Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2006 Volvo S80

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 310 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.4/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

European class luxury and performance

By on Sunday, January 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 169,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "excellent styling and power, extremely comfortable"

Cons: "reliability is an issue"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I purchased this car when it was 2 years old, and I have put over 130,000 miles on it myself. The T6 is wonderfully powerful and so comfortable. It makes long trips effortless and fun. The only bad thing about the car is...it simply will eat you alive on maintenance once things start to go wrong. Coil packs are a particular item it consumes with wild abandon, to the cost of about $400 per visit. If you are prepared to spend some money now and then, and have some decent mechanical skills to where you can do some of the work yourself, this car is awesome. Otherwise, pass...pass...PASS!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my car..

By on Saturday, November 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, very safe looks great still"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"that's why I have kept it for 10 years... minimum issues. one recall ,,I have kept all maintenance records and appointments."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Love hate relationship

By on Sunday, October 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable nice drive and size - SAFETY"

Cons: "high cost to own and must be repaired by dealer"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"Drives and handles nice. Definitely feel safe in this car. No rattles solid feel. Expensive to get serviced, never under $700.00. Under warranty several items repaired only to pop up again after warranty over. Paint blistered and peeled (never had a car do this before). Just waiting for the next $2000.00 repair bill. Definitely selling."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

would never buy a volvo again!!!!

By on Sunday, September 09, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,500

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "seating & pick up"

Cons: "cost of repairs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have a 2006 S80 with 56,000miles for about a year.Never owned a volvo before and never will again. In today's market and the price of repairs this is not the car to buy.I took it in for a head light blub cost me over 200.00 dollars.This is really something that a consumer could have done but volvo makes it impossible to do the simplest repair even to change the oil.Makes me worry on what will be next and the cost!!!!!Also does not hold its value."

7 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Not like the ole school volvos

By on Saturday, September 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 194,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I had to rebuild the Transmission at 112K and the Engine at 190000 which was overdue. I had an experience with a Volvo Dealer just like the other guys' review. Lights on after the Tranny Rebuilt so the Transmission guy said the tires are low in air and he filled them and allll the lights went off. I had already paid Volvo Dealer for diagnostic and they said it needed several sensors when in reality all it needed was proper air level. The Volvo dealer said they will come back on sooner or later but it's been 3yrs since the Tranny work and they never did come back on... what a shameful diagnostic by Volvo!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Fun to Drive But......

By on Friday, July 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,500

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The Depreciation Rate makes for a great deal"

Cons: "Expensive repairs, lose a lot of value very quick"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I purchased my volvo s80 (2004) back in 2011 with just under 100k miles on it. The vehicle is so much fun to drive - when all the pieces work cohesively. One thing you should know up front, never take it to a volvo dealer for service. I had several error messages popup on my vehicle and promptly took to the dealer to have addressed. I was quoted over 4k to have this that and the other replaced, when in all reality, it just needed a new battery and a code reset (250 dollars). The power steering fluid pump must have a leak because it drains empty every 5k miles, the turbo is nice but does have slightly more lag than some comparable vehicles (saab/mbenz). I have owned many cars in my lifetime and few are as comfortable to drive as this, and few have the get up and go that this boat of a car has - which is a fun driving dynamic. Overall for what I paid (under 10k) it was a pretty good value, but from a headache perspective I will likely go for a more mainstream vehicle next time with more features (loaded accord/loaded taurus/etc.)."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, May 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 132,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Cornering/ Suspension, Safety"

Cons: "Small useless cup holder, Leather Cracks"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I recently purchased a 2000 Volvo s80 2.9 (previously owned a 2001 s80 t5) and really like this car. It was a trade in that i bought wholesale (it had a few issues) for 3,750. It had 131 K miles, good paint, all in all good interior shape (despite some cracks in the seat leather and wear on the shift and hand brake gaiters. It also idled rough The check engine and service lights were on when i got it. took it home and did an oil change (pretty easy the filter is on the front right corner of the engine), and found a video on you tube on how to clean the ETCM (electronic throttle control module) I went to the store got 40$ in supplies (wire brushes, carb cleaner, towels, a deep socket set in mm sizes) and in just over 2 hours I had taken off the ETCM, cleaned it and put it back together, car runs great, this is the easiest FWD engine ive ever worked on, everything is right there. For just about 500 bucks and a little labor i got this car running great, i spent just over 4 grand for a car that will run for many years to come."

26 people out of 27 found this review helpful

Money Sucker!

By on Wednesday, April 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 146,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and very comfortable."

Cons: "Horrible turning radius"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"It is a comfortable ride and the turbo gives it some great pick up, but I have put more money into the car than I ever could have imagined. The leather has also worn down quickly, and started to show signs of wearing down as early as 5 years."

4 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Total lemon.

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"This car has been the biggest lemon. Thank god we bought the extended warranty."

3 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Poor city gas mileage

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,700

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Unknown, purchased used."

Cons: "Gas mileage in city.k"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I love it's style, and great hwy gas mileage,. What is not so great is the complexity of the radio and the not so great gas mileage in the city,"

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Very reliable car with lots interior room.

By on Thursday, February 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 155,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"For an owner who is 6'3" there is plenty of interior space and comfort. For a bigger car I get great mileage on regular gas! Turbo provides lots power and car hardly feels like it is shifting gears. With a 155k miles the car feels like it can go on forever and although it is 8 years old everything still works the way it is supposed to!"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Owned for about a year now

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 121,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliability, looks, performance, comfortable"

Cons: "warning lights come on for no reason"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The only thing i have had to replace involve the fuel filter, air filter, tires, and cooling fan. This has been an awesome car for me the whole time i have had it. Has lots of power and is FUN to drive!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Strong

By on Tuesday, February 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "luxurius, fan to drive,"

Cons: "expensive if it brakes down"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Perfect if you have kids. Very strong frame and confortable inside -no more that 2 kids :-)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car I've owned

By on Tuesday, February 07, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have driven this car for 13 years with no major problems. It still looks good (interior"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Comfort and Style!

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "The pick up is awesome with the turbos!"

Cons: "Not reliable (transmission)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"Comfortable, but and bit loud on the road. Have had a great experience with this car until now (76,000 miles), the transmission is slipping...$3,800 bill coming soon! Oh the joy! My only other gripes are the wide turning radius and the blind spot."

5 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great Car!!

By on Saturday, February 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my S80 for 8 years with no problems. I would highly recommend this model and year of Volvo."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

This is my 2nd Volvo they make great cars

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fast Car, smooth quiet ride"

Cons: "pedals too close together"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"The biggest problem I had with this car was that the break pedal and the gas pedal are too close together"

This car is great

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 147,990

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "nice ride, great stereo system, love it, great car"

Cons: "it requires gas lol"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car and its awesome :D love it you might have to replace parts on the car but what car dosnt require work :P"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love love love this car.

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "smooth, comfortable ride,extremely reliable, safe"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my Volvo S80. It is reliable, comfortable,smooth, and I feel very safe in it. The only complaints I have are poor gas mileage (avg 19-20 mpg) and wide turning radius compared to my old car (Nissan Maxima). Many people complain/ worry about the higher maintenance costs associated with Volvo's, but in reality, I believe the extra cost of maintaining a Volvo is completely worth it because repairs/ oil changes/ parts last much longer than they do with normal cars. For example, and oil change cost approx 70 bucks instead of 25, but the oil only needs to be changed every 7000 miles instead of 3000 which makes it much easier to keep up with."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Excellent car. 3rd one owned, hard to beat

By on Wednesday, January 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Rides great, very comfortable. Very safe."

Cons: "Repair costs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent car. Runs great. Very safe and comfortable. I have not found a comparable car that I like better. Only drawback is that repairs and parts are expensive."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good car

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Cons: "Front passenger seat not adjustable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ok"

1 person out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is now my 10th car-have owned everthing under the sun over the years. I bought my S80 used with 60,000 miles and it has never given me trouble. It now has 135,000 on it. I am an architect and do a ton of driving-The Volvo-is the car most found in the parking lot of the our firm-Smart Architects buy this car. The S 80 is so comfortable on long drives. The sound system is superior. The build is true volvo-There is a web site called my volvo saved my life-The construction is superior and well built. At 135K I am torn-trade it in? Next car-you guessed it-S 80..."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

' 10 Years and Still Love the Car

By on Saturday, January 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"No intention to sell. Good car for trips or City. Very reliable and comfortably."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

FOR 200K HARD MILES, A GOOD CAR FOR THE MONEY

By on Sunday, January 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very safe, great motor"

Cons: "struts, front suspension, GM transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would never buy one new, I bought with 25k miles on it for 18k which was a steal since the sticker was 40k new. I have driven it for 6 years now and had the following problems; 1. GM transmission went out at 140k, don't buy a used S80 with over 100k if the tranny has not been replaced!!! it will go out. 2. Minor replacemnet issues such as coils which throw check engine light but can be replaced for 57 bucks in 10 minutes. 3. Get a code reader if you buy this car!! A code reader and google have saved me 1000's of dollars. 4. front strut mounts always go out, cheap part but expensive on labor 5. I believe the motor will easily go 400-500k miles, just the little things go out, replace timing belt every 100,000 miles or you will blow your motor. 6. I have decided to keep this car, i will put about 2000 into it for front struts, another timing belt, front wheel bearings, windshield and ball joints. I am sure it wioll last another 200k. Mine is black with chromed stock rims, still looks great, probably 50 coats of wax on it. 5. by the way, since it takes 7.5 quarts of oil and I put so many miles onit, I have always just used mobil one synthetic and replaced the filter and added a quart every 15k miles. Probably only changed the oil completely about 4 times! burns about a quart a month since new. 6. averages 22-23 mpg around town and 28-29 mpg on th highway"

31 people out of 31 found this review helpful

great for the 3 years iv'e had it...

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,400

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great handling very cushy even for an oldie!"

Cons: "lacks cup holders, Swedes don't much drink in car?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got it used at over 140K miles ...for an older car it has been very dependable and it as so many luxury features like heated leather seats, sunroof, all the bells"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S80 near Honolulu. See local deals