Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best Luxury Cars Under $40,000
  • 2014 Small Luxury Sedan Buyer's Guide
  • Class of 2015: New Vehicles Ready to Roll
  • 10 Best Midsize SUVs
Go

2004 Volvo S80

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 312 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.4/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

FOR 200K HARD MILES, A GOOD CAR FOR THE MONEY

By on Sunday, January 08, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 199,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "very safe, great motor"

Cons: "struts, front suspension, GM transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I would never buy one new, I bought with 25k miles on it for 18k which was a steal since the sticker was 40k new. I have driven it for 6 years now and had the following problems; 1. GM transmission went out at 140k, don't buy a used S80 with over 100k if the tranny has not been replaced!!! it will go out. 2. Minor replacemnet issues such as coils which throw check engine light but can be replaced for 57 bucks in 10 minutes. 3. Get a code reader if you buy this car!! A code reader and google have saved me 1000's of dollars. 4. front strut mounts always go out, cheap part but expensive on labor 5. I believe the motor will easily go 400-500k miles, just the little things go out, replace timing belt every 100,000 miles or you will blow your motor. 6. I have decided to keep this car, i will put about 2000 into it for front struts, another timing belt, front wheel bearings, windshield and ball joints. I am sure it wioll last another 200k. Mine is black with chromed stock rims, still looks great, probably 50 coats of wax on it. 5. by the way, since it takes 7.5 quarts of oil and I put so many miles onit, I have always just used mobil one synthetic and replaced the filter and added a quart every 15k miles. Probably only changed the oil completely about 4 times! burns about a quart a month since new. 6. averages 22-23 mpg around town and 28-29 mpg on th highway"

31 people out of 31 found this review helpful

great for the 3 years iv'e had it...

By on Wednesday, January 04, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 186,400

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great handling very cushy even for an oldie!"

Cons: "lacks cup holders, Swedes don't much drink in car?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Got it used at over 140K miles ...for an older car it has been very dependable and it as so many luxury features like heated leather seats, sunroof, all the bells"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car yet

By on Sunday, January 01, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 137,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "The car is roomy , comfortable seating, good power"

Cons: "It too comfortable to leave it.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just bought this car and it drives like a dream. It has the comfort as if you were driving on your love seat at home. It design is nice and the drive power is excellent. Highly recommend this car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car overall comfertable

By on Tuesday, December 27, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "suprisingly great pick up very smooth"

Cons: "at times it feels like an old man car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"nice"

purchased 14000 miles and have had not one proble

By on Saturday, December 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"4th volvo great value"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

a very good running car,nice paint job no dens in

By on Friday, December 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it has all the updates features, cd, tape sun roof"

Cons: "it has a cup holder"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"car is in good condition,i am thinking about buying a new car if i get enough money from this car"

Best all around vehicle owned.

By on Sunday, December 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safety and comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great safety options/rating, combined with economical operation, and comfort makes the Volvo S80 a very good vehicle for not only local driving but long road trips."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

all of our expectations with this car were met

By on Thursday, December 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best ride in the business"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"great ride, smooth full power, love all those air bags although never tested them, luxury feel and look without Mercedes cost, wonderful service at dealer"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

What's not to love

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 74,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Luxury at low price, sturdy, dependable, fun"

Cons: "Sound system needs to be upgraded."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this one gently used, black with grey leather and all the options. Only one prior owner and treated extremely well. Drives like a dream. Feels like a luxury car. Milage is "ok" better than some. The only reason to upgrade is to get better sound system as mine has only 1 CD and even a cassette player. I'm thinking of moving up to an '08 VOLVO SUV. Love these."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

nice but some issues

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "not peppy, interior deteriorated electric probs"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"not peppy,interior deteriorated quickly,electric probs A.C. on the weak side for Florida"

Flawless Ownership Experience

By on Monday, November 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quality, comfort, safety, styling"

Cons: "Not giving me a reason to replace with porsche"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Original owner. Unbelievable comfort, reliability and quality. Can't come up with a good reason to replace - still runs like new, all features fully operational, fuel economy ~25 mpg. If and when the time comes another volvo is a first consideration."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

AMAZING CAR

By on Friday, November 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 130,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Heat and AC works amazing, seats are so comfy!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"One of the best cars I have ever owned. Really reliable, comfortable, and all the gagets are so much help!!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great car!

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable. Stable. Safe. I feel the 2.9L is a little under power for this car, but it does perform well."

5 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Hot ride

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, with the T-6 it gets up and GOES"

Cons: "Some things could have been made a little sturdier"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a sweet car for any professional. I loved the styling and the seats designed by chiropractors are awesome for long trips. It's a well designed car and thanks to Volvo sticking with it's designs for so long is still current and modern."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best car I ever had

By on Saturday, November 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,517

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, quiet, comfortable and stylish."

Cons: "Not the best on gas mileage -21Mph in city, 25 hwy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very fast, quiet, comfortable and reliable. Best car I ever had. It has 80K miles and everything is original and in good shape."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Best car

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "safe gas, heat seats, everthing automatic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"confortable,reliable, smooth, cheap mainance then other luxury cars, top luxury car, good gas."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Reliable, Very fast.

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast Fun Great looking car"

Cons: "Dont keep its value as other jap cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third volvo i've owned and boy isnt it the best. The only problem was the check eng light came on occasionally but it was all about the fuel cap and that was the only repair i've did to it ($9)yes Nine dollars thats all what i paid on the car since i've owned it, if you are thinking about buying one of these go with the T6 model i had the 2.9 s80 and i didnt like it at all it was really slow and under powered comparing to the T6 and there is no difference in the MPG at all"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good car

By on Tuesday, November 01, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"good had for 3 years"

I am impressed with the performance

By on Monday, October 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value for a used auto"

Cons: "Get a warranty on older models if possible . . ."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I did have to put a new transmission and front end on it at the 50K mark but other than that, Peaches and Cream. The good thing is that I had purchased a warranty and it was all covered!! I am going to purchase a C70 in a few months so overall, I am obviously pleased with the Volvo brand."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Safe,comfortable.

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Comfortable"

Cons: "always repairing things."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"It's a safe, comfortable car, but you pay for maintance isn't cheap especially now and i have had to put in a lil more than $2400 to keep everything up to date and making sure the car is in good condition. I don't know what it is but im always having to deal with alignments and i drive in the same area as my mother and she has the same car, make and model and she doesn't so i don't know what the problem is with that and i cannot stand it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great car

By on Saturday, October 22, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 159,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"looks perfect drives even better"

my wife loves this car and wants to keep it

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 143,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "it's a gas saver and dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"it's has lots of room perfect for my wife and 3 year old"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very Solid Car

By on Wednesday, October 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Smooth Ride, Decent Mileage, Comfortable Interior"

Cons: "Repairs at the dealership are can get expensive"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased my 2000 Volvo S80 2.9 about five years back with miles. It replaced a 1994 Volvo 850 SE 2.5 with over 190k miles on it. Around this same time I began commuting more than 500 miles/week for work so it was important to have another practical and comfortable vehicle. The S80 certainly excels in both of these categories. Needless to say, I have had very good luck with this car. It has consistently delivered a smooth and quiet ride day after day. The interior of the car is very well designed and functional. Admittedly I do use mid-grade gas, change the oil religiously with full synthetic and flush the coolant and transmission regularly, which probably added to its reliability. At 100k miles I replaced timing belt, drive belt, water pump, etc. which was a bit costly. Other than that, issues have been limited to slightly broken/worn trim pieces and necessary suspension/front end repairs (mostly due to very rough New England roads). Fuel economy averages at 27 MPG which is not terrible (much better than what it's rated for). Certainly better suited for highway driving but fine on rural roads and in the city. For a FWD its surprisingly good in snowy conditions with the right tires. Compared to other cars in its class from 2000, I feel the S80 is still fairly stylish and modern looking. I would certainly recommend this vehicle, or any other Volvo I've driven, to anyone looking for a very solid car."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Most days the BEST car ever...Most days.

By on Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe, Reliable, Comfortable, Beautiful, Fast"

Cons: "Electronic Throttle Body Module, Transmission"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

2000 Volvo S80t6

"Most days this is the best Volvo I have ever had. The 2000 S80 was only the second year of the new design and there have been two serious inherent problems that research showed me to be quite common in this model. I have had both of these problems fixed at a rather large expense, but repaired she is once again my favorite Volvo... At about 5 years and 60,000 miles there was a serious problem with a lack of power, stuttering power and stalling. This was the first problem as was handled not too well by Volvo through a recall. Getting to the point where Volvo replaced the Throttle Body Module Computer took almost 2 years and close to $3,000 out of pocket. When it was finally proven to to be the fault of the computer Volvo reimbursed the $1,800 cost of the part. The first 3K i spent was unrecoverable. About two years later and at 95,000 total miles the transmission failed. It began slipping in all forward gears and reverse felt like a 4WD with the transfer case binding. My research had shown this model transmission generally would fail at around 80,000, so I was happy mine lasted to 95,000 miles. I gave serious consideration to even going through with this repair...the car was 9 years old. The mechanic who was very honest with me let me know despite putting in a brand new transmission, that the transmission was still of bad design and it too should fail in another 100K miles or so. Not wanting to purchase a new car, I went ahead and had the new transmission installed at a cost of $5,000. After this repair the car was new again. I am more than happy I made the decision to fix it. So the two known problems now fixed, this is once again the S80 of my dreams. Today at 105,000 miles she is reliable, safe, strong, amazingly quick and agile. I have owned a 1982 240 GLE Diesel, a 1989 740 GLE, a 1993 850 GLE and now this 2000 S80t6. She is as beautiful as the day i brought her home. If you can find one and verify the Electronic Throttle Body Module computer has been replaced then I would highly recommend this car. She is a dream on the road, in the city and on the open highway with more, way more than enough power to get you up and out of the way of any highway situation. Hardly any discernible turbo-lag when accelerating, just stomp on the gas and the twin-turbo chargers kick in almost instantly and propel you forward with most its power to spare. Exhilarating. After driving 30 years of driving Volvos, the twin-charged S80t6 is everything a Volvo should be...Safe, Reliable, Safe, Beautiful, Strong, Comfortable, Safe...and above all, Safe. Aside from the two problems I listed the only other problem I have had is the lock on the rear driver's-side door. It stopped working automatically but still works manually. This and regular maintenance, new tires and the occasional light bulb burning out are the only things to have been done to this car. She still drives, handles and feels as strong and tight as the day I first brought her home. A Fine car. A true Volvo. All in all I've had a good, positive experience and look forward to many more years with this car. Knowing what I know today, I might have waited a year when those two design flaws would be fixed, but still, I would buy this car again."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

2000 Volvo S80t6

I Love My Volvo! Best car I have ever owned.

By on Thursday, October 06, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 84,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price, Comfortable ride! Dependable! I had not had one problem with this car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had Lincoln's"

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S80 near Honolulu. See local deals