by the extended warrany.Which saved me thousands of dollars. The only thing I find quite expensive are replacing the brake pads and rotors. I drive around 20-25k a year with no problems. Driving in and around NYC can be demanding however, this car is up to the task. The tires take the beating from the horrible streets (1 flat in 3 yrs). Very happy with the car for the price I paid."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 16 17 18 ... 64 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.