Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2010 Volvo S80

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 93 Ratings for the 2007 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.3/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Great value!

By on Tuesday, June 10, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Value, safety"

Cons: "Ride is not as smooth as my Buick."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I bought this car used as a second car for my commute and for my kids to drive occasionally. Very comfortable and smooth. Great value for the money in my opinion. Has been very reliable and I feel very good about my kids driving this car. Not as sporty as a comparable BMW or Audi but much more economical. I am happy so far after 2 years of ownership."

12 people out of 18 found this review helpful

The Volvo is a class of its own.

By on Monday, July 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Ventilated Massage Seats will spoil you forever."

Cons: "Not for the economy minded."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"You feel well taken care of when riding in a Volvo. Performance is exceptional, Handling is spot on, Styling is an acquired taste that either you like or you hate. Value is fair due to massive depreciation."

8 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great..but no spare

By on Monday, April 07, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have an s80 v8- I have had FOUR, yes four blown tires in 6 months, and while i recognize this isn't volvo's fault, keep in mind there is NO spare tire. This makes the blown tire process VERY annoying. So annoying that I will be trading it in for a car with a spare."

6 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Astonishingly good

By on Sunday, January 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything!"

Cons: "Fuel range to empty not quite accurate on my car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Easily the best car I have ever owned. Every drive so far has felt special (although I have only had it for 6 weeks). I am in Australia and own the twin turbo 5 cylinder diesel, which has similar torque to the V8, but goes for 1000 kms on 1 tank. This car is such a sleeper in this category, and in my eyes is beatifully styled as well. Super comfortable highway tourer. Well done Volvo!"

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome car

By on Thursday, April 07, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought used in 09. Best value in a luxury car out there. No problems runs awesome."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very nice car on the highway

By on Saturday, March 07, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is our 5th Volvo, all purchased new and this is a great car. It hadles very nice on the highway and the premium sound system is great. Our car has 20,000 miles and never had any service issues, just scheduled maintence."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nice Car

By on Monday, January 12, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"My wife drives this vehicle more than me and she absolutely loves it. I think it is very comfortable but with the V8 the front end rides a bit rough and is louder than a comparable BMW, etc."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent.

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This a safe, comfortable, sedan."

7 people out of 11 found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE! 0 PROBLEMS.

By on Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,300

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I probably would not rate any vehicle a 10. Have had 0 problems with this vehicle. I'm the second owner, and know the original owner, who now has the XC60 - T6. this is the 4.4 ltr. V8. Nice Auto, and Boat motor. A friend of mine has one in his Boat. Very comfortable seating, can't beat a Volvo in my opinion. Very quick as needed. With the V8, you can get around 25 MPG highway, which isn't bad considering weight of vehicle. Would tell anyone to buy this vehicle, unless they must have a high MPG vehicle."

28 people out of 45 found this review helpful

THE CAR OF MY DREAMS

By on Thursday, January 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"BETTER THAN ANY LUXURY CAR"

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

my second Volvo S80

By on Monday, June 30, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 101,981

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very safe car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I never keep a car much over a year and my son commented on how I had my 2003 Volvo S80 for over five years. I really liked that car and was ready for a change so I purchased this 2010 Volvo S80. Great car and am very pleased with it. Well built car."

17 people out of 29 found this review helpful

DISAPPOINTING!

By on Sunday, February 21, 2010

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

"We've owned several Mercedes and BMW's before but this is our first Volvo. It will probably be the last. The car is extremely comfortable, but it's behind the competition in amenities. Dealer service is awful and the "limited" warranty covers little to nothing. Our car has squeaks, rattles, and parts falling off. Our dealers (we've taken it to 4) fix rattles and loose trim pieces with double sided sticky tape (an "approved Volvo repair method") which does not last, look attractive, or solve the problem. We've had numerous recalls, gone through three complete front suspension systems and the leather and switches are all fading and wearing poorly (and we treat our cars extremely well). The turning radius is awful ... makes parking in parking lots difficult. It is a very comfortable car, but we can't look past the poor quality and awful dealership experiences. They just can't compete with other German and Japanese brands. I don't think we'd buy another Volvo ever again."

8 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Won't be dissapointed

By on Thursday, October 09, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall with a 50k bumper to bumper along with maintenance included you would pay a lot more for another import. I have experienced no mechanical problems ever with this car! It is now my 2nd Volvo and there will be a 3rd one day"

21 people out of 38 found this review helpful

not luxury fancy but well built solid vehicle

By on Thursday, April 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "sporty but nice comfortable ride"

Cons: "not luxury fancy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"solid built, nice ride, nice power"

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Handling and ride are great

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe, fun to drive, style and comfort"

Cons: "gas 23-24 mpg on highway and premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car is excellent for long trips. Great in snow and frequently draws attention for its style. The V8 makes it a luxury "muscle" car."

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I LOVE IT

By on Wednesday, September 19, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i tried million of cars, but this one satisfies me in every possible way, i love it"

2 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Solid, Reliable, Very Comfortable

By on Thursday, August 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "car built solid, comortable to drive"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Volvo has lived up to its reputation. Have owned many vehicles, this is the best yet."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Dissappointed

By on Monday, August 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,500

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "looks/soundsystem/comfort/gas mileage"

Cons: "interior fading/rides rough"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I purchased this car in April 2012. I loved the look of the vehicle and the test drive was really great. Car had 47k on it when I purchased it. At about 50k i noticed a constant bump noise at low speeds. Come to find out, there were flat spots on NEW tires that caused the noise. Suspension issue. Then my trunk latch broke, bluetooth has to be reset often. Interior is fading and seats are not as durable and seemingly cracking more than a vehicle with 61k should be. I am very dissappointed in Volvo's "flagship" vehicle. I am taking it to the dealer to make sure that there are no transmission issues as the vehicle rpm's raise when there is NO incline and there is a spring like noise pop when ever I start up and take off in the mornings. Advisor states that is a typical noise for Volvo's testing the ABS or something to that effect.. I was going to purchase a Honda Crosstour instead of this but wanted to keep a bit of luxury coming from a BMW... I should have purchased the Honda."

6 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Will not buy another.

By on Tuesday, August 26, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,100

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Body style not too bad."

Cons: "See review."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"While I really liked the look of the car, I will not purchase another. Has a sound when you turn the wheel as if plastic is rubbing. Unable to locate or repair. Have had to the dealer several times. Transmission has problems shifting between 20 to 30 mph, especially around 25 mph. Have had to dealer twice on issue - alleged micro chip issue, chip replaced with little resolution. Drinks gas like a truck, but very little pick- up. Rides like a truck, drives like a truck, runs like a truck."

17 people out of 40 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, May 26, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Friday, April 29, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Nice car, but over-priced for what you get.

By on Wednesday, February 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 26,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Looks nice, rides great."

Cons: "Under-powered"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"The base model is under-powered and doesn't include some of the luxury features found on "luxury" models (i.e. integrated nav, premium sound, power, etc...). Solid and quite ride, very comfortable seats."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

nice car

By on Saturday, September 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "nice car car,very safe."

Cons: "well......,Very Dull."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"Dull to drive. very comfortable seats, nice quiet ride V8 powerful,"

By on Saturday, April 03, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Handling and ride are great

By on Saturday, February 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 38,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, fun to drive, style and comfort"

Cons: "gas 23-24 mpg on highway and premium fuel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car is excellent for long trips. Great in snow and frequently draws attention for its style. The V8 makes it a luxury "muscle" car."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S80 near Honolulu. See local deals