Go

2003 Volvo S80

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.2
Out of 10

Based on 319 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.4/10
    Quality
    7.6/10
  • Reliability
    7.5/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

Reliable, Very fast.

By on Thursday, November 03, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast Fun Great looking car"

Cons: "Dont keep its value as other jap cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my third volvo i've owned and boy isnt it the best. The only problem was the check eng light came on occasionally but it was all about the fuel cap and that was the only repair i've did to it ($9)yes Nine dollars thats all what i paid on the car since i've owned it, if you are thinking about buying one of these go with the T6 model i had the 2.9 s80 and i didnt like it at all it was really slow and under powered comparing to the T6 and there is no difference in the MPG at all"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Worst Car Ever Owned

By on Wednesday, December 01, 2010

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"The quality just doesn't exist in this vehicle. With everything from the headlight wipers, driver side mirror, moon roof tracks, seat heaters, computer modules, relays, and side marker lights going bad and very high priced repair costs, this vehicle is one to avoid. This was my first and last Volvo. A person is much better off dealing with similar repair costs for a more reliable Japanese car or less expensive repairs (though less reliable) for a domestic car. There's no way I would recommend a Volve to anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love to Drive it

By on Saturday, May 22, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought used with 20,000 miles, was a rental car. Love the power of the turbo and gets great gas mileage. Not had problems with it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Volvo for life

By on Friday, September 25, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This was my first Volvo we purchased and we love it we have always owned Honda, sorry Honda we have upped the ante. Hondas last but Volvos laaaaasssssttttt forever. We will buy another Honda when my son graduates if he wants a Volvo he will have to admire ours or buy his own. I love this car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Swedish Beauty

By on Sunday, September 20, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Attractive car inside and out, and one of few cars in its category that accommodate a 6' 3' with headroom to spare. Biggest issue is Volvo as a company/dealer network does address what an independent mechanic will tell you are known and predictible service problems, and instead charges unconscionable prices for parts to address problems that are related to faulty design"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great used car

By on Monday, February 23, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"We bought our S80 in 2003 with 26k miles. It still had 3 years left on the warranty which we did have to use a few times. Most of the issues were with the suspension which is very tight and can be an issue with Pittsburgh pot holes. Since the warranty expired 3 years ago we have spent $500 in repairs. We maintain the car per the manual and it has been great. Still fun to drive and in reasonable condition. It is going on 10 years old and shows no signs of conking out."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

WORK HORSE

By on Sunday, February 15, 2009

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is a work horse, drive it above 200-300 miles daily in LA-Southern Ca area. Great mpg, but if you don't turn wrenches you may want to think twice. Goes thru brakes but I just buy new rotors and ceramic pads for $80 bucks and swap out in garage. Coils go out but $57 bucks on internet and 15 min you can change them. Top motor mount went out, $98 and 5 minutes changed it and fuel pump went out $1100 bucks! would never buy one new but got mine with 25k on it for $18k just 2 years old! less than half the sticker, so for the price of a new Hyndai I got a great car. put 90k on it in 2.5 years other than fuel pump, just minor repairs, love it!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good car!

By on Friday, February 06, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"2005 S80: My only complaint is the ride on rough roads; at highway speeds, it matches the big American cars. Handles well; never felt this secure in a car. One problem with the gearshift locking up on me, but that's been cured; otherwise, a solid and dependable car. Roomy enough on the inside; trunk's a bit on the small side. Dealerships (I've dealt with two, one at home, one on vacation) have been excellent. Plan to buy another S80."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Do NOT Recommend

By on Thursday, November 06, 2008

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"I bought this car 3 years ago and have already pumped over $5,000 of repairs into it. I replaced the transmission in the summer of ‘07 and I found out today that I need to replace it again! The owner before me had the transmission replaced as well, so that makes at least 3 transmission replacements, that I know of! The car looks great and feels great, but it is NOT worth it at all. I’ve spent way too much money on this piece of junk and I’m done with it. I will never own another Volvo again, what a waste of money."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

not the worst but not the best

By on Wednesday, October 29, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

"did not hold up well, always an issue with the electrical system and sun roof . was hit in the front end buy a car going 50 miles and hour and the air bags did not deploy. I did walk away but afraid to own another one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S80 near Honolulu. See local deals

Advertisement