Advertisement

Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
  • 12 Best Family Cars of 2014
  • 10 Most Affordable Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book provides values and other information specific to your location.

Advertisement

Why ads?

2014 Volvo S80 Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $36,234 - $38,153.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $40,815

Fair Purchase Price $37,194
Fair Market Range ($36,234 - $38,153)

Invoice $38,421

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser’s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Buyer's Resources

Apply with our preferred lender now
Calculate your monthly payment

Advertisement

Why ads?

Advertisement

Why ads?

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.4
Out of 10

Based on 88 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.6/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

my second Volvo S80

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,981

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very safe car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I never keep a car much over a year and my son commented on how I had my 2003 Volvo S80 for over five years. I really liked that car and was ready for a change so I purchased this 2010 Volvo S80. Great car and am very pleased with it. Well built car."

8 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Great value!

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, safety"

Cons: "Ride is not as smooth as my Buick."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car used as a second car for my commute and for my kids to drive occasionally. Very comfortable and smooth. Great value for the money in my opinion. Has been very reliable and I feel very good about my kids driving this car. Not as sporty as a comparable BMW or Audi but much more economical. I am happy so far after 2 years of ownership."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Excellent.

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This a safe, comfortable, sedan."

5 people out of 9 found this review helpful

not luxury fancy but well built solid vehicle

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "sporty but nice comfortable ride"

Cons: "not luxury fancy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"solid built, nice ride, nice power"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Comfort, Strength, Style

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, handling, MPG, comfort, appearance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned this car for four years. Only cost other than routine maintenance were self-inflicted problems. The V-8 roars down the highway and purrs on the backstreets. Still getting about 17mpg around town and 20 on the highway. The suspension is super smooth on the highways, and manages our New England potholes as well as any sedan. The leather seats are comfortable, controls give you every option you want. Moonroof just makes it fun. Even though it's a Volvo, it looks every bit like a European Sports Sedan. Best car I've ever owned."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Comfort, Strength, Style

By on Friday, April 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, handling, MPG, comfort, appearance."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have owned this car for four years. Only cost other than routine maintenance were self-inflicted problems. The V-8 roars down the highway and purrs on the backstreets. Still getting about 17mpg around town and 20 on the highway. The suspension is super smooth on the highways, and manages our New England potholes as well as any sedan. The leather seats are comfortable, controls give you every option you want. Moonroof just makes it fun. Even though it's a Volvo, it looks every bit like a European Sports Sedan. Best car I've ever owned."

Excellent value and driving characteristics

By on Wednesday, November 27, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "You are not overwhelmed by tech but it is there"

Cons: "Leaky door seals. Almost no complaints"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"As we required an all wheel drive vehicle we initially looked at a BMW. I had been a BMW owner for 20 years but when I drove AWD 5 series I didn't like it - felt sluggish off the line and too much technology. The computer screen was very distracting. I then did some more research and found the S80 T6 was actually faster off the line than the BMW as well as $10,000 less. Drove it and fell in love. Especially great on long distance drives - extremely comfortable and cruises with the best of them. But the appropriate comparison is with other AWD vehicles, as most comparable RWD are lighter and therefore faster off the line. But this has plenty of omph. This car is very much under rated head to head but especially so when price is added."

12 people out of 17 found this review helpful

The Volvo is a class of its own.

By on Monday, July 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Ventilated Massage Seats will spoil you forever."

Cons: "Not for the economy minded."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"You feel well taken care of when riding in a Volvo. Performance is exceptional, Handling is spot on, Styling is an acquired taste that either you like or you hate. Value is fair due to massive depreciation."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Very comfortable, reasonable power.

By on Saturday, May 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Price, good ride, great safety features."

Cons: "Nothing yet."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought this car (2103) as an Executive Demo with ~6K on it. Had a minor issue with the Parking Sensors requiring service - Ened up being a loose cable - but other than that its been great. This vehicle came fully loaded. It is very comfortable and has adequate HP. It's the T6 AWD. New England winters require that. Best features I like are the BLIS and Lane Departure Warning System. The ride is outstanding and is very comfortable on longer rides. Cannot comment on reliability yet."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I Love it!

By on Wednesday, April 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "security of having the safest luxury sedan"

Cons: "lower resale value than other luxury brands"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2012 S80 used. It is mechanically sound and has not had any reliability problems. The 3.2 inline-six is silky smooth and accelerates quickly for such a heavy car. The ride is solid and comfortable. I have the 650-watt 12-speaker sound system and it is awesome! I bought this car over the Benz I was considering in the same price range and have no regrets. The interior is elegant and the seats are the best. Even my friend with a Lexus said my seats are more comfortable! I plan on keeping it for a very long time. It's nice to drive a car that is not so common on the road."

7 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned.

By on Monday, March 25, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In my fifty years of driving, the last seven cars I've owned have been Volvos. The S-80 is the best I've owned. It's got 130K miles now, and no major maintenance issues (not even a timing belt). The AWD turbo is excellent."

10 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I LOVE This Car!

By on Thursday, February 28, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Style, comfort, affordability"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Merry Christmas from my wonderful husband.

"I use to be a Lexus person, until I drove this car. Every time I drive it I love it more. It is comfortable, fast and classy looking. I get around 25 MPG overall and this includes a mixture of city/hwy driving. The people at the Volvo dealership were the very best to work with. I will never own anything but a Volvo. I'm in love for life!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Merry Christmas from my wonderful husband.

Comfortable and stylish

By on Monday, January 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "smooth ride, well appointed interior, large trunk"

Cons: "not for curvy twisty roads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Volvo S80 is the flagship of the Volvo line. It performs best when on the open road. The S80's ride is smooth and the seats are comfortable and the instrument package is clean and understandable. Be careful however, not to get a lead foot, since the ride belies the speed you are driving."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

nice car

By on Saturday, September 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "nice car car,very safe."

Cons: "well......,Very Dull."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Dull to drive. very comfortable seats, nice quiet ride V8 powerful,"

Dissappointed

By on Monday, August 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,500

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "looks/soundsystem/comfort/gas mileage"

Cons: "interior fading/rides rough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I purchased this car in April 2012. I loved the look of the vehicle and the test drive was really great. Car had 47k on it when I purchased it. At about 50k i noticed a constant bump noise at low speeds. Come to find out, there were flat spots on NEW tires that caused the noise. Suspension issue. Then my trunk latch broke, bluetooth has to be reset often. Interior is fading and seats are not as durable and seemingly cracking more than a vehicle with 61k should be. I am very dissappointed in Volvo's "flagship" vehicle. I am taking it to the dealer to make sure that there are no transmission issues as the vehicle rpm's raise when there is NO incline and there is a spring like noise pop when ever I start up and take off in the mornings. Advisor states that is a typical noise for Volvo's testing the ABS or something to that effect.. I was going to purchase a Honda Crosstour instead of this but wanted to keep a bit of luxury coming from a BMW... I should have purchased the Honda."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Best car I've ever owned

By on Saturday, March 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, comfort, style"

Cons: "poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love everything about this car

By on Friday, March 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 15,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Best value for European luxury,great warranty"

Cons: "Compass in mirror not standard"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Consider getting the Dynamic package for a more sporty ride and looks. Main reason for buying was the free overseas delivery program Volvo offers. Can't be beat! Free air fare,hotel,factory tour. Volvo people treat you like royalty,and you save a bundle. I love when people comment on my license plate holder "factory delivery center,Gothenburg Sweden". Love the anti collision system"

13 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Love the ride of this vehicle!

By on Sunday, March 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love to drive in comfort"

Cons: "Not enought cup holders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My husband and I had this car as a rental for the week in Florida ans we love it so much that we came back home and traded our BMW and our Durango for not one but two of the S80 Volvo!!!! We are very happy with our choice......"

7 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, March 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "comfortable with electric heated seats"

Cons: "No coin holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really enjoy this car. It is comfortable and has great pickup. The trunk has a lot of space. The car has been very reliable and the service provided by my local Volvo dealer has been excellent."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Has been a great road car, in all types of weather

By on Tuesday, February 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort, value, interior fit and finish, awd"

Cons: "gas mileage, low profile rims are delicate"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Are is very comfortable and reasonably quiet, with plenty of power from turbo six, exec package is attractive and controls are easy to use, mileage of 23-24 on the highway is okay, not great, low profile rims on all season tires can be too delicate for a road bump, trunk is big, and car easily accomodates four large adults, seats are fabulous."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Handling and ride are great

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, fun to drive, style and comfort"

Cons: "gas 23-24 mpg on highway and premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car is excellent for long trips. Great in snow and frequently draws attention for its style. The V8 makes it a luxury "muscle" car."

Handling and ride are great

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe, fun to drive, style and comfort"

Cons: "gas 23-24 mpg on highway and premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car is excellent for long trips. Great in snow and frequently draws attention for its style. The V8 makes it a luxury "muscle" car."

1 person out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice car, but over-priced for what you get.

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Looks nice, rides great."

Cons: "Under-powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The base model is under-powered and doesn't include some of the luxury features found on "luxury" models (i.e. integrated nav, premium sound, power, etc...). Solid and quite ride, very comfortable seats."

Best vehicle ever owned!

By on Monday, January 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 16,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good price, comfortable, powerful, good handling"

Cons: "Strange noises, no oil pressure or water temp ga"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have 16,000 miles on this S80 and it is extremely comfortable to drive, very quiet and smooth, handles very well and solid feeling. The engine is smooth with plenty of power. Transmission shifts very quickly through the gears and could be a little smoother at times. The most comfortable seats of any car, especially on long trips. 26-27 miles/gal. average highway driving, 18-20 city. The dynaudio sound system is fantastic and the GPS works well and is easy to use. A great car for the money compared to BMW and Mercedes pricing. Great warranty that covers everything for 5yr/60,000 miles, even oil changes and filters. No oil pressure or engine temp. gauge is a negative."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Astonishingly good

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything!"

Cons: "Fuel range to empty not quite accurate on my car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Easily the best car I have ever owned. Every drive so far has felt special (although I have only had it for 6 weeks). I am in Australia and own the twin turbo 5 cylinder diesel, which has similar torque to the V8, but goes for 1000 kms on 1 tank. This car is such a sleeper in this category, and in my eyes is beatifully styled as well. Super comfortable highway tourer. Well done Volvo!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Advertisement

Why ads?
 
Have comments about the Fair Purchase Price? Give us your feedback.
See if you qualify for
up
to
Cash Back
on a new
Details